Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant reference for people who's ancestors were in the workhouse
This is a brilliant read! Its worth buying if you need to research your workhouse ancestors to find out what they had to endure, what was expected of them and how they were educated. Reading this has also changed my perception of the workhouse. All my studies have shown that the workhouse, far from being a terrible place to be, it was far better than being left to...
Published 18 months ago by Angel1

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Workhouse encyclopedia
I looked forward to reciving this book, but I was left slightly disappointed. I thought it may provide more in-depth information on named workhouses, but it was more a generic encyclopedic view of the workhouse environment. I did find the reference sites and further reading information useful, and the contact details for museums of particular interest.

From...
Published on 22 April 2012 by Andy P


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant reference for people who's ancestors were in the workhouse, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant read! Its worth buying if you need to research your workhouse ancestors to find out what they had to endure, what was expected of them and how they were educated. Reading this has also changed my perception of the workhouse. All my studies have shown that the workhouse, far from being a terrible place to be, it was far better than being left to wander the streets destitute. My grandmother was put into the workhouse along with her mother and younger brother for reasons I have still to find out. However she had a good education and learnt all manner of womanly skills which put her in a good position to find some decent work when she was released.

It was often the case where the mother died and left the father to look after the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Reference, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
D. Reeves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Jam-Packed full of information - I have already made use of it with my research into my grandmothers early life in Chichester Workhouse, and will continue using it for research in the future. Easy to read - but not the sort of book you'd sit down & read cover to cover. As you'd expect with an encyclopaedia, it is in alphabetical order. This is my only gripe; It is not always easy to guess the key word to obtain information - I knew my grandmother had been born in the , so I looked for Babies - nothing, I looked for Births - nothing.I finally tried Children - lots of information,though none specific. There were various times I had to guess what would be the key word. Otherwise a useful book, both as a source and to send you in the right direction. Well produced, with great photo's and illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Workhouse encyclopedia, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I looked forward to reciving this book, but I was left slightly disappointed. I thought it may provide more in-depth information on named workhouses, but it was more a generic encyclopedic view of the workhouse environment. I did find the reference sites and further reading information useful, and the contact details for museums of particular interest.

From an editorial perspective, the book is poorly proof read, with the ends of sentances missing, and labeling for images being incorrect. It all seemed rather rushed.

I would still reccomend this book to researchers who have little or no knowledge, but think that it could have been compiled with a little extra tlc, and become a great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Interesting points in this encyclopedia, not something to read from cover to cover as bedtime reading, read something which takes you somewhere else in book or onto the internet to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthwhile Purchase, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is a very good book. Well-researched and informative.

I have yet to read it from cover to cover - it only arrived this morning, but already it has given me a very useful lead in my family research. As with many work houses, the records concerning my grandmother's early life have been destroyed. For anyone whose family were unlucky enough to end up in a work house, this book is an absolute gem - it also offers some reassurance that life there wasn't as awful as is generally painted.

Pleased with my purchase. Very fast delivery, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fasinating, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
If you want to know anything about the workhouse life and also about the old workhouses around the country and what happened to them after they closed.
Then this is the book for you---A great read and reference book
Great if you are looking into old workhouses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would be difficult to imagine a more comprehensive account of the history of the workhouse. The alphabetical listing of entries means it's not a book you'd read from start to finish, but makes it easy to find what you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WorkhouseReview, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
The Workhouse Encyclopedia is an excellent publication; suited to both the academic and leisure interest only reader. Covering a wide range of workhouse related laws, acts, workhouse culture its easy A - Z format aids the reader to find what they want as well as enticing them to tutrn more pages for more info. Referring to both England and Ireland Peter Higgonbotham is a foremost authority on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Workhouse Encyclopedia, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is just the book I needed, it has all the information in it for research or study.
It is in Alphabetical order so finding what you need is easy.
Such a lovely book to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Workhouse Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Very interesting book with phjotos so you can get an idea of the places and workhouses included. Its a fantastic source of information. Nicely bound as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Workhouse Encyclopedia
The Workhouse Encyclopedia by Peter Higginbotham (Hardcover - 1 Mar. 2012)
Used & New from: £14.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews