Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Consort to King Edward IV., mother of the Princes in the Tower and grandmother of the Tudors
Elizabeth Wydeville: The Slandered Queen is the first book of a series on England' s forgotten Queens, a series edited by famous royal biographer Alision Weir. And the series got an excellent start!!

Elizabeth Wydeville was Queen Consort to King Edward IV., is mostly known as the mother of the Princes in the Tower and she was - through her daughter, another...
Published on 20 Feb. 2007 by Amelrode

versus
41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Wydeville Whitewash
Elizabeth Wydeville. I suspect that many today wouldn't recognise her name, although her blood flows through the veins of our current Queen Elizabeth. She was, of course, the consort of the Yorkist King Edward IV and the Mother of the so-called Princes in the Tower.

Okerlund's study concentrates as much on the Wydeville family as on Elizabeth herself...
Published on 9 Feb. 2007 by Mrs. D. J. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Wydeville Whitewash, 9 Feb. 2007
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
Elizabeth Wydeville. I suspect that many today wouldn't recognise her name, although her blood flows through the veins of our current Queen Elizabeth. She was, of course, the consort of the Yorkist King Edward IV and the Mother of the so-called Princes in the Tower.

Okerlund's study concentrates as much on the Wydeville family as on Elizabeth herself. Traditionally portrayed as a cold, grasping, greedy woman (and family!), Okerlund sets out to refute these charges. The trouble is, she seems to want us to believe that actually the Wydevilles were all sweetness and light and never did a thing wrong in their lives! In some cases, Okerlund decides to conveniently ignore facts if they don't show her Wydeville's in a good light, for example there is absolutely no mention of the fact that Elizabeth failed to inform Richard of Gloucester of the death of his brother the King! We know this for a fact, and there could be no honourable motive, so Okerlund ignores it!

There are also claims made that are not satisfactorily backed up with hard evidence, such as the claim that Elizabeth was very pious. Yes, as queen she would have given money to religious charities, but this was expected of her public role, there is no evidence presented here that she was, either particularly or personally, exceptionally pious.

Not altogether a bad book, but as you can tell, I do have some reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not altogether unbiased, 25 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
Elizabeth Wydville/Woodville....the beautiful, older widow, married in secret to Edward IV to great scandal while an advantageous foreign marriage was still being nogotiated for him; this book, as the title states, sets out to be biased and, as editor Alison Wier did before her with treatise on Richard III (in which she set out to prove by hook or by crook that he murdered his nephews, Elizabeth W's sons, even if it meant ignoring fact to prove her point), so Okerlund has done with Edwards Queen.
I applaud this series as so often the role of Queen, Consort and Dowager is glossed over in historical texts when many have been massively influential but a more objective view would make for a more informed reader at the end.
Tha balance of probability says that in the dog-eat-dog world of royalty and politics and especially if you were the Mother to the heir/s to the throne, if you had power and influence, you would use it to further your own family and suround yourself with those who could rally to your call if needs be.Power was often used cynically and manipulatively as the postiion of royalty was often precarious and it really was a case of "it's not what you know but who you know"...especially when you needed to raise an army.
I'm not convinced that EW would have been any different (why should she be?) and after reading this book my views haven't really changed. The author puts foward an interesting case, but for me, it's not proven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Consort to King Edward IV., mother of the Princes in the Tower and grandmother of the Tudors, 20 Feb. 2007
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
Elizabeth Wydeville: The Slandered Queen is the first book of a series on England' s forgotten Queens, a series edited by famous royal biographer Alision Weir. And the series got an excellent start!!

Elizabeth Wydeville was Queen Consort to King Edward IV., is mostly known as the mother of the Princes in the Tower and she was - through her daughter, another Elizabeth - the " maternal grandmother" of the Tudor dynasty. However, there is much more to her than just being wife, mother or grandmother of. Her general historical reputation is however one of a clever and beautiful woman which is marrying above her station, clever and greedy for herself and her family. Not particuarly a good reputation.

Arlene Okerlund clearly states what the purpose of her biography is: to set the record straight on this Queen. She feels that Elizabeth was slandered by her adversaries. The subtitle "The Slandered Queen" leaves on doubt about this. And she has a point! Arlene Okerlund put things into perspective, shows motivation for slandering her, shows precedences how important females were treated at the time, sweps certain historical myths away. One starts to understand where Elizabeth Wydeville came from, learns about her background, her interest, her role as Queen and her legacy to her children and grandchildren. This is extremely interesting to read and understand. However, I feel that Arlene Okerlund does a bit too much in this direction. It is a bit of a whitewash, a bit too unbalanced. But maybe that is necessary because the historical reputation is unbalanced in the other direction. It is - as Alison Weit states in the introduction - provocative, but it is openly done and the reader can easy form its own opinion.

All in all I did enjoy reading very much this biography. I learned a lot and my views on this Queen Elizabeth has changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was she a Kate Middleton ?, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
Well written and sympathetic to the subject while still providing a balance view of why she and her family offended those who had held power for a long time and had to move over. I think she saw a chance and took it! The chance being that Edward IV fell for her and she fulfilled the role of Queen very well.Politically her family like many others sailed with the prevailing wind to survive. Her story is a lot like Wallace Simpson's and now Kate Middleton's; once a powerful prince fell for them it was hard to refuse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective on this historic person, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
It is amazing how information and documents that have long lain undisclosed and ignored make a radical difference to our perception of people in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life., 24 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms. E. L. Renshaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
I decided to purchase this book after reading Phillipa Gregory's 'The White Queen' ,a book based on the life of Elizabeth Woodville, in order to identify the fact from the fiction. The book itself is laid out in an easy to follow style with detailed time lines and family trees following towards the end ( very useful for the want to be historian! ). The content of the story put towards the reader is full of life describing the fascinating rise and fall of the Woodvilles and the House of York itself in suite. Its unique focus on Elizabeth's role in Edward 1V's governing of the country during such an uncertain point of history, their love and family life describes an important element to the period that many historian choose to overlook or dismiss. The language used by the author is always informative but simple making it an enjoyable read where the journey of the subjects can be easily followed and understood. A must read for anyone wishing to explore the action filled 15th century!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and long overdue book about one of the most maligned women in history, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
This book, meticulously researched and beautifully written, grips the reader from the very first page. Elizabeth Wydeville has always fascinated me, and I have never understood exactly why she has been so vilified, even by historians writing today. At last we see the real Elizabeth, the loving wife and mother who strove to teach her own children the family values she had learned as a child from her own parents. That she succeeded in doing so is apparent from way her daughter Elizabeth of York lovingly brought up her own children.

Arlene Okerlund refutes every tired, clichéd argument regularly trotted out by writers who should know better, showing Elizabeth as a grasping, manipulative woman, pushing her 'greedy' family forward. Now at last we hear the Wydevilles' side of the story; Sir Richard Wydeville's honourable behaviour in refusing to hand Calais over to the Earl of Warwick (now there's a true villain!) until the men of the garrison had been paid, and Anthony's loving care of his nephew Edward at Ludlow, and his place in history as a humanist scholar are just two examples.

What emerges from this book is a picture of a strong woman who knew far too much tragedy in her life, yet never lost her will to live. Sometimes historians have grudgingly admitted that Elizabeth must have suffered when she realised her sons by Edward IV were dead - please tell me what normal parent wouldn't have suffered! This is the first book which speaks of how Elizabeth must have suffered and grieved when her beloved father and her brother John were executed by Warwick for no other reason save revenge. Twice this good and courageous woman endured the privations of life in sanctuary, even giving birth to her much-wanted son Edward whilst there. and striving to do the best for her children.

Let us hope that other historians now take heed of this important book so that Queen Elizabeth Wydeville can at last take her rightful place in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth: England's slandered Queen, 18 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
This book covers one of my favourite periods of english history (medieval and tudor)and I have read several books recently covering these periods, so it was nice to read this one giving a different perspective on Elizabeth - and maybe putting right some of the wrongs done to this fascinating figure from history. I'd certainly recommend this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens) (Paperback)
I love this book. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to read more about Elizabeth Woodville - particularly with the upcoming BBC showing of the White Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elizabeth: England's Slandered Queen: The Slandered Queen (England's Forgotten Queens)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews