Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim Almanac of the Workhouse
NB: My name is Philip not Philkip - please correct. Thanks

I rate this book first class. It is very well presented and written and very difficult to put down. Brilliant!
Published 16 months ago by Philip J. Hammond

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grim Almanac
Not quite what I was expecting and unfortunately no reference to the particular institution that I was looking for.
It's just a collection of newspaper entries relating to incidents at various different workhouses.
Published 13 months ago by Mrs Satisfied


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim Almanac of the Workhouse, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
NB: My name is Philip not Philkip - please correct. Thanks

I rate this book first class. It is very well presented and written and very difficult to put down. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
Very interesting. Put to bed a few myths which have been bandied about, it looked like there was some decent caring people within the workhouse system and not all greedy bullies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Workhouse, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
What a read !!!!! so heart breaking and sad, but, a book you just can't put down, the true stories are heartbreaking, and tears are not far away at the way our fore bearers had to live and died in these horific places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim, 7 Aug 2013
By 
MISS KEWISH (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love grim accounts and facts which are historically based you will love this book. Love it, was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donhawkwind, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
Very good, until reading this book I thought the workhouse was pre WW2 a left over thing from Victorian times; and not something still in use in the 1950's.
When pension allows I will be buying more about this topic from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great cover design!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Paul Townsend (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
Really interesting and so sad, so much suffering it most of been horrendous in the workhouses.

But were things really that terrible? Sadly, the answer has to be in the affirmative.

A new book, entitled A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse, by Peter Higginbotham, reveals some of the grisly, gruesome, and occasionally downright bizarre events that took place behind workhouse doors.

As Peter explains in detail in his book, the dread of the workhouse even drove some people to take their own lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Books, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
Good value for money,very interesting reading.
Would recommend to any one interested in local history.Bought for my wife,who is realy enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
I enjoy all history, and this was a real eye-opener to the conditions in which the old, poor and homeless
lived by the rules of the Workhouse, and the harsh treatment many received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A grim almanac of the workhouse, 7 Nov 2013
By 
J. H. Troth (thatcham,berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am only half way through the book,but very interesting.In order from January to December with a particular year listed by each history of the workhouse tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The way things were, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) (Paperback)
Brilliantly researched providing an account of events in workhouses from all over the country.It makes me glad that I live in these times and not then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs)
A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse (Grim Almanacs) by Peter Higginbotham (Paperback - 1 Feb 2013)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews