Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Contemporary View of a London that has Disappeared
This idiosyncratic guidebook describes the "underbelly" of London as it appeared in 1962, just as it was about to be swept away by the never had it so good and swinging sixties boom (in themselves supplanted by seventies decline, yuppification, boom and bust, and lately 2012!). The book spawned a film drama-documentary narrated by a sardonic James Mason, and still after...
Published 8 months ago by Richard Newbold

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost twice over
This is a fascinating book set in the era when the developers and planners set about destroying the heart of historical London. Not all of the changes they made were bad but there was a sense of loss even then of something of the character of the place. Fletcher, with his artists eye and breathy prose sets about documenting the hidden parts of London's character even as...
Published 21 months ago by Marc Whiffen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Contemporary View of a London that has Disappeared, 11 April 2014
By 
Richard Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The London Nobody Knows (Hardcover)
This idiosyncratic guidebook describes the "underbelly" of London as it appeared in 1962, just as it was about to be swept away by the never had it so good and swinging sixties boom (in themselves supplanted by seventies decline, yuppification, boom and bust, and lately 2012!). The book spawned a film drama-documentary narrated by a sardonic James Mason, and still after 50 years has an enthusiastic following. Broadcaster Dan Cruickshank writes a foreward to the latest edition, and has made a radio series under the same title. There's even a superb Flickr site with photographs of surviving buildings.

The book is perfect for ambles around places like Islington and Whitechapel, spotting the little that still remains and what has replaced it. The book has a perfect reminiscence of the Jewish East End, and with the author's accompanying pencil sketches, a mind-boggling chapter - almost a mini Which Guide on the outdoor and underground urinals of London - starting with the sentence "I have always been a keen connoisseur of Victorian lavatories... ". Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost twice over, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Marc Whiffen "Marc Whiffen" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating book set in the era when the developers and planners set about destroying the heart of historical London. Not all of the changes they made were bad but there was a sense of loss even then of something of the character of the place. Fletcher, with his artists eye and breathy prose sets about documenting the hidden parts of London's character even as they are being concreted over. So we get to travel the streets of London and to not see what Fletcher saw as so very little remains and the most poignant part of the book is Dan Cruickshanks introduction decrying this very thing. Fletcher waxes lyrical over some parts of London that actually benefited from development and some things he found lovely were odd. His love for Kensal Green cemetery for instance while ignoring Nunhead, Highgate etc. was odd as I found Kensal Green to be the least interesting of the five major Victorian era cemeteries.

This is a good book to read if you want a "before" picture of the effects of the fifties and sixties development boom which was not always good. However much of it is now irrelevant and only Fletchers pictures and contemporary photos can show what was lost. My only hope is that this book does highlight the damage that development can do, even while we reap the benefits. We should not lose the character of our environments to greed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't feel, bored at all reading this book, but you have to like architecture or I suppose it could seem a bit tedious, as it happens I like both London history and architecture, the book gave a good impression on me and I never put it down once till I had read it full of interesting information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The London Nobody Knows, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I am mildly technophobic it was difficult for me to manipulate the images so that I could see them better on my Kindle. This, however, was the only disadvantage to this book. I have to applaud the author for his knowledge and diligence, seeking out as he did the little gems of historical significance in the London architectural landscape. They do say that one never really sees something until one has tried to draw it, and the beautifully observed illustrations helped the reader to do this by proxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly much had gone but worth trying to what remains and perhaps some other gems on the way
Some of replacements from the 70s are now being destroyed so we may see some surprises, Dock lands has been completely changed but in the process some buildings have reappeared and perhaps more access after the Olympics may throw up some surprises!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars london nobody knows, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Nobody Knows (Hardcover)
post delivery on time. an exciting little book. there are parts of london even I didn't know about. keep up the good work can recommend you to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very good and interesting book to read, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was very interesting to read,it lets you find out about the parts of london that we all miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very diffrent london, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this little book tells you about a forgotten london that is still their in places . and shows you places that you diddent know exsisted a very good read for londoners and peaple who like diverse history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The London Nobody Knows, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Nobody Knows (Hardcover)
This book is an interesting read if you are interested in London History. I was delighted with the copy I received - in excellent condition and delivered very speedily which is the service I am accustomed to from Amazon. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great narrative., 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Nobody Knows (Hardcover)
Geoffrey Fletcher certainly had a way of his own in describing the man in the street in 1963 London and his drawings are most original. He kind of picked up the sub conscious of the time through his books as the Beatles did through their songs. Great narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The London Nobody Knows
The London Nobody Knows by Geoffrey Fletcher (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews