Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2005
An excellent book. Test cricket terms, field placings, bowling, batting & umpiring are explained succinctly, intelligibly and with appropriate illustrations. Although I was a cricket fan before reading this book I now enjoy the game even more because I understand more about it.
4 stars though because of misnumbering of photos in some instances, some poor grammar and also because it now needs to be updated. A lot has happened since it was published and it would be good to see the statistics incorporated into a new edition.
It would also be lovely to have a companion book covering limited overs matches including 20-20.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2001
Simon Hughes cricket book really makes what at first seems a very complex game look very simple. With his explanation of all things great and small, I have not only become a follower of cricket at all levels but have also become accustomed to the finer details of what is indeed a game of great tactical depth. I would recommend this book to anyone starting out in the world of cricket or to anyone who wants to swot up. Simon Hughes has clearly passed on all his brilliance here in an attempt to gather more interest in cricket, especially in a younger age range, and, for me, he has succeeded tremendously!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2005
This is a very good, very clear book about the basics of cricket and cricket jargon. It is clearly written and well illustrated with a collection of excellent photographs that support the points being made.
While I would recommend this to anybody interested in cricket (and not already very familiar with the game), I do have a couple of reservations:
a) It is starting to look a little dated in places, for example it includes a number of tables, the ratings of the test playing nations, top wicket takers, top run scorers etc all based on 2002 figures.
b) The book focuses on test cricket rather than one-day cricket and was written before the advent of 20-20 cricket. Therefore, the book is weak on some of the jargon that is used in the one-day games.
Recommended, I just wish there was an updated version.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2002
Simon Hughes digs deep into the depths of his cricket knowledge in this fascinating book! I bought it as a follower, but not as an expert, and his book has helped me understand the game in much more detail. Expert analysis, coupled with diagrams and snapshopts, explain the game in detail without using too much jargon, which is really what I wanted.
I particularly enjoyed the information on batting, bowling and fielding, but the one thing I thought was missing from the book was a detailed look at captains tactics during game scenarios.
However, having read the book, i understand that its not really about that.
All in all, I would recommended it to all cricket followers, be them experts or mere beginners!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2001
This book is an excellent book for those with interest in the game but lacking in knowledge in some areas. I now know the difference between a googly and a chinaman. I have also had some fun challenging people to name the 11 ways of getting out.
All round this book helps fill in my gaps of my basic knowlege on the subject.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
Is exactly what its title says which is interesting enough. A major disappointment, however, is that all the examples used to illustrate cases are so dated. Should have noted more carefully the date of publication!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2002
This is cricket dissectated. Here Hughes explains everything you need know such as Yorkers, Full tosses, and the difference between a pull shot and hook. Brilliant from a man who has done it before and pleasure to understand the most complex of sports played today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
very enjoyable read, covers pretty much everything you need or want to know about test cricket. A fairly old book, so not mention of DRS etc, but a great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2005
this book is everything you need to know about cricket. It has pictures from recentish test matches, describes the changes over 5day test matches and tells you what happens to a cricket pitch over the course of a match.As the name suggests it explains every term of weird and wonderful terminology, because of this book i know what an agricultural shot is.I have got plenty of sports guides like this and this is the very best. All in all more than worthy of it's 5 stars
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2002
This is one of the best books you can get for cricket. It includes a glossary on cricket jargon, including all kinds of slang from, reverse sweeps to off brakes. It includes images of the game in play as well as field settings and chapters on every part of the game.
It is good reading for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)