Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cotswold walker
I bought this book last week and am really enjoying reading it. Very interesting to me as my husband and friends and I all walk the Cotswolds at week-ends. We have walked all the places mentioned.
Also living in Abingdon like the author!
Published on 20 July 2011 by Lizzie

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bigger print
The book looks fascinating but the problem is with the design. The type face chosen is too small to read. All of my friends who bought this book have said the same. This book lies infuriating unread because of the small typeface. It is not an attractive book to look at, given that it is a fascinating subject.
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by Romeo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bigger print, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire: Exploring Poetry and Place (Paperback)
The book looks fascinating but the problem is with the design. The type face chosen is too small to read. All of my friends who bought this book have said the same. This book lies infuriating unread because of the small typeface. It is not an attractive book to look at, given that it is a fascinating subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cotswold walker, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire: Exploring Poetry and Place (Paperback)
I bought this book last week and am really enjoying reading it. Very interesting to me as my husband and friends and I all walk the Cotswolds at week-ends. We have walked all the places mentioned.
Also living in Abingdon like the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Gurney's work, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire: Exploring Poetry and Place (Paperback)
Great use of illustrations in this new slant on Gurney's work. Maps, colour plates and black-and-white illustrations complement the exploration of Gurney's connections with Gloucestershire and the part they played in inspiring his poetry and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire: Exploring Poetry and Place (Paperback)
A very comprehensive coverage, bringing nostalgic memories of growing up in the county with insight to Guerney's life whose poetry and musical settings to poetry I love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this would easily pass the casual reader by, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire: Exploring Poetry and Place (Paperback)
As the torrent of 'Great War' related books flows on, this would easily pass the casual reader by. I had read a limited amount of Gurney's poetry, in general 'war' anthologies, and had been attracted by his, obvious, love of the countryside, his native Gloucestershire countryside. This book not only puts flesh on Gurney's bones, but then sends you off in other directions, to discover the beauty of both his poetry and music. The sadness, nay tragedy, of his life is not avoided. The salient issues are not ducked. Like Edward Thomas, and John Clare, here we have a poet who is bewitched by the nature of the countryside around him. Although he did not die in France, he is, like Thomas, a 'War poet'. Like Clare he died in an Asylum, and like both of them he loved, and understood, his surroundings. His published anthologies are looked at, in an honest light, in some detail here.
The book suggests, well-annotated, walks in his native county, to help towards a deeper understanding of his life and his genius.
But Ivor Gurney was also a gifted musician and this is emphasised in this excellent little book. He wrote beautifully crafted, English, folk songs. I followed the guide to recordings of these songs, and the journey was well worthwhile.
As an introduction to this, to me, little known poet, 'Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire' was excellent, and led me to read, not only his anthologies, but to search out recordings of his music.
If the aim of a book is to stimulate an interest in looking more deeply at its subject, this book succeeds beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire: Exploring Poetry and Place
Ivor Gurney's Gloucestershire: Exploring Poetry and Place by Eleanor M Rawling (Paperback - 9 Mar 2011)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews