Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seeind Red, 14 Jun 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollyoaks:Seeing Red (PB): Seeing Red No. 5 (Phil Redmond's Hollyoaks) (Paperback)
This book tells the story of the Hollyoaks character Lisa Hunter, and looks at her problem of self harm. Being a self harmer myself I was looking forward to reading this book. I had hoped that would allow fans of Hollyoaks to find out more about the character of Lisa, and discover things about her which have not been shown on the show. I was a little disappointed to see that the book was only really the script from Hollyoaks written in story form. I had hoped that readers would find out more about her past, and times she had cut herself we had not seen on tv. If you missed any of the episodes relating to this storyline then this is the book for you, as it will fill in the blanks. I found the ending disappointing too, as it seemed to have too much of an 'and they lived happily ever after' feel to it. One good thing is that right at the begining of the book there is a page explaining how self harm is not an attention seeking condition followed by a list of helplines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read heart-wrenching and realistic, 7 July 2005
this book is a must read for a hollyoaks fan. this book takes an in depth look at how Luke feels after his rape ordeal. Benyon shows this brilliantly. The book helps us understand what goes on in his mind. when he is trying to come to terms with his ordeal its really very heart breaking, since he keeps blaming himself for what Mark had done to him. And as he falls deeper and deeper into his pain his family and friends seem to be slipping away from him and they won't listen when he tries to confide them especially Mandy and his mum while she tries to sort out Zara. As he suffers in silence and wonders if he should tell someone, the reader or atleast when i read it i felt an urge to hug him and look after him cause thats what he needs. A the end luke seemd to come out stronger rather than weaker. and its clear that he will be a character hard to forget. BRILLIANTLY written handling the issue with alot of much needed sensitvity and simply would not have been the same if it hadn't been handled in this way. anyone who has never liked hollyoaks should give it a read and you might be surprised at how much you like it. TERRIFC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real, 6 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollyoaks:Seeing Red (PB): Seeing Red No. 5 (Phil Redmond's Hollyoaks) (Paperback)
'Seeing Red' deals with Lisa Hunter's battle against self-harm in a delicate but real way. The book is accessable for people who have never watched the TV soap or who are already fans. The book is one of the best fiction books around for young people tackling the issue of self-harm. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be better!, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: Hollyoaks:Seeing Red (PB): Seeing Red No. 5 (Phil Redmond's Hollyoaks) (Paperback)
This book is a brilliant way to re-cap the self-harm storyline on Hollyoakes. My only slight problem was that some things were changed from what happened on TV, so it was left me wondering if I'd missed a really important episode! It explains why Lisa felt the only way she could release her pain was by bleeding it out and told from her perspective, it allows non-cutters a way in to the brain of self-harmers. Should be read by anyone who self-harms, their friends and family, and anyone interested in this storyline. After all, the TV can't show what Lisa is thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This is a must have for any Holyoaks fan. You see how Lukes life is changed by various events and one major one in particular. I started to read it and couldn`t put it down. I want a follow up book now, so I can read more about Lukes life after the court case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Hollyoaks fans!, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Luke's secret diary is about how Luke Morgan and his family cope with a life changing event. Luke's life is turned upside down in just a few seconds. This story is about a normal teenager how is only interested in football and girls espically Mandy. See how he has to cope with the biggest change likly to ever happen to him. Follow the everyday life of Luke Morgan in his diary. This book is for all Hollyoaks fans and young adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely terrific , heart- wrenching and Realistic, 7 July 2005
By A Customer
This book is brilliant! The way Benyon shows u an in depth look at how Luke was feels. i couldn't put the book down and read it within one night.The types of feelings luke had almost made me cry. and as mandy and everyone else seemed to be slipping away from him made it harder for us not to cry as he was on his own and totally trapped in a world of suffering as we read him suffering we instantly get the urge give him a hug. the transformation from cocky teenager to rape victim was totally believable. from the begginning to the end you'd find it hard to dislike in anyway. somehow i feel that luke becomes stronger at the end than throughout tha beginning of the book. i feel that it will be hard to top it. if u are a hollyoaks fan u will love it and even if u dont like hollyoaks read it you might justget a surprise at how much u like it. one of the best books from hollyoaks i have ever read.
And definitely the most dramatic! must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving., 12 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollyoaks:Seeing Red (PB): Seeing Red No. 5 (Phil Redmond's Hollyoaks) (Paperback)
This book follows Lisa Hunter's struggle with her way of dealing with her problems. Self Harm. It follows the events that led her to self harming. Anyone who is gripped by the current self harming storyline in hollyoaks should definately read this. It is a very moving story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
A Story of how a much-loved cocky teenager with everything going right for him is turned upside down by one person. You will laugh and cry but every Hollyoaks fan should have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I think that this is such a heart-warming tale of Luke Morgan, who is innocent, but is still picked on. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollyoaks:Seeing Red (PB): Seeing Red No. 5 (Phil Redmond's Hollyoaks)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews