Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars historical perspective on today's security problems
Interesting insight into how history repeats itself. Reading it enables one to evaluate current developments round the world where 'terrorism' rules.
Published 14 months ago by grumpus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historically interesting but somewhat tedious
I persevered through to the end! It is a book for those who like facts. The biggest frustration is the continual footnotes which are at the back of the book. This makes accessing them a tad difficult on the Kindle. It is however a fascinating insight into Policing in the late 19th & early 20th centuries.
Published 16 months ago by keith34@btinternet.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historically interesting but somewhat tedious, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I persevered through to the end! It is a book for those who like facts. The biggest frustration is the continual footnotes which are at the back of the book. This makes accessing them a tad difficult on the Kindle. It is however a fascinating insight into Policing in the late 19th & early 20th centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fair but long winded, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Massive amount of detail, often about all sorts of people, detracts from the main character. I found myself jumping from one chapter to the next, simply to avoid the next 15 pages that didn't tell me anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for the Historian, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Major N. A. Hallidie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is really for the historian rather than James Bond fans. It is rather stodgy and at times difficult to follow the various characters or leaps in time. For all that, it is a worthwhile read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written and researched book but I would have liked to get to know more about the man himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Kindle book for me, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I tried to persever with this but had to knock it on the head and filed it away. Maybe I would have dealt better with it as a paper book rather than as an e version. Anyway, might come back to it another time and see if I 'succeed' in fininshing it, mind you life it is too short to make yourself read a book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars M:MI5 First Spymaster, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book as a follow on to many other books based on the spy's from the war. It seemed a natural thing to read and I wasn't disappointed. I found that it was easy to pick up and put down and it was full of interesting details and facts that can be related to other stories from the many documentaries on related subjects. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was not sure if this was going to be up my street but am really glad to have found and read it, informative and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars historical perspective on today's security problems, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting insight into how history repeats itself. Reading it enables one to evaluate current developments round the world where 'terrorism' rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hard work!, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Factual, well referenced but it would have been a little easier to follow if written chronologically or if some sort of timeline had been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars mi5 i nteresting but not well written really became hard work, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book should have been edited more closely,it became boring after a few chapters.Should suit pre James Bond population,did you know that Ian Fleming called James Bond 007 after the number of his local bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M: MI5's First Spymaster
M: MI5's First Spymaster by Andrew Cook (Paperback - 15 Oct 2006)
9.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews