Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2013
NB: My name is Philip not Philkip - please correct. Thanks

I rate this book first class. It is very well presented and written and very difficult to put down. Brilliant!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Very interesting. Put to bed a few myths which have been bandied about, it looked like there was some decent caring people within the workhouse system and not all greedy bullies.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
What a read !!!!! so heart breaking and sad, but, a book you just can't put down, the true stories are heartbreaking, and tears are not far away at the way our fore bearers had to live and died in these horific places.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Really interesting and so sad, so much suffering it most of been horrendous in the workhouses.

But were things really that terrible? Sadly, the answer has to be in the affirmative.

A new book, entitled A Grim Almanac of the Workhouse, by Peter Higginbotham, reveals some of the grisly, gruesome, and occasionally downright bizarre events that took place behind workhouse doors.

As Peter explains in detail in his book, the dread of the workhouse even drove some people to take their own lives.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Wasn't exactly how I thought this book would be! Very disturbing which is what you would expect I suppose, but it is written in date/year order and is just excerpts from various events. Not the sort of thing you could read for long. I am very interested in the history of the Workhouse which is why I bought it, but had thought it would have been written in chapters. Really just statements of various events.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
If you love grim accounts and facts which are historically based you will love this book. Love it, was a good read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Very good, until reading this book I thought the workhouse was pre WW2 a left over thing from Victorian times; and not something still in use in the 1950's.
When pension allows I will be buying more about this topic from this author.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Good value for money,very interesting reading.
Would recommend to any one interested in local history.Bought for my wife,who is realy enjoying it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Contains accounts of many interesting Workhouse events. Very similar to the ones I have collected from Leicester Archives Workhouse Minute and Leicester Mercury reports. Very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I enjoy all history, and this was a real eye-opener to the conditions in which the old, poor and homeless
lived by the rules of the Workhouse, and the harsh treatment many received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)