Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent balanced overview of Richard's short reign...
This isn't so much a biography of Richard III as it is an attempt to disprove or refute all of the various slanders and untruths that his reputation has accumulated over the centuries. Carson examines Richard's reign chronologically and, using the sources of the time, attempts to discover what actually happened. She has some interesting theories, such as the argument that...
Published on 21 Sep 2009 by C. Ball

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "'Now...' - and that's all I can remember"
Richard III - vicious scumbag of history. So says most of the stuff I had heard about the last pre-Tudor king, so it was refreshing to find something that took on a new angle. The "cast" of the book reads like a Who's Who of the medieval/early modern era, with Warwick the Kingmaker and John of Gaunt bouncing around several chapters early on. It took presence of mind to...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Mr. A. Weston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I got to read this, 17 May 2013
By 
W. Jones (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
Wow - really enjoyed this book. Every time this rather slow reader picked up this book I didn't want to put it down! I found this book to be an objective and well informed view about Richard III. Very impressed with this author who has obviously assimilated large volumes of information and then analysed them in a very interesting and 'reader friendly' way. Like so many I was educated to see only the wicked Richard III of Shakespeare etc. So it was fascinating to know about the real facts and to realise how indoctrinated my view had been. Needless to say I now have a completely different view of this period of history!!! I wasn't a Ricardian before but am proud to be one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An innovation, 11 Jun 2013
By 
S. Lark "Stephen" (Ipswich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
If you have ever wanted to read a book about Richard III in which all the hostile posthumous propaganda is stripped away so that you can read the reports in the order they were made and judge them on their merits, this is it.
When you read those latter reports and analyse them, you will imagine our own era being reported by C26 historians who treat Dempster and Hickey as "reliable" sources, a very alarming comparison.
There are some updates to one chapter, the conclusion and the photographs. For this version, be sure to look out for the red panel on the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Maligned King, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
This book is an excellent read for someone that knows the period, a balanced view very informative the author leaves you to draw your own conclusion after reading. I was able to look at other sources
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard III - The Maligned King, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Cheatham "dinki" (Solihull UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
Fantastic history book. Clear, concise and giving a measured view of traditional history. Will delight Richardians everywhere and gives a balanced opinion backed up with resources for the 'other' side of history, rather than the biased Tudor view. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "'Now...' - and that's all I can remember", 5 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. A. Weston (Chessington, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
Richard III - vicious scumbag of history. So says most of the stuff I had heard about the last pre-Tudor king, so it was refreshing to find something that took on a new angle. The "cast" of the book reads like a Who's Who of the medieval/early modern era, with Warwick the Kingmaker and John of Gaunt bouncing around several chapters early on. It took presence of mind to remember that they were long dead by the time Richard came to the throne in 1483.

The book is certainly correct when it states that Richard III has had a poor deal historically, and he probably deserves better. It also identifies some of the advances made in Richard's reign that tend to be ignored by many works about this era. Unfortunately, it does not fully convince the reader that Richard III should be rehabilitated entirely. I was not convinced by the arguments about various arrests that were ordered by Richard, which generally seemed to go along the lines of "this method did not kill or harm that many people; it could have been so much worse, but Richard was a nice man."

I liked the angle, I liked the fact that the views of the author weren't treated as late additions to the ten commandments, and I liked the subject matter. I didn't like the occasional lapse into hero-worship or the very deep-seated animosity towards Henry Tudor and his family, which tended to detract from an otherwise sound study of the key events and individuals from 1483 to 1485.

If you're a beginner to this era, or want a loose introduction to Richard's reign, buy this book. If you're not, buy something less opinionated and form your own ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Richard III book, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
I am an avid Ricardian & enjoyed this immensely. Very interesting & enlightening; a definite must for any Ricardians or Yorkists; although, to be fair, it does show some of the other side & opinions as well (even though I don't always agree with them). A book to keep on my book shelf & refer to when necessary. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL VINDICATION OF RICHARD 111., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT ! ERUDITE,AS ONE WOULD EXPECT FROM A HISTORIAN OF ANNETTE CARSON`S STANDING,BUT EMINENTLY READABLE! I COULD NOT BEAR TO PUT DOWN THE CHAPTER ABOUT THE PRINCES IN THE TOWER AND THE FOLLOWING ONE-BONES OF CONTENTION.TO GO AND DO NECESSARY HOUSEHOLD JOBS!
THE KIND OF BOOK YOU COULD READ IN ONE SITTING,GIVEN THE TIME,AS IT IS UTTERLY FASCINATING.
MANY NEW -AND OLD-ARGUMENTS ARE PRESENTED IN A CLEAR AND PERSUASIVE MANNER.
I AM ALREADY AN ARDENT RICARDIAN BUT ANYONE WHO IS NOT WILL SURELY BE PERSUADED OF RICHARD 111`S BASIC GOOD INTENTIONS WITH REGARD TO THE BRITISH PEOPLE,AND FORGET ALL THE NONSENSE ABOUT HIM BEING A MURDEROUS USURPER ! THOROUGHLY RECOMMENDED-DO READ IT.I AM ABOUT TO REREAD IT AS I WAS SAD WHEN I FINISHED IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Valerie M. King "book vale" (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
This version of Richard 111 life, and the events leading up to his death on Bosworth Field is excellent . It is not a biography , but a
highly personal analysis of the more controversial events of that Kings reign , starting with the death of his predecessor and brother
Edward 1V in 1483 . The author says her aim was to research , not to vindicate , however , in her research many surprising things
became evident . This is a very well written and researched book and well worth reading .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. High standard of research and very readable., 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
This book really does tick all the boxes. It puts the meat on the bones of "Daughter of time". It sets standards of unprejudiced research which some household name historians should aspire to. The whole Richard III debate confirms Kuhn's writings about the overwhelming difficulty of overturning established scientific beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ‘This book is not a biography of Richard III.’, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
In this book, Annette Carson sets out to examine the events and circumstances of Richard’s life, rather than the man himself. She also focusses on the main chroniclers who have shaped public perceptions of Richard over the past 500 years: the anonymous chronicler of the Abbey of Crowland, Dominic Mancini, Polydore Vergil and Sir Thomas More.

In an analytical and methodical approach, Ms Carson examines some of the most contentious events and people - including the rise of the Woodvilles, the marriage pre-contract, the unexpected death of Edward IV, the interception of Edward V at Stony Stratford, and Elizabeth Woodville’s retreat into sanctuary. Ms Carson also examines the Titulus Regius, the role of Harry Stafford ( the Duke of Buckingham), the disappearance of the Princes and the October Rebellion of 1483. And while analysing these events, Ms Carson pays particular attention to how each one was interpreted and presented by each of the main chroniclers.

While no firm conclusions can be reached based on the few known objective facts, I found Ms Carson’s approach logical and reasonable. Personally, I’ve always been attracted to either the Duke of Buckingham or Henry VII as being the most likely villains. But I like even better the possibility that the boys were removed from the Tower and kept safe. By questioning the objectivity of the main chroniclers, and examining a range of possibilities, Ms Carson has raised a number of questions for those of us fascinated by Richard III and the Princes in the Tower to consider further. It is definitely true that certain key events have more than one possible interpretation.

‘In the end we cannot be sure of the truth about the princes’ fate and honesty demands that we admit as much.’

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard III: The Maligned King
Richard III: The Maligned King by Annette Carson (Paperback - 20 July 2009)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews