Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloomin marvellous, 6 Feb 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
I was born in Rotherhithe and my ancestors have worked on the river and docks there for hundreds of years. I came across this book by accident when researching my family history.

I have now bought 4 copies of it for various family members. If you were born, grew up or have relatives from the area, you will love this book.

It is easy read with a plethora of brilliant contemporary photographs from the 20's - 70's. If you remember with nostalgia Manzes pie and mash shop or the smells of the different unloading cargoes or local industries as you walked through this dockland district, before the massive redevelopment, you must buy Bermondsey and Rotherhithe Remembered.

My 91 year old ex-docker father even managed to find the house he was born in amongst the photos and named virtually every soul standing in the street staring at the camera in the early 1930s!

A terrific book - as my dad said when he got his copy "Bloomin' marvellous!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Provide Much Pleasure to Past Residents, 7 Jun 2010
By 
Dr. R. Brandon (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
This is a nicely produced book with many interesting photographs. The key word in the title is, 'Remembered', and there are indeed many charming reminiscences by people who have lived in the area. As a result this book will provide a lot of pleasure to those who from a sense of nostalgia or otherwise want to recapture some of the old experiences of living in Bermondsey or Rotherhithe. If, however, like me you have an interest in researching the history of the area, particularly of the docks and the leather industries and associated manufacturing, then you will be disappointed for this is certainly not a history book. Factories are mentioned and anecdotes recalled but there is no information on the industrial processes, or explanation for their growth, or reasons for their subsequent decline. The very significant leather exchange, for example, is completely ignored. Some mention of the tea trade, and the timber trade, through the docks is given but again there is little historical perspective. Notwithstanding these comments I feel sure the book will provide a great deal of pleasure to past residents who wish to refresh their memories of the area and for that reason I have given the book a good rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinding little book, 1 July 2010
By 
C. B. Lynch "Cole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
A lovely little book that really is about Bermondsey & Rotherhithe.
Loads of good pictures and aerial photos.
It made me want to go & take photos of the remains of what was old Bermondsey.
If you ever played on a bomb-site or was dragged from stall to stall through The Lane as a kid, "hopped the wag" from school and remember the smell of Cinnamon Wharf, you will warm to this book.
Buy this and educate your Grandchildren about where they're really from. Would make a lovely little gift for some ole geeza or your Mum. ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bermondsey & Rotherhite remembered, 3 Mar 2010
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
Being born and bred in Bermondsey it was a joy to read this book. It was well written and had some wonderful photographs, It certainly brought back some wonderful memories and also gave me information about the area which I was not aware of. My husband also enjoyed it very much and he also commented on how much it felt like a walk down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book., 20 Jan 2012
By 
Annie "Pippin" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
This was a Birthday present for my Dad who was born and raised in the area. He loved it! Not a big reader normally, he read it from cover to cover unable to put it down apparently.

So, if you have an interest in working class life invest in it, because while there are numerous sources about the East End over the water, this area for some reason seems to get forgotten about by social historians.

If you have family from this area, buy it for them. I loved the review here where someone mentions a family member naming everyone in one of the photographs. My dad got a very sentimental look on his face when he saw the kids going to the Saturday morning pictures!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
It was interesting as I grew up near the area and my family are from there so I knew lots of the places. Bought as a present for my family in Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
Some good photos and great for the local Bermondsey man/woman. Text is a litle lacking but not bad for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe its because im a Londoner, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
Came from Bermondsey, great to see it before even my time. Pack with informtion and pictures, great social history. Very proud of coming from Bermondsey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memeories 2, 9 May 2012
By 
L. Kemp "L.Kemp sandy" (beds.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
bought as present for husband but have had a good look through at the many pictures of places where i grew up, excellent work, wish there were more pictures so many places not documented, like The Blue and Southwark Park some of that but there was a putting green free if i remember correctly and boats on the lake near the outdoor swimming pool. Arrived in excellent condition and good packaging, promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bermondsey @ Rotherhithe Remembered, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) (Paperback)
I bought this for my Mum who lived in Bermondsey before the war. As they did not
take many photo's then I thought this would be the ideal present. She could not
believe it when the 'boy' who lived opposite her in Purbrook Street was in a
chapter. Lots of smiles and memories - anybody that lives or lived in Bermondsey should buy it. It is an education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs)
Bermondsey & Rotherhithe Remembered (Archive Photographs) by Stephen Humphrey (Paperback - 1 Sep 2004)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews