Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read that gives a more rounded viewpoint of the Woodville family
An excellent book that details not only the history of the Woodville family but also shows how their reputation has been tarnished throughout the years. The author factually supports her reasoning with primary sources, plus clearly shows the "who, when, why and where" aspect of certain negative remarks that have been captured and held onto by historians ever...
Published 24 days ago by Jennifer Rothwell

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I was really looking forward to learning more about the Woodvilles but as other reviewers have pointed out - it doesn't shed any new light on the family. I found it difficult to read as it kept jumping around and I sometimes struggled to work out who she was referring to. I feel I wasted my money
Published 8 months ago by samapajo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
I was really looking forward to learning more about the Woodvilles but as other reviewers have pointed out - it doesn't shed any new light on the family. I found it difficult to read as it kept jumping around and I sometimes struggled to work out who she was referring to. I feel I wasted my money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another History of the Woodville Family, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
This is a well written and balanced view of the Woodville family and has clearly involved a lot of detailed research.
What a pity it is therefore that the author didn't bother to put in at least one fairly decent family tree. It really is a must when you are writing about a widespread family with complex relationships and sometimes second Marriages. I was lucky in having Arlene Okerlund's book on Elizabeth Woodville, which has several useful family trees to which I was constantly referring.
What a pity to spoil a good read with an elementary mistake like this.

David Evans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Woodvilles, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
Didn't tell me anything I didn't know and was a bit dry. I expected more from this book particularly as it states it's about England's most infamous family. Disappointing really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars None, 11 Nov 2013
while this book promises to be an interesting read, it is confusing (and sloppy) to spot discrepencies over dates in the first chapters. apparently, someone can be married in the 16th century despite having died in the 15th. disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother wasting money buying !, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
Terrilby written,no actual narrative content consists of references to quotes throughout from authors and their opinions to events ,so repeated several times for same event ,abandoned reading as most boring book ever attempted not enjoyable.waste of money poor writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Julia Hussey "chartley19" (A reader from London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say that what the author wrote about the Woodvilles was good and I feel that history has not been fair to them. I think they suffered bad reputation because they were a large family. Had there been no more than six children by Jacquetta, Dowager Duchess of Bedford and Lord Rivers, Richard Woodville, it would not have seemed that they had taken over Edward IV's court. Richard, Duke of Gloucester it seemed had been influenced by his family regarding the Woodvilles.

By the time the author got to 1483, she became biased and I'm afraid to say, said the usual things about Richard III. Maybe one one of the very few who feel that both the Woodvilles and Richard III had not been treated fairly by history. However, I do feel he was wrong to exeucte Anthony Woodville and Richard Grey and it was over something which was minor. It made me even more anti=death penalty despite the popularity of its return in this country. Today, far from being 'treason', at most Anthony and his nephew Richard could have been accused of kidnapping their royal relative but on the other hand, the Duke of Gloucester could have equally been accused of that. Perhaps eventually King Richard eventually came to regret his actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read that gives a more rounded viewpoint of the Woodville family, 28 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
An excellent book that details not only the history of the Woodville family but also shows how their reputation has been tarnished throughout the years. The author factually supports her reasoning with primary sources, plus clearly shows the "who, when, why and where" aspect of certain negative remarks that have been captured and held onto by historians ever since.
I feel as though this book was very much needed, as the current readers of historical fiction are bombarded by negative and inaccurate portrayals of the Woodville family. In both Philippa Gregory's novels and TV series 'The White Queen' Elizabeth and her mother are shown to be witches that used magic to ensnare the king. The whole notion makes me shake my head in disgust, so it was refreshing to read of Elizabeth without magic being involved.
Obviously Ms. Higginbotham's viewpoint is very different to some of her fellow historians, most notably Paul Murray Kendall, but that is not to say that one is right and the other is wrong. That's not how history works. Historians have their own opinions and personal biases that should be backed up by primary sources. The use of said sources however are often selective and therefore no historian could claim to be unbiased.
Although fundamentally in support of the Woodville family Ms. Higginbotham nonetheless gives a concise and conclusive history of the Woodvilles that I can assure you is landed firmly in reality and not some magical universe of long ago. A refreshing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't see the wood for the trees, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
Apparently factually accurate, and certainly very detailed, but this difficult subject with its family tree complications was not made any simpler. There was a jumble of facts rather than an attempt to distil the main issues from the pile of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ... but nothing I did not know already, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
This is a quite a well written book, but as I said in the title, there is not really anything in it that I did not know already, but despite that still worth a read and interesting to see them from a different point of view to how they are normally seen. A complex family who had their fair share of good and tragic times. I would recommend this to novices of the war of the roses period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars redresses the balance, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family (Hardcover)
I work at a National Trust property with connections to Richard 3rd and to the Woodvilles.

This is an excellent read which balances the current day propaganda of the Ricardians.

The information flows easily and is in no way a stodgy text book. Whichever side of the debate you are on this is a great read and will certainly raise questions and maybe even the odd argument.....as you will see from some of the other reviews

Recommended highly to any lovers of that period of our history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woodvilles: The Wars of the Roses and England's Most Infamous Family
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews