Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent balanced overview of Richard's short reign...
This isn't so much a biography of Richard III as it is an attempt to disprove or refute all of the various slanders and untruths that his reputation has accumulated over the centuries. Carson examines Richard's reign chronologically and, using the sources of the time, attempts to discover what actually happened. She has some interesting theories, such as the argument that...
Published on 21 Sep 2009 by C. Ball

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "'Now...' - and that's all I can remember"
Richard III - vicious scumbag of history. So says most of the stuff I had heard about the last pre-Tudor king, so it was refreshing to find something that took on a new angle. The "cast" of the book reads like a Who's Who of the medieval/early modern era, with Warwick the Kingmaker and John of Gaunt bouncing around several chapters early on. It took presence of mind to...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Mr. A. Weston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent balanced overview of Richard's short reign..., 21 Sep 2009
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
This isn't so much a biography of Richard III as it is an attempt to disprove or refute all of the various slanders and untruths that his reputation has accumulated over the centuries. Carson examines Richard's reign chronologically and, using the sources of the time, attempts to discover what actually happened. She has some interesting theories, such as the argument that perhaps Edward IV was poisoned or that the 'princes in the Tower' were not murdered, by Richard or anyone else, but escaped to Flanders; but at no point does she ever say 'this is fact', as so many historians do. This book isn't about rewriting history, merely pointing out that so much of what we think is history is actually supposition, assumption, guesswork and often pure fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 10 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. Very well researched and Ms Carson's theories certainly give plenty of food for thought. A must have for any Ricardian's bookshelf.

My one gripe is with the paperback version of this book. The font is tiny and I find it really quite difficult to read. Make sure you have a decent pair of glasses if you buy this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched refutation of the legend, 18 Jun 2010
By 
C. Aitken (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
Having read almost everything out there on Richard, by both sides, I found this one, bias aside, to be one of the best argued and best put together. It introduced new slants such as the possibility that Edward IV was poisoned and used its avaiable documentary material well. I have seen lesser historians on the ant-Ricardian side put together far less convincing and far more biased cases than this, and I felt her obsevations were generally justified or at worst viable positive interpretations not unsupported by the evidence. At no time did I feel she was going beyond where the evidence could viably take her, and as a Ricardian I was pleased to see the3 case, finally, put cogently and succinctly. It's a winer for any Riccardian, and any anti-Ricardian should at leats find food for thought in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard III - the truth, 21 July 2009
By 
Mr. P. T. Bale "movie mad man" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
Annette Carson's book on Richard III throws a bomb into the Tudor/Shakespearean image of this monarch, and delivers one of the clearest and best defences King Richard could have wished for.
Taking each of the so-called 'crimes' he has been accused of individually, she goes back to before the fog invented by the Tudors to justify their usurpation of a crown they had little claim to, and looks at contemporary accounts of events. She then adds something missing from books written about this period by nearly all other writers, common sense and humanity. Each event is looked at from all sides, pro Richard and anti viewpoints are weighed in the balance, and documents scrupulously investigated, studied, and their validity judged. Then the questions of 'Was this scenario possible?' and 'If not, why not?' are asked.
The result is a simply stunning piece of historical writing, that I cannot recommend highly enough. In this wonderful book Annette Carson shows that occasionally history written by the winners, in this case the Tudors, can be proved to be chiefly fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard in detail, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
Really thorough investigation into the previous written histories and their strengths and weakenesses. Compehensive assessments of characters and personalities and in most cases a very fair and balanced approach which allows the reader to draw their own conclusions. A lot of detailed information in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard III - A Maligned King by Annette Carson, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
I thought this book was excellent. Annette Carson's meticulous research and sound reasoning on Richard III and the events of his short reign were well thought out using all the historical evidence gleaned from documents and writings at the time and shortly after. Her deductions are extremely plausible and in a lot of cases common sense when all the facts are placed before the reader and goes a long way to dismantling the clever and insidious untruths put out by the Tudor propaganda machine to justify Henry Tudor's usurpation of the throne after Richard's death at Bosworth Field. I would definitely recommend this book to all fellow Ricardians, and to anyone with an interest in Richard III - the real Richard III - and that period of English History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updated Edition 2013, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Eva Doll (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
At the moment this is the best book available on the topic. Each known fact is looked at from both sides, applying logic and common sense. The same applies to evaluation of historical sources. Result is a serious research book that is very easy to read; once started I could not to put it down. Does not mean I agree with everything there, but nonetheless, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Richard III since Kendall, 28 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
Although Annette Carson's book is not a biography of King Richard III it covers all the various controversies surrounding this much maligned king. Coming at events and personalities from the 15th century and not backwards though the fog of legend and drama that obfuscates much of the truth, she takes a very human look at all that happened, and considers things from how people then thought and behaved. As a result she clarifies much, and shows Richard as, at times, a man of his time, but also a man out of kilter with his times, in that he cared more about ordinary people than most of his contemporaries did, and in spite of later rumour and legend, was not motivated by ambition, greed or self interest.
Beautifully written, with sources and references, bias and interest out in the open, both for and against, Annette leaves the reader to decide in favour of Richard or not. But when the facts are stripped of bias and legend it is not a hard decision to come to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Balanced View, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
I have been fascinated by Richard III for more than 40 years, and avidly read everything about him I can find, whether favourable or unfavourable. I found this book brilliant, and definitely one of the best books I have ever read about Richard.
The author deals with the events of Richard's reign using just contemporary chronicles, and her unusual hypothesis that Edward IV might have poisoned definitely made me look at this event in a different light.

It seems that political propaganda was as much alive in fifteenth century England as it is today - and she illustrated so many instances where post-Richard chroniclers deliberately mis-translated the original information so as to provide a completely opposite view. I have always thought that the portrait of Richard painted by More and Shakespeare is so obviously over the top, it is obviously only intended to be a drama, and not actual fact.

I also find it interesting that Richard has been vilified - without any actual proof - regarding the supposed death of Edward IV's sons, and yet the systematic removal of any Yorkist heirs by Henry VII and his son Henry VIII hardly seems to rate a mention in subsequent books written about this period.

The book really puts Richard into the context of the times in which he lived, and is careful not make a judgement on any of the facts, but merely to set them out for the reader to make their up their own mind. I certainly learned some new information about Richard, which was most interesting. It is clear that Richard's only Parliament certainly brought in some excellent laws to improve the lot of his people, which are still around today - something which probably did not go down too well with his nobles. He also seriously underestimated the threat from Henry Tudor, which ultimately led to the loss of his crown and his life.

Whether pro-Richard or anti-Richard, I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the fifteenth century. Try to approach it with an open mind, and I think you will find that Richard was no better or worse than any other king of the period, and if he had not been seriously betrayed in his hour of need, he would have been a very good, just and fair ruler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Shakespeare Got It Wrong, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The Maligned King (Paperback)
This is a really good read, but it might be a good idea to have a notepad a pencil handy. Ms Carson throws so many facts at you that it is impossible to remember half of them, yet every one of them virtually proves the innocence of the last Plantagenet king of England. Most of what you have heard about him is untrue, no thanks to Shakespeare, and even if you had doubts before about Richard 111's guilt they are about to be confirmed a thousand times over. If you want to know why those Tudors should never have come to the throne, read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard III: The Maligned King
Richard III: The Maligned King by Annette Carson (Paperback - 20 July 2009)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews