Customer Reviews


728 Reviews
5 star:
 (409)
4 star:
 (164)
3 star:
 (97)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful memories
I was aged six in 1950 and so much of what is written in this book, was part of my life. Despite pundits who try to tell those of us who grew up [or possibly not!] in the 1950's and 1960's, that life was no better then than now, I/we know better, it was much, much better!

The author can be congratulated for having included so much of our lives during that...
Published on 2 Jun. 2011 by Peter Gordon

versus
45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing read
As a person who spent their childhood in the 50's I bought this book (kindle version)expecting to read interesting tales of home and school life bringing back forgotten memories of happier days. Unfortunately although, as some readers have pointed out, there are some interesting memories and parallels to ones own upbringing, the book did contain many long lists of 50's...
Published on 29 Sept. 2011 by Maplin Sands


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful memories, 2 Jun. 2011
By 
Peter Gordon (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
I was aged six in 1950 and so much of what is written in this book, was part of my life. Despite pundits who try to tell those of us who grew up [or possibly not!] in the 1950's and 1960's, that life was no better then than now, I/we know better, it was much, much better!

The author can be congratulated for having included so much of our lives during that decade. It was a pleasure when wondering whether he would remember every little thing, for the most part, he did. What he did miss and I hope that he will forgive me, I set out here:

Ch.1 - I remember the horrible cod liver oil by the teaspoon full but also the wonderful product: Malt.

Food and Drink - it was the fashion to boil vegetables, particularly Greens until they contained little in the way of goodness. But salad stuff tasted better than the forced and much travelled stuff of today.

Healthcare - our young lifestyles kept us fit, but dentists, who were paid virtually on a 'piecework' basis, drilled and filled our teeth [sweet things were hard to come by] without good clinical reason on many occasions.

Radio/TV - one very popular song was Terry Scott's 'My Bruvver' - still very funny.

Childrens Hour - the magical voices of David Davies [Larry the Lamb etc].

Games and Hobbies - 'Catch a TIGER by his tale'. I don't think so!

School Holidays - the last day before the summer term, when you were allowed to bring board games etc, to school.

An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Childhood re-visited!, 23 Mar. 2010
By 
Bonzo ""anorak"" (stoneleigh surrey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
This book invoked so many memories of a blissful type of growing-up compared to these more frenetic times where children don't enjoy adolescence because they are urged to grow up before being really ready for it. It makes you recall how gentle it all seemed, probably a hint of looking through rose-tinted glasses, but we grew up more or less able to cope with what life could throw at us. And no stress counsellors! Highly recommended for those who want to revisit their youth, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories Renewed, 12 May 2010
By 
M. Maskell (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
As a school friend remarked - "it was like someone had been looking over my shoulder". There were some memorable recollections which were revived in this book - some of which hadn't been thought about for many, many years.
I think it should be required reading for all children and grandchildren of those of my generation who grew up in the 1950's when everything was so much simpler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley fantastic, 18 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Lovett "J H L" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
This is one of the most fantastic books that i have read . It has transported me back to my childhood and bought back so many memories. I even purchased two more and gave them to my sisters as presents.

Really Really great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 19 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
Bought this for my sister. It will bring back memories and make us laugh at some of the things we used to do. Arrived on time and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Childhood of the 1950's, 19 July 2010
By 
Linda Emery "Duchess" (Tasmania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
A most enjoyable read, a revisit of many things familiar to growing up in the UK in this decade and a springboard to writing down one's own memories of childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of childhood, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
Excellent and well written. I can relate to more than 90% of contents and it brings back long lost memories of my childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories, 5 May 2011
Purchased this for my mum, she loved it as it brought back so many memories from her childhood. My dad heard us talking about it so he 'borrowed' her kindle to read it himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Many Happy Memories., 5 Mar. 2010
This review is from: A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping (Paperback)
I just loved this book. It took me right back to my childhood.....wallowed in nostalgia!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing read, 29 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a person who spent their childhood in the 50's I bought this book (kindle version)expecting to read interesting tales of home and school life bringing back forgotten memories of happier days. Unfortunately although, as some readers have pointed out, there are some interesting memories and parallels to ones own upbringing, the book did contain many long lists of 50's items, games, records, TV programmes, films and filmstars of the 50's. To be honest this was a disppointing read and soon became boring and tedious. It was such a shame as it had the basis of a good read let down by lack of imagination to make it interseting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping
A 1950s Childhood: From Tin Baths to Bread and Dripping by Paul Feeney (Paperback - 7 Sept. 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews