Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing new insight to the Crimean War.
Having read books, old and modern,and contemporary manuscripts covering the Crimean War, I can honestly say that this book by Hugh Small is the most refreshing and thought provoking facility I have read for many years.
Many works from the earliest times after the war and onwards, are simply recycled official documents and news reports. This book whilst obviously...
Published on 9 Mar 2008 by Keith Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Abit dry
Slow start, but plenty of facts & figures. But a good reference book that can be used for an overall view
Published 6 months ago by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing new insight to the Crimean War., 9 Mar 2008
By 
Keith Smith "wolvesman" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crimean War: Queen Victoria's War with the Russian Tsars (Paperback)
Having read books, old and modern,and contemporary manuscripts covering the Crimean War, I can honestly say that this book by Hugh Small is the most refreshing and thought provoking facility I have read for many years.
Many works from the earliest times after the war and onwards, are simply recycled official documents and news reports. This book whilst obviously drawing on original documents, gives many alternative views on causes and effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope this sets a precedent for other history authors, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
I didn't know much about the Crimean war before reading this book. I knew of the Charge of the Light Brigade from Tennyson's poem and the story of Florence Nightingale but little else. I just wanted to know more about it. So it was purely by accident that I stumbled across this book which attempts to tell history in a different way.

The general premise of the author is that too many historical accounts have been written with the purpose of aggrandising certain well-known establishment figures and that facts have been ignored and straightforward lies have been told. The author claims to have read many unpublished letters and documents of the period and attempts to tell what really happened. I find the account very believable as it fits with human nature and current practice of modern politicians. It makes me wonder about all of other history books I have read. A most interesting book and I would certainly welcome attempts by other authors to do the same for other episodes of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crimean War . . . by Hugh Small, 26 July 2011
This review is from: The Crimean War: Queen Victoria's War with the Russian Tsars (Paperback)
In his second book, "The Crimean War: Queen Victoria's War with the Russian Tsars", Hugh Small takes another look at the conventional wisdom about the Crimean War and, once again, turns it on its ear. Mr. Small, whose "Florence Nightingale: Avenging Angel" established him as a recognised authority on Miss Nightingale, shows a breadth and depth of knowledge on the Crimean War which is truly impressive. Through reference to a number of obscure but authentic documents, Mr. Small makes a compelling case for looking at the entire war in a whole new way; he provides new perspectives on the 'generally accepted' tactical alternatives which predominate other histories and provides some very original analyses of command decisions. Once you have read his book you will never look at the battle of the Alma or the Charge of the Light Brigade in the same way. The book, which is a surprisingly easy and enjoyable read, is destined to become a classic on the Crimean War!
like flag
Florence Nightingale: Avenging Angel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Abit dry, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
Slow start, but plenty of facts & figures. But a good reference book that can be used for an overall view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a deep breath and ..., 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
here we go:

Britain did not stumble not the Crimean War, it entered for sound strategic and economic reasons;
the Charge of the Light Brigade may have started in error but was a triumphant victory with far fewer casualties than you thought;
Florence Nightingale never nursed anyone, and after the war admitted that she got her priorities wrong in the location and administration of hospitals for casualties at a cost of hundreds of lives;
The Allies managed to ignore their strengths - superior cavalry and the Minier rifle - and play their own weaknesses to the enemy's strengths.

Ok. You can breath now. This book is right, and most of what you thought you knew about this miserable conflict is wrong.

The author has gone back to the original sources. He shows how the established myths of the war were developed by works based on biased contemporary accounts, and that successive "histories" simply drew on the preceding histories and rehashed (and occasionally exaggerated) them.

Citing authoritative contemporary sources, he draws a very different picture. It was still a bungled disaster, but it was a very different bungled disaster from that we had been led to believe.

The writing style is compelling and light. Overall a thoroughly good and enlightening read which I strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading if you have an interest in the development of Europe, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
Detailed yet easy to understand. The book provides an excellent window into the future development of Europe, and the events which give rise to problems to be encountered both militarily and politically. The book also reveals the impact this conflict had even to the present day on relations between countries within Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 13 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
This book was just what I wanted, easy to read and full of facts and information about the Crimean War. I can recommend this to others who are looking for something similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Crimean War, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
Well, I'd read quite a few books on the Crimean War but this one was a bit more searching than the others. It went where authors didn't go and called into question many of the accepted facts about this conflict
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crimea review, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
Excellent e book with real eye opening story of disobedient & self seeking generals, appalling disregard of troops welfare & a defeat rather than the common view of the victory for the British Empire .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Crimean War, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimean War (Kindle Edition)
A different take on this conflict with new (I presume) insights in to the war and the apparently massive cover ups that afflicted the previous accounts. Did not quite hit the mark on the battles which were rather dry in their accounts - covering the reasons why they succeeded or failed rather than the actions of the men fighting them. Did capture the horrors of disease and hardship between battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1baf9c)

This product

The Crimean War: Queen Victoria's War with the Russian Tsars
The Crimean War: Queen Victoria's War with the Russian Tsars by Hugh Small (Paperback - 13 Nov 2007)
7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews