Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars9
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2013
Great book for exterior shots - but I rather like to see some interior shots of the ship to get a feel of what the passengers were offered not that I'm a fan of the interiors of some ships of this period - if the book would have included a few shots of her interiors it would have been a great book on a liner that is seldom mentioned in history.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
How can an author write an 120 page book about the life of an ocean liner and not include a single picture of any of the public rooms????? In fact the only interior picture in the entire book is of two gentlemen in a first classs cabin. No other hints of cabin design or layout are given.

The author seems to have sought out pictures just to fill up space as on pages 92 and 93 where there are two almost identical full page photos facing each other. Again pages 52 and 53 and also page 89 there are almost identical photos just filling up space.

At least if he was not going to bother with interior photos, he could have given us a deck plan so we could have some idea of the ship's interior design. As there are dozens of repititious photos of various pieces of trivial ephemera he could at least have included something useful.

I really feel I have wasted my money on this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Brought this for my dad who worked on the ship, it was great as he is unwell at the moment but found the photos lovely to look at. I was a little worried as some of the reviews were a bit negative but was pleasantly surprised when it arrived. The photos were lovely and there was not too much text. I would definitely buy another Andrew Britton book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
First of all I think it is important to say that this book is an excellent read. I would also suggest it is an essential addition to any liner enthusiast's library. Sure, there are some image errors, most obviously on pages 58 and 59 where the funnels of the Queen Elizabeth and Queen Mary are shown. However, they're great photos so just enjoy. In addition, on page 57 the liner in the distance passing the Queen Elizabeth is actually the Ile de France. But again, it's a great image. The amount of colour images is impressive and I like the reproduction of some of the later cruise brochures. I too would have liked to have seen more interior views, but I wonder if any suitable images exist? I have seen very few satisfactory images of the Queen Elizabeth's interiors and the Queen Mary's for that matter in later years. I also think the inclusion of actual reminiscences is a great idea and as such one experiences a much more human impression of life aboard one of Cunard's greatest liners. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Previous comments regarding the content of earlier books, i.e. too many similar photographs and few interiors, also apply to this one. Sadly, this volume also follows previous Andrew Britton titles with a plethora of mistakes and misinformation, particularly in the captions, which seem to be aimed at a class of eleven-year-olds. Notably, Mr Britton appears, in some cases, not to know the difference between the Queen Elizabeth, Queen Mary, Mauretania and Ile de France. Unforgiveably for a teacher, he also does not know the difference between an estuary and the source of a river (in the case of the River Test, there is no estuary!).
The old adage of "less is more" could well apply in Mr Britton's books, as, lovely as the photos are (when correctly captioned), endless repetition of similar shots waters down the impact.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
This book on Cunard's often-overlooked Mauretania 2 (1939-1965) is long overdue. As with previous books in this series the book has the main text in the front and the last half consists of many rarely seen color photos. (The main text has recollections from former crew members and passengers that are quite interesting) Aside from some photos that are not labeled correctly & actually show the funnels of liners other than the Mauretania 2, the images are well chosen and show off the fine lines of this Cunarder. One notable absence is the lack of color images of her public spaces. These images are available in various color brochures still around today and should have been included.

But these are only minor gripes. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in this impressive vessel.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Fantastic book, my father in law who worked on the ship was thrilled with it, excellent quality many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Always thought the Mauretania was a classic liner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Good book about an overlooked ship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)