Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellant guide, 9 Oct 2001
By 
R. Wooldridge (Waltham Abbey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you, like me, are facinated by graveyards and cemeteries then this is your book. It is well written with a history of the cemetery movement and guides to monumental art and cemetary archetecture. There are nice descriptions of all the cemeteries in London with lists of their more prominent occupants. The book has as its themes both the interest to be found in exploring cemeteries (more popular than we might think)and the sad state of so many due to the neglect of many London Boroughs. If you need the AtoZ for London streets then you need this guide as you navigate around its cemeteries. If you have not tried the joys of a day out at the cemetary then this book will inspire you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great text but dull lists, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: London Cemeteries: An Illustrated Guide & Gazetteer (Paperback)
The book begins with five general chapters but is mostly taken up with a gazetteer of 126 cemeteries with an essay on their location, acreage, history, topography and noteworthy monuments. In this it is authoritative and readable. It also contains 200+ photographs (in black and white). Unexpectedly for a book of this type there are many laugh-out-loud moments, resulting from the sharp descriptions of some of the lowlights (the 3-paragraph demolition job on Trent Park is a hoot).

By contrast, the lists of `residents' is routinely dull, over-populated with Victorian worthies who hardly count as famous these days. (And the lists are of people, not monuments, as unmarked grave-dwellers are included.) It is not obvious that these lists have been updated much since the first edition 20 years ago. Revising with more recent occupants would easily make this a 5 star publication. Grave locations within the cemeteries are not given, but this may be too big an ask.

Overall strongly recommended, but perhaps best read in conjunction with the findagrave.com website to identify more contemporary - and interesting - residents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 27 Mar 2013
By 
R. B. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Cemeteries: An Illustrated Guide & Gazetteer (Paperback)
The authors of this book should be congratulated, they are both witty and informative, it is an excellent guide book to what is a vanishing part of our history; there is some excellent research as well.

The lists of notable interments are good, even though many of them will be unknown to today's reader, it does go to show how fame is such a fleeting thing and most people end up gone and forgotten.

I highly recommend this book; it would be nice if the authors would do the same guide for cemeteries outside of London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Cemeteries: An Illustrated Guide & Gazetteer (Paperback)
I love this book as I like all the books of this type they are really fascinating, but that just could be me. you will love this too, iam sure.
I can find anything wrong at all with this just hard to put down once you pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LONDON CEMETERIES: ILLUSTRATED GUIDE & GAZETTEER, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Cemeteries: An Illustrated Guide & Gazetteer (Paperback)
This was a totally comprehensive book with lots of information written in an easy to read and enjoyable fashion. It will be a great help to me in finding and photographing various cemeteries in the London area both the well known and the lesser known. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in this subject. The service from Amazon was, as ever, excellent. Many Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bodie, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: London Cemeteries: An Illustrated Guide & Gazetteer (Paperback)
Initially got this book out from the library and was pleased to find it on Amazon. Its the sort of book that you refer to again and again and is full of facts about the cemeteries and their famous residents. It made it more interesting when visiting the cemeteries themselves to have some background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1baf9c)

This product

London Cemeteries: An Illustrated Guide & Gazetteer
London Cemeteries: An Illustrated Guide & Gazetteer by Brian Parsons (Paperback - 1 July 2011)
18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews