Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2004
An excellent new publication and dare I say it a worthy successor to the Henry Wills classic "Pillboxes".
The book details both the form and purpose of a wide range of structures from pillboxes to naval installations and barracks. Detailed descriptions of the strategies and reasoning behind the defences accompany the many illustrations (120) including some very rare structures.
All are very well illustrated and the final section contains a comprehensive gazeteer of surviving examples to visit throughout Britain.
My only criticism would be the Gazeteer lists site by structure type, whereas by geographical area would be more useful.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2008
Mike Osborne produces a refreshing set of defence structures in this book from Tempus. Sectioned into bit size chunks such as the RAF, navy etc it covers a multitude of areas. It is clear that Osbornes passion is the humble pillbox. A subject he covers nicely and the book also has a great section covering existing types. There are more in depth books out there but this one is especially well placed. Top Job.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2007
Expertly written, this book covers all the aspects of the Defence of Britain. It has some good pictorial evidence and I would agree that we have found a Wills successor. My only critasism is that in a book this size it is indeed impossible to adequately demonstrate everything, the chapter on airfields demonstrates that. No matter it wets the appitite!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
I'm always worried about buying my husband books like this mainly 'cos he professes to be a bit of an expert in the field and was involved in the Defence of Britain project for the Imperial War Museum a few years ago. However, I needn't have worried with this book! He's had his nose in it since it arrived and only occasionally looks up to say 'This is brilliant'! I know very little about the subject but anything that gets this reaction from my husband has to be good!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
A very indepth book and if you are into the defences of the UK in WW2 then you wouldnt go wrong buying this book.
Very interesting with a lot of black and white photos showing the different types of pillboxes/bunkers and defences found across the UK.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
A very comprehensive and in-depth book. For anyone 40 or under it makes you realise how close we actually were to WWIII. I wonder if most people we aware at the time. A great book!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
The book is interesting and covers a very wide range of structures. However whilst giving a good grounding the detail is a bit light and thus nothing is covered in real depth, but it is good for pointing you a direction so you can pursue investigation in more depth.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
An interesting and informative addition to anyone's collection. A comprehensive collection of photographs and text detail of the various kinds of military defensive buildings around the country .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
A very detailed account including WW2 defences
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
An excellent book throughout written by the leading authority on this subject today. A worthy following to Henry Will Pillboxes but covering more.Excellent, clear and informative a well researched volume.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)