Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2013
London's Lost Power Stations and Gasworks is not just an informative book, but an accessible one too. As someone who has only really started looking into the history of London in the last year, I felt that this book offered insightful commentary into a less-talked about area of industrial history in a language I could understand. I haven't yet read the author's other book about London's lost underground stations but after reading this volume it is definitely very high on my reading list. In addition to the carefully constructed prose, the photography in this book illustrates the transitions described and is also thoughtfully shot. In summary - if you're interested in reading something more compelling than the average London guide or want to better understand London's industrial history without wading through lengthy, dull tomes, you can't go wrong with this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I read this after enjoying another book from the same author about tube stations. It has lots of interesting history about buildings I see a lot, like Battersea and Lots Road, and old gasometers near where I live. There are also lots of good bits about more places I didn't even know were there. It has plenty of nice photos with a good mix of new and old ones. Well researched and written. Recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
A previous reviewer has noted the technical and grammatical errors in the book - which really should have been corrected at the proof reading stage - but those aside, I felt the book would have been improved by the inclusion of additional archive illustrations - especially of now demolished sites. The final sections relating to the present and the future seem to have been tacked on the end, and, at least in my opinion, add little of real substance to the overall story.

That said, the book is undoubtedly suitable for both the general and more specialist reader with an interest in industrial archeology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
A delightful book for those interested in London's industrial heritage. Well written on the whole but always gripping.Makes one go out to look at what remains!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Fascinating read of places I knew but mainly are no more!
Well presented, interesting photos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Enjoyed the book, both text and pictures, covering an little studied aspect of London history (as opposed to things underground, for instance, which is drowning in books at the moment).

One factual issue - on p165, when describing the changes to the electricity industry in the 1920s/1930s, the author talks about the creation of the Central Electricity Board (CEB) and its roles in introducing the early grid. However, it says "Using direct current (DC) as standard, again pioneered by Ferranti...", which seems highly unlikely given the issues with using DC for long distance power transmission, and Ferranti being a major proponent of AC (I think it was Edison in the US who was into DC)... The UK grid, initiated by the CEB, was of course 132kV AC.

Otherwise, one plea if ever updated - the book is crying out for a couple of maps, showing the location of the sites for both Power and Gas, especially given the discussion about the importance of the proximity to the river. Just simple, hand drawn maps would be great.

It would be pedantic to mention the typo where "sight" and "site" get confused.....

None of which should stop you buying this book, it's got some fascinating detail (especially around the history of and competition between the companies as the market got established).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
some more photos would have been nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
I love the book - thank you so much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Fascinating quite Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Excellent Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)