Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book yet written about the James Bond films.
There have been a lot of books written about the James Bond films and phenomenon; I should know because I've read them all! That's why I feel uniquely qualified and very confident in saying that this latest book (written by the two gentlemen who produced the special edition James Bond DVDs) is without a doubt THE best book yet written about the James Bond films! If you're...
Published on 8 Oct 2002 by John Cox

versus
2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All presentation and no content
Oh dear, what a missed opportunity. The world of James Bond is fast and exciting, filled with exotic locations, beautiful women and evil villans. "The James Bond Legacy: Forty Years of 007 Movies" is a slow and dusty review and should be sealed and locked away for another forty years. It really is a sad plod through an exciting past. The book is presented with large...
Published on 5 Jan 2003 by Gornal Wolf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book yet written about the James Bond films., 8 Oct 2002
By 
John Cox (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
There have been a lot of books written about the James Bond films and phenomenon; I should know because I've read them all! That's why I feel uniquely qualified and very confident in saying that this latest book (written by the two gentlemen who produced the special edition James Bond DVDs) is without a doubt THE best book yet written about the James Bond films! If you're baffled as to which book to add to you movie library, look no further because here you will find information and photos that you will not find anywhere else.
What makes this book so good? Well, first off, it's HUGE in size! A great coffee table book to be sure. The graphic layout is extremely well done and all the films are given equal time (not the case with some of the other books which tend to fixate on the Connery era). Also, for the first time in any official publication, we have coverage of the two "unofficial" James Bond films: NEVER SAY NEVER AGAIN and CASINO ROYALE. Up until now these two "rogue" films have been missing from all official publications for legal reasons. JAMES BOND THE LEGACY is the first book to be published after MGM took ownership of these films, so now we are able to learn the fascinating stories of how they came to be made and, most interestingly, how they impacted and influenced the official series. Great stuff!
But what I like most about JAMES BOND THE LEGACY is how the authors look at each film within the historical context of when it was made. They focus not only on what was going on with the Bond producers at the time, but also what was going on in the world; what socio-political and even cinematic trends the Bond films were keying into. This really brings a new understanding to each film and helps explain why James Bond has endured while other "pop culture spies" (Matt Helm, Derek Flint, xXx J) failed to connect beyond their time and have long since disappeared. Most people think James Bond films are "all the same", but you will discover here that they are not. In this book I learned how throughout its amazing 20-year history the Bond filmmakers made subtle--and sometimes very bold--changes in the tone of the series and to the character of James Bond himself. This is much more than a simple look at the production and plot of each film, this is a major work on one of the most famous fictional characters of the 20th century. Oh, and the book also gives a detailed look at the new Bond movie, DIE ANOTHER DAY, with some pictures that lead me to believe this could be the best Bond movie of them all! This alone makes it stand above the rest as definitive.
JAMES BOND THE LEGACY is a must buy for all James Bond fans and anyone interested in 20th century popular culture. Again, if you buy just one book about James Bond, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double-o heaven, 8 Mar 2003
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
Merry Christmas,007! It took me a while (partially based on a slammer review here) to dive into reading this swollen tome of a book. Did someone say "no content"? Must be a SPECTRE plant. There is more in the way of untold stories buried between the glossy pictures than I ever expected to read! This is choice inside scoop on Bond, James Bond. I am a bit of an anorak when it comes to 007, and I am quick to say, "been there, done that" with books peddling more random trivia and plot synops from Bond films. This, in contrast,is a totally fresh take on my favorite spy. Ever heard of the James Bond riotin Boston, USA? Neither had I! There are literally dozens of tales that haven't been peddled before, and considering the truckloads published on Bond, that impressed me.
I became a fan in the late 70s (I know, the Moore films don't quite hold up for me either), but this book wasn't written like I had never seen the films. I concentrates on how Bond became popular and why he's stayed popular.It is a great story, filled with real spies and oodles swish photos from the films.
Negatives? The writers go pretty light on some of the stinkers of the series. You get the feeling they were under MI6 orders not to let loose. (But then my sister goes ga-ga over Octopussy, so there's no accounting for taste.) Also, more expensive that an EasyJet flight to almost anywhere. Glad I have a generous wife! All in all, just the best book on Bond not written by Ian Fleming. If you like the Bond films, I recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 007 "you know the rest......", 16 Oct 2002
By 
david butcher (Northampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
Well this book goes on to prove that you don't!
A very well writtern definative work on the franchise but also a social history of the last forty years . The book serves as a useful reminder as to how the films very carefully reflected the feeling and moods of the last four decades.
The collection of photographs is stunning. Unusually unlike some of the other Bond books they have not just relied on the publicity photos from EON, UA or MGM. This together with the page layout and graphics makes this book a treat. I have convinced a number of my friends to buy this and think that it will appear in a number of Christimas stockings for both the old and new Bond fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond - The Legacy, 20 May 2003
By 
P D STEVENS (, Frodsham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
This is THE book on Bond and it is not just a repeat of the films and their plots.The book works on two levels - firstly as the Bondology - the actors, actresses, locations ,dates, box office takings etc with information about how the Fleming books were turned into the films, how the actors/actresses were chosen, how the sets were designed as well as the the cars and the gadgets.
Secondly the book puts the Bond films into a 'historical' context and examines the impact they have had on the culture, fashion and art of the last 40 years. Ian Fleming would be amazed at the influence that his hero has had.
Rereading Fleming's books or books about the films is nostalgic with memories of school times when early Bond books were discussed and passed around surreptiously (these were the days when parents and teachers did not approve of such material!)and also viewing 'Dr No' for the first time at the cinema. 'Dr No' changed adventure/spy films for ever with its new style, classy women , cars and action scenes. There may be more media hype and expenditure now for a new Bond film but they were just as eagerly awaited after 'Dr No'. The book captures the excitement of the early struggles to start filming and explains the difficulties of getting the films made.
The book describes the historical and social context in which the films were made as well as the legal battles to protect the Bond image. The context is an aspect often overlooked and makes this book more than just another Bond book. It explains the challenges of the scriptwriters , who having run out of Fleming novels had to provide plots in tune with the times, no mean challenge with the end of the Cold War. The plots have often struck a chord of realism as evidenced by how upset the North Koreans were after 'Die Another Day'. John Cork and Bruce Scivally have done their homework and this book can be thoroughly recommended to all enthusiasts of Bond films and those who want to know the history of the films and the reasons why and how they came to play such a large part in popular culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In many ways a splendid book, 20 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
This is, in many ways, a splendid celebration of the 40th anniversary of the James Bond movies. It's a terrific coffee table book and the photographs are excellent, even if many have been published before. But one could've hoped for more coverage of the man who created it all - Ian Fleming - and a little more passion in the text: sometimes the book reads like the dry annual report of some multinational corporation and for that reason I'm docking a star. But maybe I'm just quibbling because the book is a handsome publication by any measure. Is is worth thirty quid? That's between you and your bank manager... A good read, all things considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benchmark for Future Tomes, 1 Oct 2002
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
Marvellous! Both as a book and a Q-Branch weapon! Seriously, this book is both a must read for the 007 fanatic, and a smashing present for those who just tune in on a bank holiday afternoon. The prose is both concise, yet interesting, charting the rise of both Fleming's books, and the more famous Film series.Marrying, as it does, both behind the scenes trivia, and placing the Bonds into the changing times of the past 40 years.
A superbly designed book, it contains a wealth of rare, and little seen, photographs from early Fleming publicity shots,right up to Die Another Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
I can't recommend this book enough. I loved the background info on various films. It's really well written and it takes up the whole coffee table. It's huge!!! In time I'd hope there will be an updated edition perhaps when more Bond flicks are produced. As it stands it goes up to Die Another Day. It's really worth buying for any Bond fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars James Bond - The Legacy., 11 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Bevan (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
This is A mighty big book with plenty of big Bond pictures but it is very heavy so rest it on a table or you will be shaken and unable to stir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The name's James Bond..The Legacy., 21 April 2011
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
This book is genuinely brilliant.
It provides detailed and in-depth insights into the world of OO7, and is a very thorough effort from the authors John Cork & Bruce Scivally.

It depicts the birth and growth of James Bond as a media revolution, and also gives never-before-seen insights into Ian Fleming, his books and his private life.
Also, the difficulty of finding a new actor to play Bond is explained, along with an analysis of every actor to have played James Bond so far.

If you're looking for a visually exciting, deeply informative, insightful & interesting look into OO7's universe, look no further. This book is outstanding.

I've given this 5 stars, and deservedly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Factoids! Gorgeous Pictures, 19 Oct 2009
By 
S. Newby "Sooz" (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond - The Legacy (Hardcover)
Excellent book. Full of great full colour and black and white photos. Writing is superb. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond - The Legacy
James Bond - The Legacy by Bruce Scivally (Hardcover - 20 Sep 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews