Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eyes opened, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If we had to live as these people did in this day and age then I do not think that many of use would survive, we learn how hard people lives where and how much of a disgrace some people found going into the workhouse was , eventhough they had no choice if they wanted to survive. The treatment of children and young babies give you food for thought as well as the rule that had tobe abided by I think that every young person should read this to see how much life has chnge for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read for general interest or study., 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Paperback)
I bought this as I have a particular interest in this area of history and first person accounts of workhouses are naturally not all that common, especially not all in one place. It is basically a collection of short, first hand accounts arranged into logical chapters by one of the most popular workhouse historians at the moment. The book covers inmates, staff, and social enquirers among others and features the likes of Charlie Chaplain and Henry Morton Stanley. A lot of the accounts are obviously sad and tragic but a lot are surprisingly positive, the short stories make the book suitable for 'dipping in and out of' or for reading in a couple of sittings. I would recommend this for people who have a general interest, have workhouse ancestry or for poor law students - bearing in mind that a lot of the sources and accounts are biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Subject, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Paperback)
Interesting collection of memories of both inmates and staff of workhouses, a real insight into the culture of the times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening book ., 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read. Lot's of information on life in the workhouse ,told by evidence given by inmates ,Governors and under cover reporters of the time . I was drawn to this book and found it hard to put down . Recommend this to any one who has any interest in the Workhouse , the food and accommodation and the characters that visited these institutions .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful ancestry research tool, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Paperback)
A valuable and interesting book. Very useful for research as well as of historical value.
Well researched and written book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read if you like social history., 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating read. Contrary to popular belief not all workhouses or industrial schools were dreadful. Strict most of them were but then that was the way then and circumstances dictated methods quite often. Not to say there weren't some bad workhouses there definitely were but human as we are, these ill treatments still go on! - One is almost tempted to say we could do with some of them coming back. Its interesting too that not everyone in a workhouse was poor, though most were. Some houses were very well kept. The inmates kept them that way. Everyone had a job to do to maintain the place which also meant they were occupied. Some people on going back out into the world actually chose to return as you didnt have to work so hard in a workhouse and had your food cooked for you and served up. Yes, some found life easier in a workhouse than outside! This book is quite a revelation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good historical book, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Paperback)
Worthwhile book to have when researching family members who might have been unfortunate enough to require "parish support"! An historical account of past life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 25 May 2014
By 
Crazybint (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A much broader approach to the history of the work house than I have come across before, many original sources from users, managers and those presenting themselves as users. It is a book that also brings to mind many of the issues we are now hearing from politicians about the deserving and undeserving poor. Fabulous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Paperback)
I bought this on behalf of someone else for a present. My feedback from them was that the birthday girl was very happy
with this book and it's contents. Packaging was good, no problems there. So A very good information book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captures the degredation of the human spirit wrought by workhouse life, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Workhouse (Paperback)
The authentic voices of the inhabitants put flesh on the more academic, dry accounts of life in the workhouse institutions. Not surprisingly, they are repetitious, emphasising that the experiences of the inmates were common across most workhouses. There are some valuable inputs from a medical doctor and chaplain, which reveal that some cared about the conditions suffered by those admitted to workhouses. There are clear messages, most implied, sometimes explicit, about how those in authority by social class or office viewed those who sought relief in those institutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voices from the Workhouse
Voices from the Workhouse by Peter Higginbotham (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2012)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews