Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for all, a MUST for railway enthusiasts!!, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Paperback)
The story of the worlds preserved railway is captured beautifully by Tom Rolt. It's delightfully detailed, at times poetic, at others thrilling! A lovely story for anyone who likes a good tale but simply compulsory reading for any railway enthusiast! I read this as a teenager and lost my copy while moving house. This lovely recent edition has a preface by David Mitchell on the Talyllyn Railway and some truly evocative photographs.

The railway is still running and celebrates it's Diamond Jubilee this year, so if you read the book and love it, then visit the Railway. Many scenes and places are still clearly recognisable from the photos and Dolgoch is still running, at the grand old age of 145.

This is a captivating book and I simply can't recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Railway Adventure" by L T C Rolt - a newly-reissued classic, 6 Jun 2010
By 
D. W. Mark (London SW17) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Paperback)
This classic tale of the saving of the Talyllyn Railway in mid-Wales and its take-over by the newly-formed Talyllyn Railway Preservation Society in 1950/51 has recently been reissued. It reads as well as earlier editions and (to quote "Steam Railway" magazine) should appeal to a whole new generation of enthusiasts.

With the Bluebell and Middleton Railways celebrating their fiftieth anniversaries in 2010, it is timely to recall that they started operations ten years after the Talyllyn Railway was saved. The TR never closed, but only by the skin of its teeth. When the owner Sir Henry Haydn Jones died in 1950, the Railway was saved by a group of enthusiasts led by L. T. C. (Tom) Rolt. "Railway Adventure" recounts those early years, from initial plans to replace the original railway by a 15 inch "toy" line (to save money), to the purchase of the two Corris engines for 50, and the triumphant first season in 1951 when 1865-built "Dolgoch" was the only available motive power.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true railway pioneering adventure, 21 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Paperback)
This is a thoroughly entertaining book which lives up to its title, if you have any interest at all in railways. It's also historic; L.T.C. Rolt was deeply involved in saving the Talyllyn Railway (and how deeply, you will see when you read it), which was the pioneer of the entire railway preservation movement. The efforts of how they kept the trains running with, at times, just one serviceable locomotive, are fascinating and inspiring. Si monumentum requiris, circumspice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A train of thought, railway adventure, 20 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Kindle Edition)
A great little book about the first years on the talyllyn railway. There were a few sentences that may change some younger readers but in no way should it deter them. A true adventure and well worth the read. The maybe, like me you will go and see the first preserved railway in the world for your self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early presevation, 27 Mar 2014
By 
R. Cox "Rob C." (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Paperback)
Early history of the Talyllyn railway told in an easy to read style. You don't have to be interested in railways but it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steam Trains..., 1 Nov 2013
By 
Melvyn Frost (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Kindle Edition)
I have had this book in paperback for 20+ years and am really pleased to get it for my kindle. This comes with photos not included in my copy so am really happy. Perhaps Tom Rolt saw things through rose tinted glasses but nothing wrong with that. A really good read to any steam railway fan...Recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Railway Adventure L.T.C. Rolt, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Kindle Edition)
I found the book interesting from beginning to end and the photographs helped to visualise the problems that had to be remedied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Read, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Paperback)
I really liked this book, the writing is beautiful and the descriptions, etc are first rate. Not being train technology minded some of it was not intelligible to me, but don't let this put you off. It is well worth reading as the history of this little railway is amazing and the hard work of the volunteers is really still an example to us all of how to get things done! there is also a great deal of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic read., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written, this book tells the story of the birth of the world's first preserved railway, the Talyllyn Railway in Tywyn, Wales. As with his other books, Rolt's writing is colourful and evocative of a bygone age, and will appeal beyond the mere railway enthusiast. Copiously illustrated, this is a social and historic document as well as a thoroughly good, well-crafted story. It is a book to cherish, and read many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars railway adventure, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Adventure (Kindle Edition)
I havew been a member of the T R for may yearsHave read two of thje Railway Adventure editions and also this third mone. Every one has been as interesting as the frirst

Ken woods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Railway Adventure
Railway Adventure by L T C Rolt (Paperback - 13 April 2010)
8.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews