Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2014
Somewhat exemplary in its genre - which is littered with poor and self-published offerings. Old favourites and cases that were new to me, well presented and written in clear, accessible English. Recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
This book is brilliant I can't put it down you have to keep reading tot what happens next I recommend
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
This author can always be counted on for a meticulously-researched and well-written account of historical crime. This book is no exception. I'm delighted that Linda Stratmann has now entered the fictional world of crime with several excellent books featuring a Victorian detective, Frances Doughty.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
I enjoyed the factual side of the writing which is the bulk of the book. It seems well researched but in places a little rushed in presentation, particularly of the background to the case histories. I think it is useful as a starter for further reading into each of the cases, particularly if you wish to see how the judgements of the guilty parties was arrived at. It also shows the development of forensic investigation quite well.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Each account is a part of our history which we should be aware of. Sometimes the perpetrators were not found guilty but some innocent people were given the death penalty. Intriguing and interesting .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Interesting, not to say lurid, short accounts of London skulduggery, mainly lifted from contemporary newspapers. It is, literally, a heavy book, and I found it hard to hold for any length of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Real stories of real murders in London during the late 1800 and early 1900. Great little book. Might even find an ancestor lurking there somewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Some interesting cases detailed within. a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
although i found it very good on facts i thought that was not modern enough for me i would have liked more up to date murders
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
THIS BOOK IS SO INTERESTING AS YOU LEARN ABOUT MURDERS WHICH HAPPENED YEARS AGO AND AROUND THE LONDON AREA. I EVEN DISCOVERED ONE MURDER CRIME ON MY DOORSTEP.. RECCOMMEND A GOOD READ. HOPE THEY DO MORE !
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)