Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this product
This was bought as part of a birthday gift for my son. As far as I am aware he was extremely happy with it, wish I could say the same for his girlfriend :-/
Published 5 months ago by Delphine Duckworth

versus
59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fanciful Filler Fails The Furry Fella
Mr Wibble had very light blond hair when he was younger, and found he hardly needed to shave at all. Now middle-aged, his once boy-like chin has produced enough fuzz to have him likened to Wolverine. Since he was actually hoping for something more like Ezio Auditore, we thought this book might help. Alas, as others have said, the book did not meet our needs. Lots of...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs Wibble


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fanciful Filler Fails The Furry Fella, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
Mr Wibble had very light blond hair when he was younger, and found he hardly needed to shave at all. Now middle-aged, his once boy-like chin has produced enough fuzz to have him likened to Wolverine. Since he was actually hoping for something more like Ezio Auditore, we thought this book might help. Alas, as others have said, the book did not meet our needs. Lots of history of beards, famous people with beards - even animals with beards! - but very lacking in terms of what to do with *your* beard. When it does get to the point, it speaks in terms of, "Some people do this, some people do that, but you might want to do something else..."

This book is a Christmas stocking filler. Go to the bearded-man hangouts on the Web if you want lots of help you can confidently use. As a wife coming into frequent contact with a bearded face, however, here's a few tips I have worked out from my own point of view, for what it's worth:

1. Use a beard shampoo and conditioner. Yes, it does make a difference. Mr Wibble uses Beardsley Ultra Shampoo in Wild Berry and Beardsley Ultra Conditioner - I can't link to them at the moment because they are unavailable on Amazon, but they are frequently in stock.

2. Get a little beard comb to slot into your wallet and use it to tidy up while you are training it. The one by Kent is nice.

3. Get a recommendation for a good wax and make sure you work it in your hands *a lot* before applying it. Great for getting your 'tache to sit down and behave.

4. Trim it, even if you are planning on joining ZZ Top. It looks so much healthier. By the way, dispose of the trimmings nicely. Beard hair looks exactly like... Well, let's just say you don't want to find that in the sink when you've just woken up at the crack of dawn and want to wash your face.

5. If you have a long, narrow face, a goatee will make it look even more long and narrow. If you have a wide face and want it to be more narrow, try a goatee. You can also balance your face shape with your hair, so squint at your reflection and include all types of hair when you are working out the overall shape you are trying to achieve.

6. If you do want a goatee or some other style that requires a combination of trimming and shaving, grow a full beard and then spend a weekend gradually taking more and more off over the course of the two days, until you've got it just right. You can't glue it back on, so take your time. When cutting, hold the hair to one side so you don't accidentally take off more than you wanted gone. If you are on your own with no one to help, take pictures of yourself from the side because it's easier to spot bits you need to trim. Remember to lift your chin and take a photo of the growth under their so you get it tapered just right. If you shave too much away, just fluff out the fuzz to cover it - don't shave the other side to match because it will never be the way you want it. I've just trimmed Mr Wibble's beard from full to goatee and it was nerve-wracking but turned out well.

7. You and/or your partner might hate the way it looks at first. Hang in there for about three months before you decide to take it off again or you will still not know what you look like with a beard.

8. Do not grow a beard at the start of the summer or go anywhere you can get a tan, if there is a chance you will change your mind about facial hair. Once shaved off, you will still have a kind of beard, and I'm afraid it's the sort people will photograph and upload to the social networking sites.

9. Beard Mannerisms. Yes, you need to stroke it down. Yes, you probably look like a genius and/or a supervillain while you're doing it. Don't let it turn into a mannerism.

10. Excessive beard conversation. If you have the sort of partner who goes on about shoes, home improvement and babies, then you only have yourself to blame. It does not work both ways. I admit that I go on about art, gardening and making stuff, but when Mr Wibble kept talking about his beard growth, I offered to grow and style my underarm hair so we would have a special new project we could share in.

11. Kissing and Other Relations. If you have a partner who doesn't want you to grow a beard because it might seem like they were kissing a Special Lady Place, tell them not to be alarmed. You will promise to keep the beard trimmed away from your mouth opening so there will always be plenty of lip involved. Furthermore, you will also promise to use your face fleece to bring new sensual pleasures to Proceedings. Trust me on this.

12. Look up "The Trustworthiness Of Beards" on the Web. This will help you to choose a style according to the amount of trust you require in your day-to-day life. Having a goatee, Mr Wibble is deemed "very trustworthy".

Hope this helps. We are new to beard management but I can assure you growing one is a worthwhile undertaking. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
As was mentioned by others this book is not so much a guide, but more of a gag. I would not recommend it if you are actually looking for an informative text on beard/moustache management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this product, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Delphine Duckworth (LEEDS, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
This was bought as part of a birthday gift for my son. As far as I am aware he was extremely happy with it, wish I could say the same for his girlfriend :-/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Santa gift, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
Bought as a secret santa gift and the person loved it
i read a bit and seemed really funny and had lots of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars happy husband, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
Order came very quickly and my husband was happy with it. It was a novelty gift that gave much pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and he was rather surprise that a woman would like facial hair, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
My boyfriend was beardless when I met him, and he was rather surprise that a woman would like facial hair. So, I bought him this book to give him ideas. He found it immensely funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!!!!, 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
Briliant product, brought as a gift for my partner he will love it, the delivery was great and, the product it self was just what i wanted very happy customer !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book for Real Men., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
First rate little book for both existing proud Moustache wearers and those who aspire to something out of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov 2014
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
great delivery time and sent in perfect condition, plenty to entertain inside and will be a great little present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov 2014
By 
Dan Talboy (La Jolla, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management (Hardcover)
Enjoyed the information about managing a beard, or moustache, some good insights of different shapes etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management
A Gentleman's Guide to Beard and Moustache Management by Chris Martin (Hardcover - 1 Jun 2011)
£5.24
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews