Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful read
I got this book for my fathers birthday and i ended up reading it myself. Very interesting , i spent most of the time looking for things that happened in the year i was born. Would recommend for anyone young or old.
Published 22 months ago by Hel

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS GOOD AS PEOPLE SAY
Yet another example of a great idea let down by simple errors. For example on page 65 'William becomes King William III in 1689,with his wife Anne (James' daughter)becoming queen'. I think you will find his wife became Queen Mary II.Another oddity is on page 100 - over 19009 people. Strange figure to pick. Also I would query the use of 'None return to the Moon' on page...
Published 21 months ago by QUIZMAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful read, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
I got this book for my fathers birthday and i ended up reading it myself. Very interesting , i spent most of the time looking for things that happened in the year i was born. Would recommend for anyone young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chronologica, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
A truly refreshing look at history for experts, or novices. This book can be dipped into, (But you end up carrying on reading !). This could make a very interesting project over a 24 period to help highlight history to readers/listeners, or school children. Many thanks for a different viewpoint on history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timely new look at history, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
A really clever idea for a history book this, offering the reader a trawl through history via the frame of a single day. Who knew that at two in the morning, the first queues for Disneyland began (1955) and the US started bombing Libya (1986)? Or that at 5.15pm, Prime Minister Spencer Perceval was assassinated (1812), and the final whistle went in the 1966 World Cup final? Author Norman Ferguson has pulled together a wonderful collection of historical facts to produce an intriguing little gem of a book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Original!, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
This book is a one off, the concept is very original as the author presents a diverse selection of historical facts by the time of day they took place to the very minute. It's a book to dip into again and again and a great conversation starter. This well-researched, quirky book would make an excellent gift for any history buff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quirky history book. Great., 24 Aug 2012
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
This is a wee gem of a book. Perfect for dipping into and finding out some interesting historical facts but also capable of maintaing interest if you are after a longer read. It's a book that demands that you share what you are reading with anyone within hearing distance. Picking a random time and finding out what went down in the past is surprisingly entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read about historical moments, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
Bought this as a xmas present for someone who is well into history, and read some of it first. This book was first reviewed in the Daily mail, and had read the exerpt there, which it brought it to my notice. Think it was a good choice and the gift was enjoyed by the receiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chronologia, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Sandy Buchanan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
Did you know that the time of writing this wee review i.e. 16:40 is the same time that Galileo saw Jupiter through a telescope for the first time! If this sort of fact interests you then go get this book. It is a mine of some fantastic (and trivial) information, laid out in a unique style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS GOOD AS PEOPLE SAY, 21 Oct 2012
This review is from: Chronologia: History by the Minute (Hardcover)
Yet another example of a great idea let down by simple errors. For example on page 65 'William becomes King William III in 1689,with his wife Anne (James' daughter)becoming queen'. I think you will find his wife became Queen Mary II.Another oddity is on page 100 - over 19009 people. Strange figure to pick. Also I would query the use of 'None return to the Moon' on page 151. They never got there so they could never return.There are other erro Not well enough researched in my view and not properly proof read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronologia: History by the Minute
Chronologia: History by the Minute by Norman Ferguson (Hardcover - 15 Aug 2012)
9.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews