Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book for 2012
We may only be in October and with the fast approaching 100th anniversary of the loss of the Titanic almost upon us, the increase of books on the subject is expected. But one book stands out from the rest as THE book for 2012 - 'Titanic in Photographs'. As a long time researcher and collector on Titanic, we crave for those new finds. And, oh boy does this book deliver...
Published on 1 Oct. 2011 by Jonathan Smith - United Kingdom

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Titanic In Photographs
I Think This Book Is Ok, But What With All The Hype Leading Up To The Release Of This Book I Was Expecting Something Much Different, Maybe Better, I Don't Know. Don't Get Me Wrong The Photos Are Brilliant And The Facts Given Are Interesting, But I Just Think The Book Should or Could'd Been Better Planned Out.
Published on 25 Feb. 2012 by Mr. Adrian D. James


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book for 2012, 1 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
We may only be in October and with the fast approaching 100th anniversary of the loss of the Titanic almost upon us, the increase of books on the subject is expected. But one book stands out from the rest as THE book for 2012 - 'Titanic in Photographs'. As a long time researcher and collector on Titanic, we crave for those new finds. And, oh boy does this book deliver. Not only do we see a wide selection of photographs we have all been raised upon in a clarity not seen before, but throughout the book are many newly published images, here for the first time and in one handsome volume. The book is a pure gem, page after page. Not to be confused with other photographic books previously released, 'Titanic in Photographs' captures the spirit of Titanic like never before and in photographs that could have been taken only yesterday. Each chapter starts with a page or two, a prequel for the images. Then the images along with captions continue the story. In short, the book is a joy. And finally, it's a book on the subject where the authors and those involved know the difference between Titanic and her sisters. What you see is what you get - Titanic, in every bit of the sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating view of a doomed ship, 16 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
I'm not a Titanic buff, but like a lot of people I'm intrigued by the tragic, almost mythic, dimensions of the ship and what befell it. This book was an impulse buy, but I'm glad I did as it provides a fascinating general overview of the ship, with a great selection of photographs and period pictures that take the reader from construction to the survivors arrival in New York. The authors are obviously experts in the field, and have done a fantastic job at compiling a visual record that will appeal to a wide range of general readers (as well, I'm guessing, to confirmed buffs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful visual history of the Titanic, 6 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
The influx of new Titanic books has begun. While most are rehash of old information, the authors of 'Titanic in Photographs' show that with hard work and research, there is much new information to be found.. Each page brings a new discovery, with detailed captions of when and where the photo was taken. The photos are crisp and clear, and one cam visualize themselves at the other end of the camera. Similar books will be published, but most likely they will not compare to this excellent volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic in Photographs, 19 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. J. Morris "josh040875" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
Wow, well I have been interested in the Titanic for over 30 years, this book is full of photographs that I have never seen before, and I own 60+ books on the Titanic, I would recommend this book to those who are new to Titanic and those like myself who have been interested for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Titanic Effort, a Titanic Subject: Simply An Exceptional Book!, 8 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
I should start my review by acknowledging that I am thanked in the book's acknowledgements, that I supplied several images to the authors, and that I write for the same publisher. However, I have no financial interest in the product. In fact, my own books could be potentially construed as `competitor' titles. My background, in my opinion, helps me to evaluate the true worth of the book.

It has been a privilege to see some of the book's development behind the scenes. An enormous amount of work by a number of individuals has combined to produce a wonderful book. I know from my own experience the amount of effort and co-ordination involved in producing a book with even one author, but the combined efforts of the authors come together seamlessly.

`Titanic In Photographs' is just that: a picture chronicle of the doomed liner, with all stages of her life documented in crisp photography. Olympic rarely appears, unless she is alongside her less fortunate sister ship. Where she does, such as in the remarkable colour images of first, second and third class accommodation, it is welcome. There are numerous Titanic pictures that are either rare or have never been seen in previous books, despite the gargantuan number of titles.

Photographs which have been seen before are reproduced at a very high quality. The text is accurate, informative and a pleasure to read.

Even in the smallest details, the book shines. Where photographs have been widely published before, their captions here reveal new information or little known facts: such as the first class stateroom, photographed prior to the maiden voyage, with life belts visible in the picture. The caption explains who the occupants of the stateroom were that wore these lifebelts, and whether or not they survived. In another image, a little boy playing on deck is identified by name. He survived the sinking, only to die three years later in an unfortunate accident. Others were photographed strolling on the boat deck, next to the lifeboat that would carry them to safety: a lifeboat that nobody dreamed would ever be required. A wonderful `period' style first class suite is also shown. The extraordinary workmanship that went into its creation, like that for the entire ship, ended up being pointless: that suite room never saw a fare paying passenger.

As 2012 approaches, the one hundredth anniversary of Titanic has already begun to generate numerous titles related to the subject. Each will have its strengths and weaknesses. There will be good and bad titles. `Titanic In Photographs' belongs to neither category: it's simply exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the centennial, 1 April 2012
By 
Tad Fitch "T. Fitch" (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
As the centennial of the Titanic sinking approaches, there are literally dozens of books being released. A good number of these books are not worth the money, and have only been published to capitalize on the interest generated by the anniversary. These range from rehashes of the same old material, to volumes virtually plagiarized from previously-published classics, all the way to tomes pushing conspiracies and wild theories. Then there are a handful of excellent books that are an essential part of a Titanic enthusiast's collection, including George Behe's 'On Board the RMS Titanic,' Mark Chirnside's 'An Illustrated History of the Olympic Class Ships,' Sam Halpern et al's 'Report Into the Loss of SS Titanic, A Centennial Reappraisal,' and several other excellent books from the like of Inger Sheil, Hugh Brewster, Paul Lee, and others.

This book decidedly falls in the latter category. Rich with crystal clear and rare photographs, it is by far the definitive photographic record of the shop and her brief life. The text that accompanies the pictures is concise and well-written, and contains a lot of interesting nuggets throughout. The authors could have cashed in on the anniversary by presenting a book with the same old photographs as other volumes, and it probably would have sold well enough, even though it would be forgettable. Instead, they have utilized rarely seen photographs from their own collections, the collections of others, and have meticulously tracked down and gotten permission to use many other rare images.

In short, this volume is a 'must have,' and completely in line with the high quality work expected from the authors in question. As an author who has his own Titanic book out, 'On A Sea of Glass, The Life & Loss of RMS Titanic,' I am proud to consider this book and my book sort of spiritual companion pieces to each other, along with some of the other excellent volumes listed above. I was expecting a very good book when I purchased my copy, and Hall, Klistorner, Beveridge, Andrews, and Braunschweiger exceeded my already high expectations. I am happy to see the recognition they are getting, and the success of this book. Readers would be well-served in adding it to their collection. My only regret is that there isn't a second volume out yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional research, 30 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
A wonderful collection showing the construction, launch and voyage of the Titanic with an accurate narrative. Early books used to say how few photographs there were of the ship but the authors have put together a wonderful collection. A must have for enthusiasts and a refreshing antidote (and pretty conclusive proof) against some of the ludicrous conspiracy theories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Titanic fans, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my son who loves all things Titanic, though I do have a strong interest myself.
The book is very well presented, and there are some newer photographs I have not previously seen.

As the title suggests it's primarily a photo account of the Titanic, but there are useful and well written text sections giving important details and information to the reader.
Starting with photos of the construction of the ship at Harland and Wolff, Belfast, we also get insights into other manufacturers who provided parts for the titanic. The book moves though the timescale of events with photographs of the ship at various ports and during sea trials, ending with aftermath of the sinking.

Titanic is famously under photographed, not from outside (there are plenty of photos of the ship being made and at sail) but inside and the interior whilst at sail, very few pictures are known to exist, and there are no known photos of the grand staircase (we do get a photo of the Olympic staircase to convey what is would have looked like) There are also few passenger photos whilst at sea, but some are included here.

There are some illustrations provided to fill the gap (which are well done), showing in detail some of the important rooms. No doubt many photos taken by passengers are lost due to the sinking. More photos have turned up over the years and this represents a fairly up to date collection (the book was published just before the 100 year sinking anniversary) The print quality of the photos is very good (considering the age and technology available at the time) and a step up from some early books on the Titanic. A real effort has been made by the authors in this area.

A fascinating and well produced book, with significantly more photos than many older books. A recommended purchase for anyone with even a minor interest in the ship from a photographic perspective. Those looking for an in depth account of events would be better off looking at some of the text heavy books with cover the time-scale of events in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of History!, 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
Wow!What an incredible book!It really is like lookin through a window into another time.I first became interested in the Titanic many years ago while i was still a kid,after doing a class project.Then the release of the movie in 1997 brought it all back to me again,then YET again when the 100th Anniversary came around.I can honestly say that out of all the books & dvds i have on the subject,very few,if any,come close to this.Theres loads of brilliantly detailed photographs in here that makes it a must for any Titanic fanatic! :) What i found amazing is that after all the years of seeing movies,paintings,reconstructions & posters of this once great ship,here is a collection of photographs of the REAL ship,from her birth,to the last photograph ever known to be taken of her,& also of the lifeboats arriving alongside the Carpathia,a few short hours after the tragedy that has captured so many peoples fascination.If your Titanic daft like me,or even have a slight interest,this is the book for you.Truly amazing! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 'must own' Titanic Books, 31 July 2012
By 
A. Charles "chazchuzzlewitt" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) (Hardcover)
There are shelf-loads of Titanic books now, so after you have the main must-haves like Dr Ballard's Discovery of the Titanic and Walter Lord's A Night to Remember, there's plenty of books vying for your money on the subject. This book for me is one of the best photographic records of the ship I've seen. I expected quite a few pictures of the Olympic to pad it out showing how it the Titanic would have been similar etc but the authors have managed to find what seems like every Titanic photograph out there. As well as some familiar shots there are many fantastic pictures I never knew existed of the construction, launch, fitting out, voyage and rescue. This book does not cover the wreck, just up until the rescue. The pictures are extremely good quality considering their age and I'd say if you are especially interested in the ship herself, as much as the events that night you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection)
Titanic in Photographs (Titanic Collection) by Steve Hall (Hardcover - 14 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £10.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews