Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homer had his Odyssey and Worthington has Once in a Blue Moon - a worthy journey and worth a read..., 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
Once in a blue moon is about as often as I read football books that aren't about my beloved Derby County, however this book caught my eye and I am glad I chose to read it. No matter which football team you support (maybe except Manchester United - you might not like some of the references in this book) you will find something that connects you to the trials, tribulations, joy, excitement, depression, humour and down right crazy journey that the author has travelled during his time supporting Manchester City. Although this is predominately a book of one man's journey following his team the length and breadth of the country I challenge any true football fan to read this book and not say to themselves - `I've been there, I know what you mean!' This book beautifully captures what it is like supporting a team and how the highs and lows this support brings can shape and mould who you are.

This book also offers much to readers who just enjoy a good laugh. Once in a Blue Moon contains many stories that will have you laughing out loud and in some parts will also have you moved by the emotional ups and downs life can bring. I will not ruin the book for you by recounting some of the funny stories, my advice would be to buy a copy and find out for yourselves.

In addition to the football, this book also provides the reader with an insight into Manchester life from the 1970s to present day. As a newcomer to Greater Manchester I found it really interesting to discover what this great city was like during this period - clearly Manchester has changed a lot. Anyone who has lived through this period of change will also enjoy reminiscing with the author as he goes through the years.

In short I enjoyed this book and I would certainly recommend it to anyone who fancies a good read. Clearly this book jumps out to Manchester City fans but as a supporter of a different club originally from a different city I can say I enjoyed it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than a Dennis Tueart over-head kick..., 8 April 2011
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
A terrific book mixing the turmoils of life with... well, the turmoils of Manchester City! For a young city fan like myself it's fascinating to hear Steve's recollections of the greats like Sumerbee and Neil Young. A book that strikes a perfect balance in my opinion, open to anyone even non-football fans (don't be perturbed by the title) anyone would find it easy to enjoy this book.

Top notch stuff steve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the good old days, 7 April 2011
By 
Mrs. C. Walker "dancer" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
bought this book for my brother who is a city fan ,it is very funny and takes you back in time to when fans were fans and not like they are to day ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, even though I am a girl and a Manchester United fan!, 12 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. Susan Perrin "Susie" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
Great book, really easy to read and quite funny. I am sure this book will resonate with all football mad men. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once in a blue moon..........., 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
......a book comes along that makes you smile and you just can't put down. It is an often used phrase regarding books: "I couldn't put it down" ranks alongside the other literary phrase "it's a page turner". Well, both are true of this book and guess what? It's not fiction! It is a book written by an average guy, a child of the sixties and a football fan. A Manchester City fan too. I can identify with all four of those things but even if you don't, the book may hold some resonance for you too. As a long suffering Man City fan, I know what it is like to follow a club that knows how to grab defeat from the jaws of victory. A club that always strives to confound and frustrate. But enough of the club....I did laugh out loud at times and that is because the prose is written in an easy, self-deprecating style. Steve Wothington has done great job painting a picture of growing up in a working class environment in the sixties and seventies. He loves life, playing footie with his mates and having a laugh. He makes many references to the things that make us smile now: spangles, raleigh choppers etc but kids of today would say eh? There are also rerefences to the music of the seventies and eighties: punk and the names that you associate with the Manchester scene. I am sure that the late John Peel would love this kind of book: frank, football and chock full of punk and indie bands. And oh! Steve also devoted over twenty years playing and managing a sunday league football team, Leigh Athletic (not from Leigh and not athletic). Steve cut his teeth on writing for a football fanzine and no doubt, this has honed his laconic prose. My kind of book. I have never met Steve but I would love to meet him him in the pub, share stories and have a laugh. Don't take my word for it, read the book. I am avidly awaiting the sequel. Come on Steve, put that pint down and get typing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mancunian warmth, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
It's said that everyone has got a book in them. Steve's debut is a humorous and honest account of life in south Manchester from the mid-60s. And going to the opera it ain't. This rich slice of Mancunian life includes his passion for Manchester City through thin and thin but oddly enough for football fans, the match reports are sparse - and like Nick Hornby in his seminal Fever Pitch Steve actually missed his team's major successes - plus his overseas trips supporting England, his involvement with a Sunday league team, seeing early gigs by The Smiths, Stone Roses and Joy Division, tales from the pub and clubland, and the ups and downs of life and work. Steve has excellent recall of dates and events over the decades.
The story of his near-death experience as a child to a happily married family man nearing his half century - who watches his beloved City on only slightly fewer occasions now - is told with warmth and feeling. A really enjoyable read.
And thanks to the 500m (and counting) invested in City, will Steve's next book be an account of his team taking over the world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb MCFC book, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
Being a fanatic Blue I had read loads of books by City fans which were ok-ish but weren't much more than a diatribe of re-hashed scores with a few anecdotes chucked in here and there. With this book you really warm to the author as he regales tales of ridiculous proportions, all of which I can believe being a Manchester City supporter. But this book shouldn't just appeal to City fans, by no means does it just focus on City, it is one man's journey through life, dealing with it's challenges head-on in a humourous manner that will leave you in tears, sometimes of hilarity but also (briefly) of sadness. A great book, truly Worthy of a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight In The Top Corner, 23 Mar 2012
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
A thoroughly entertaining read that will bring back a lot of fond emories for City fans of a certain age, as well as giving younger Citizens an insight into what we oldies have had to endure over the years. I'd certainly recommend "Once In A Blue Moon" to anyone who has a passion for football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have book for any blues, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
after reading this book i came to the conclusion that ive just read my own lifestory about my love for city & hatred for the other lot. has a born & bred blue living in the shadow of them and being taunted of how good & great they are! its revenge time for us blues! in this book i can associate with steve on so many levels,for it is my childhhood i am reading of!. there are so many laugh out loud bits in this book. i knew of worthy from his hilarious articles in the city fanzine "electric blue". oh how i miss the fanzine scene. get this book! take your time reading this book & treasure this book!. thank you steve im not worthy!. mark the blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once in a Blue Moon - Life, Love and Manchester City, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City (Paperback)
Before settling down to read this book pour yourself your favourite tipple, as you will no doubt feel the urge to have a drink as the experiences of the author are told.
The author "Worthy" is a mancunian's mancunian, and, like many football fans, has supported a football club that has not won anything for years, but which will always have his loyal support. One of his other passions - involvement in Sunday league football - is described in a way that paints a picture of cold Sunday mornings and players with hangovers, attitude and humour, which, of course, produces some hilarious tales.
Worthy tells of his lack of academic success at school, but later successfully studied for a degree whilst doing a full-time job. Many should be able to relate to his experiences of a school that was not the type for him, and the fun and injustices he experienced in equal measure.
I thought Worthy wrote the sad pieces very well, and real compassion came through.
The funny stories were a real laugh. Reading the book with a mancunian accent in your mind is to be recommended.
This is the first time I have reviewed a book and I have probably not done it justice. So all I can say is buy the book. It will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City
Once in a Blue Moon: Life, Love and Manchester City by Steve Worthington (Paperback - 16 Aug 2010)
7.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews