Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for WW2 coastal forces enthusiasts, 5 May 2013
By 
S. J. Stokes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Boats at War (Paperback)
Having read Mr Reynolds MGB 658 I had high expectations for this more general history of D class boats and was not at all dissapointed.

There is a great amount of technical detail and background on the Dog boats and their crews, but for me it was the descriptions of the wartime operations that really made the book for me.

An unexpected and welcome surprise was the inclusion of a chapter covering other British designed MGBs, their development history and brief operational history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dog Boaats at War, 14 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Boats at War (Paperback)
Mr Reynolds writes with conviction on a subject he knows very well. This is a well written and very readaable book covering the whole history of Gun Boats. Well worth reading however I would suggest buying a copy of Mr Reynolds boook " MGB 658" . This book is the history of one gun boat, in which Mr Reynolds served for over 3 years in WW2. Joining MGB 658 whilst it was still being built he served throuought it's whole oporational life starting as a young midshipman and ending as skipper and becoming a full Lieutenant at the age of 21, three years below the official minimum age in the navy. At truly exelent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dog Boats, 2 Nov 2014
By 
zoo keeper "menagerie" (Romsey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Boats at War (Paperback)
A very detailed and interesting illustrated account of Fairmile D MTB operations in the North Sea, English Channel, Norway and the Mediterranean.

This is a largely unkown war. Unlike capiutal ships, the Coastal Forces crews were mostly "hostilities only" reservists. A high proportion were from the Commonwealth. They were in almost constant action in a variety of roles, including special operations.

These "Dog Boats" were the pinnacle of WW2 MTB development. They were like mini destroyers and finally outgunned the German E Boats.

It also includes chapters on Fairmile C gunboats and Steam Gunboats.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Boats at War (Paperback)
excellent detail rare book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motor Torpedo Boats, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Boats at War (Paperback)
I bought this book for an enthusiastic friend on MTBs as a Xmas present and he is delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunboats in Action, 29 Mar 2010
By 
K. Schneider (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dog Boats at War (Paperback)
L.C. Reynolds does it again with the "DOG BOATS AT WAR" a must read for or naval students!!
L.C. Reynolds who commanded a "DOG Boat" during WW2 draws on first hand knowledge. EXECELLENT is the only words for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dog Boats at War, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Dog Boats at War (Paperback)
Excellant book, extremly informative and I was very impressed as I recieved it next day delivery

Well done Amazon

Sheila Pryor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dog Boats at War
Dog Boats at War by Leonard C Reynolds (Paperback - 29 May 2009)
£16.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews