Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2012
There's long been a need for a wide-ranging, readable overview of the study of surnames from the point of view of the researcher actually trying to do one, or contemplating doing one, and this book is a great way in: detailed enough that experienced researchers will learn plenty and simple enough that newcomers to surname research will not become overwhelmed. Fully up to date (Debbie Kennett is an expert on DNA testing and on social media use by genealogists), I expect this book will only become outdated by technological advance.

Chris Pomery
[...]
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I think this book is a game-changing book. Researchers in family history can get back really easily now to 1837/1841. Many parish registers and wills are starting to go online, with Wales leading the British Isles at this moment in time. So more and more researchers are getting into medieval family history and the origins of their surnames of interest. DNA testing very often has to be used in parallel to make sure conclusions are justified. This book gives a clear vista of how much material has gone online relating to the ability to research surnames in the medieval period and further forwards in time. It should be acquired by any serious family history researcher interested in the origins of their surnames in the 1700s and further back in time, and contains comprehensive information on how to conduct those investigations. With periodic updating into revised editions as the amount of online information continues to increase, this book could run and run.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
I bought this book as a textbook for an essay for a further education level course. It is very readable ~ the first I have read from cover to cover, because it a) contained the information I needed and b) because it was well organised, clear and not dull. The chapter on DNA was very up to date and informative.
Thank you Debbie Kennett
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
This is a superb book that takes the reader through all of the steps needed to trace the origins of your surname and shows how to follow your family history back as far as possible.

Each step is enumerated and explained in full with many links to websites where records are held, or the names and addresses of record offices where the actual record (perhaps even copies of mediaeval documents) can be viewed. It is thrilling to discover incidences of your own surname that can appear in the 1300 or 1400s.

Debbie Kennett's book is the key to a voyage of discovery in how to research - successfully - the history of your own surname.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
This is a very technical book and it is exactly what the extension name says - a guide to family name research in the 21st century. It reviews past research into family names and tells you how to extend that research and gives on-line tools for doing so. It is not a book about the origins or distributions of family names. Do not be misled.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
A superb book, thanks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I haven't finshed reading it yet but informative and interesting so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
I am happy withe my purchase and the quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
I was a little disappointed that only a relatively few surnames were dealt with but I realise that the author was in the business of showing the way for readers to do their own research.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I believed it to be a book giving the meanings to surnames in general in effect it is a reference book on how to go about researching names
55 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)