Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable
I've really enjoyed reading this book and if the author's motive was to create an impression of a kind and interesting woman (no Mitford pun intended) then I would say she succeeds. The style of writing is pleasant and informative and although Mitford aficionados may have come across variations of the tales before, this book pulls them together and tells them from an...
Published on 10 Oct 2012 by Saltway

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Mitford Bandwagon rolls on.
What I was expecting was a new biography of Pamela Jackson (nee Mitford). What I got was a re-hash of information taken from virtually every other book I've read about the Mitford Sisters, with a few pages highlighting Pam at the end. I believe that Diana Alexander genuinely wanted to write a book to match the quality of Selina Hasting's definitive (to my mind) biography...
Published on 27 Sep 2012 by SRH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Mitford Bandwagon rolls on., 27 Sep 2012
By 
SRH (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
What I was expecting was a new biography of Pamela Jackson (nee Mitford). What I got was a re-hash of information taken from virtually every other book I've read about the Mitford Sisters, with a few pages highlighting Pam at the end. I believe that Diana Alexander genuinely wanted to write a book to match the quality of Selina Hasting's definitive (to my mind) biography of Nancy Mitford, realised that she didn't have the resources to do the necessary in-depth research and so settled for padding out what would have just about made an acceptable magazine article. Sadly, reading the book has not increased my knowledge of Pam, nor my understanding of her character one iota. Although the author spoke to Max Mosley and Lady Emma Tennent, Pam's nephew and niece, about their aunt, there's hardly anything substantial from them in the text. The many years Pam spent in Switzerland are dealt with in some half-a-dozen pages. Its all so superficial.

The book is nicely produced and reasonably well written, although the content is very weak. I have to say that the constant 'Jessica-bashing' got on my nerves and is, in my opinion, unjust. In addition, there is a fair amount of repetition, which I found irritating.

During the course of the book, Diana Alexander mentions the 'Mitford Industry' a couple of times. Many people, myself included, have a genuine interest in this fascinating family and because of this, any book with 'Mitford' in the title is bound to sell regardless of its quality. 'The Other Mitford - Pamela's Story' is yet another example of someone with an average writing ability jumping on to the Mitford Bandwagon. There is definitely room for a definitive biography of Pamela Jackson; sadly, this isn't it. Very, very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment!, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
I am a self-confessed "Mitford Maniac," obsessively reading every biography of every member of the family, as well as their own works, and any works in which they might be mentioned. It was intriguing to me that "The Other Mitford" would chronicle the life of Pamela Mitford Jackson, and I wondered how it would be done, as Pamela did not leave as extensive a cache of letters and published items as all of the other sisters except Unity.

I should not have held my breath waiting for this one. What a waste of time! It is so poorly written, badly organized, repetitive, and borderline plagerized. The same anecdotes are told over and over again; chronology is just all over the place, and many facts are just plain wrong. For example, when Ms. Alexander describes a visit in 1949 that the Jacksons made to the Romillys in the US, (p. 147), she writes, "they called in on Jessica and Esmond, who by this time were living in Greenwich." There is a big difference, a huge difference, a world of difference between Greenwich (one of the richest towns along the Connecticut "Gold Coast") and Greenwich Village, which is where the Romillys actually lived. There is no excuse for this kind of sloppiness.

There is no attempt at insight, or analysis, or informed understanding of Pamela's life...and I am sure there are other adjectives besides "gentle" that could have been used to describe her.

I will say that there are two photos of the family I had not seen before, and for this, I am grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Stephen Bishop (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
Although one might think this book had some value from being written by someone who knew Pamela Mitford for some years, in fact it is very poorly written (especially in being endlessly repetitive of the same information), so that one can hardly believe that a 'professional' journalist is the author; and also there is very little new information (especially hard facts as opposed to domestic trivia or opinions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing because it has little to say, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Meredith Whitford (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
In all the many, many books about "the Mitford Girls", not a great deal is usually said about Pamela (2nd eldest), in comparison to the others. Of course, Pam was "the quiet one", the peacable, private, domestic one. She didn't elope with Churchill's nephew-by-marriage, stalk Hitler, become a fanatical fascist or Nazi, deny the Holocaust, commit adultery, become a duchess, or write books. She just got on with life in her own way and on her own terms, probably laughing a little at her sisters' excitements. She was by all accounts a wonderful cook, said to remember every meal she'd ever eaten. Even after their divorce she stayed on excellent terms with her ex-husband, the brilliant physicist Derek Jackson. Childless herself, she was said to be a favourite with her nieces and nephews.

But... it has to be said that she wasn't really very interesting to anyone who didn't know her. Nor was she any sort of saint. In fact, the things people tend to remember about her, and the incidents rehashed in this book, make her sound rather unpleasant -- grasping when it came to money, hard on the Mosley children who lived with her during the war, ready to accuse a sister of theft (the famous to-do when Deborah and Pam tacitly supported Unity's Nazism by accusing Jessica of stealing a family scrapbook as material for David Pryce-Jones's book about Unity; the scrapbook was discovered where it'd always been, and only Deborah apologised, decades later.)

Alexander knew and liked the modest, pleasant Pam, and has probably done her best to write an interesting biography of her, but she lacks the ability to convey what made Pam likeable. Also,she had little material to work with; the book is more a memoir than a thoroughly researched biography. It relies on secondary sources rather than looking for letters or other material that would give Pam a voice. It is not always accurate, either.

So all in all it's rather a disappointing effort that says nothing new about "the other Mitford".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written potboiler cashing in on the Mitfords, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Mitford (Kindle Edition)
A deeply disappointing book. The author appears to have embarked on an 'I was a close friend of Pam. Now I' a close friend of Debo' exercise which rehashes old stories, leaves out the bits that might embarrass Debo and snarks at Jessica at every opportunity. Unbalanced, written in shoddy journalese and repetitive. Don't buy. If you must read it borrow from a library and spend the money saved on a decent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
I've really enjoyed reading this book and if the author's motive was to create an impression of a kind and interesting woman (no Mitford pun intended) then I would say she succeeds. The style of writing is pleasant and informative and although Mitford aficionados may have come across variations of the tales before, this book pulls them together and tells them from an entirely Pam Mitford perspective.

Comparisons with the other sisters and their obsessions only serve to highlight the nature of this very different woman and as such are essential. Significantly, this book makes the reader fully appreciate Pam M's qualities and records them in their historical context. All in all this is truly enjoyable book and an excellent addition to the Mitford Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills the small gaps left by others, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
There have been many books, mostly by academics with little else to do, about the Mitfords. This book has been written by a person who actually knew this lesser known sister. All the better for it's honestly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other MItford Pamela's Story, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, such interesting content, touching on the lives of this fascinating family.
Excellent condition and delivered promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite weak, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Mitford (Kindle Edition)
This was not really about Pam but a resume of all the sisters. There was a lot of repetition, and I didn't learn very much new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Other Mitford, 7 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story (Hardcover)
I knew a little about the Mitford family but hadn't read anything about them. As a 'non-expert' on the subject, I found 'The Other Mitford' to be a really quick informative read - giving me a potted synopsis of the family's background and the extraordinary lives of each sister including Diana Alexander's friend, Pam. I think this book would make a good Christmas present for anyone wanting to know more about the Mitfords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story
The Other Mitford: Pamela's Story by Diana Alexander (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2012)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews