Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read that gives a more rounded viewpoint of the Woodville family
An excellent book that details not only the history of the Woodville family but also shows how their reputation has been tarnished throughout the years. The author factually supports her reasoning with primary sources, plus clearly shows the "who, when, why and where" aspect of certain negative remarks that have been captured and held onto by historians ever...
Published 11 months ago by Jennifer Rothwell

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another History of the Woodville Family
This is a well written and balanced view of the Woodville family and has clearly involved a lot of detailed research.
What a pity it is therefore that the author didn't bother to put in at least one fairly decent family tree. It really is a must when you are writing about a widespread family with complex relationships and sometimes second Marriages. I was lucky in...
Published 18 months ago by David J. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another History of the Woodville Family, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
This is a well written and balanced view of the Woodville family and has clearly involved a lot of detailed research.
What a pity it is therefore that the author didn't bother to put in at least one fairly decent family tree. It really is a must when you are writing about a widespread family with complex relationships and sometimes second Marriages. I was lucky in having Arlene Okerlund's book on Elizabeth Woodville, which has several useful family trees to which I was constantly referring.
What a pity to spoil a good read with an elementary mistake like this.

David Evans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read that gives a more rounded viewpoint of the Woodville family, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
An excellent book that details not only the history of the Woodville family but also shows how their reputation has been tarnished throughout the years. The author factually supports her reasoning with primary sources, plus clearly shows the "who, when, why and where" aspect of certain negative remarks that have been captured and held onto by historians ever since.
I feel as though this book was very much needed, as the current readers of historical fiction are bombarded by negative and inaccurate portrayals of the Woodville family. In both Philippa Gregory's novels and TV series 'The White Queen' Elizabeth and her mother are shown to be witches that used magic to ensnare the king. The whole notion makes me shake my head in disgust, so it was refreshing to read of Elizabeth without magic being involved.
Obviously Ms. Higginbotham's viewpoint is very different to some of her fellow historians, most notably Paul Murray Kendall, but that is not to say that one is right and the other is wrong. That's not how history works. Historians have their own opinions and personal biases that should be backed up by primary sources. The use of said sources however are often selective and therefore no historian could claim to be unbiased.
Although fundamentally in support of the Woodville family Ms. Higginbotham nonetheless gives a concise and conclusive history of the Woodvilles that I can assure you is landed firmly in reality and not some magical universe of long ago. A refreshing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
I was really looking forward to learning more about the Woodvilles but as other reviewers have pointed out - it doesn't shed any new light on the family. I found it difficult to read as it kept jumping around and I sometimes struggled to work out who she was referring to. I feel I wasted my money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
Excellent accounting of the Rivers family. Susan Higginbotham has written a precise and unbiased book about the Elizabeth Woodvilles' large family. She describes each one of them, giving both depth and substance to a family long maligned by their detractors. Stripping away gossip and legends, she is able to paint an authentic picture of a group coping with political dynamics in the fifteenth century. She addresses the family myths, describes the customs, and gives a very good idea of life during this time period. Even social slights and insults are explained to give substances to the political climate at the time. Great book that gives an alternate view of a family often seen as nothing more that interlopers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gives a good impression of what the Wars of the Roses was ..., 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
A very interesting book about the Woodvilles. Gives a good impression of what the Wars of the Roses was really like, and how one family wielded so much power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is an excellent and good analytical book about the family that has ..., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is an excellent and good analytical book about the family that has described as hungry for power. There are lots of myths around them but no evidences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say that what the author wrote about the Woodvilles was good and I feel that history has not been fair to them. I think they suffered bad reputation because they were a large family. Had there been no more than six children by Jacquetta, Dowager Duchess of Bedford and Lord Rivers, Richard Woodville, it would not have seemed that they had taken over Edward IV's court. Richard, Duke of Gloucester it seemed had been influenced by his family regarding the Woodvilles.

By the time the author got to 1483, she became biased and I'm afraid to say, said the usual things about Richard III. Maybe I'm one of the very few who feel that both the Woodvilles and Richard III had not been treated fairly by history. However, I do feel he was wrong to execute Anthony Woodville and Richard Grey and it was over something which was minor. It made me even more anti=death penalty despite the popularity of its return in this country. Today, far from being 'treason', at most Anthony and his nephew Richard could have been accused of kidnapping their royal relative but on the other hand, the Duke of Gloucester could have equally been accused of that. Perhaps eventually King Richard eventually came to regret his actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
Excellent depiction of this controversial family. Well-written and well-researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't see the wood for the trees, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
Apparently factually accurate, and certainly very detailed, but this difficult subject with its family tree complications was not made any simpler. There was a jumble of facts rather than an attempt to distil the main issues from the pile of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars None, 11 Nov. 2013
while this book promises to be an interesting read, it is confusing (and sloppy) to spot discrepencies over dates in the first chapters. apparently, someone can be married in the 16th century despite having died in the 15th. disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family
The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family by Susan Higginbotham (Hardcover - 8 Oct. 2013)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews