Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAREFUL!
Unless you are familiar with this collection of books, make sure you are prepared for the content. I have to say this is the BEST present anyone has ever bought me. It is the perfect thing to bring out at family gatherings or parties - much better that anything on television. The only problem is that nobody dares to read parts out loud. This book has had every in my...
Published on 15 Feb 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars feedback
Pleased with the book but wasn't entirely pleased with the actual cover, mainly the back cover which I had to wipe clean had brown sticky marks on outside and in.
Published 6 months ago by beverley jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAREFUL!, 15 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
Unless you are familiar with this collection of books, make sure you are prepared for the content. I have to say this is the BEST present anyone has ever bought me. It is the perfect thing to bring out at family gatherings or parties - much better that anything on television. The only problem is that nobody dares to read parts out loud. This book has had every in my family in stitches and I'm sure it will with you too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mummy what's a 'scousers laptop'?, 9 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. M. A. Manning "mark35116" (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
A genuinely masterful work of great depth. For everyone who is unaware of what exactly a 'chodbin' is, or what the 'merthyr socialite' gets up to... but no clue as to what a 'cleveland steamer' truly might be! Every home should have this, as an antidote to the davinci code or a channel 4 home improvement book. This book is one of the reasons why Britain might still be referred to as GGGGGGRRRRRREEEEEEAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTT, at least by Tony the Tiger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profanely Funny!, 5 Dec 2005
By 
D. H. Rose "Rosey" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
This book will make you laugh so much that your ribs ache!You'll find definitions on every page that not only grab your imagination but also cause you to burst out laughing so much that you become breathless.
It's the sort of book you , genuinely, cannot put down.Not to be given to your easily offended maiden aunt but it WILL be read not only by the recipient but EVERY member of his/her family.
It appeals to all ages and sexes and it is interesting to note which definition appeals to whom. Ideal present for 19 year old son or even elder brother who is in his 70's.
Get a copy soon and give your ribs some exercise!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good work!, 29 Aug 2007
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
It is probably little-known that no other language contains more obscenity than English. In fact, 0.39% of the words appearing in the Oxford English Dictionary were deemed 'lewd' by a recent Government enquiry. The publishers of Viz have been tireless in their efforts to categorise the full diversity of English execration and this is the superb result of their ongoing efforts. It is unlikely that a more thorough attempt has been made to transcribe potty-mouthed vocabulary since Doctor Samuel Johnson's four-volume 'Lexicon of Ribaldry'. Regarded as the Holy Grail of profane scholarship, the manuscript (as reported by James Boswell) never came to light and is believed to have been destroyed by gypsies.

Anyway, I learned plenty here and I now employ words other than *@#& and *$@& - even when drinking among unemployables at 'The Swan and Anchor'! However, as well as many unusual expressions, one finds detailed definitions of more common terms. For example, @#%$%*ing is defined as the process of licking $%&@# (sometimes called %$@*#) from a $*#@$ or from an *%$# (which is, amusingly, sometimes known as a *&@#%!).

Among the less familiar words are a handful that have been taken from foreign languages and adopted into our own tongue. Surprisingly, the Germans have a verb for the act of *#@$%ing a Grandmother's $%*@#$ while having a *$#@ inserted into one's &*#@ by a transgendered dwarf with an unusually hairy #*@$. Apparently $*%@&$@#*%&?#%@&*%#&?@$&@#&$*$%*&# is the longest known word for an obscene act (at 36 characters!). Strangely, despite common usage, it has yet to be officially accepted into the English language by the $*%@&$@#*%&?#%@&*%#&?@$&@#&$*$%*&#ers who produce the Oxford English Dictionary.

(note from Amazon.co.uk- this review has been censored in accordance with the stringent measures that are in place to prevent ALL vulgarity from appearing in customer reviews)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 30 Oct 2005
By 
Dominic Hosler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
My dad got the Viz "Roger's profanisaurus" last christmas, since then our family has incorporated some of the funnier phrases into our conversations. "Viz presents Roger's Profanisaurus Rex" is even better, with double the words and phrases, it really has lots to offer. Some of the definitions are almost as hard to understand as the phrase itself, but with a little thought and maybe some cross reference looking up, the joke is even funnier for the delay!
An amazing collection, with hundreds of words to describe just the one thing. Using this book as guidance, you can really have some descriptive and comical conversations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears of laughter guaranteed, 13 Jan 2007
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
Despite the best efforts of the legions of far-left PC fascists that reign over us, there is still (thankfully) a large and resiliant cohort of men (like me) with a puerile sense of humour, who will stalwartly get together and laugh heartily whilst sharing and coining beautifully inane tit and bum gags, endearing terms of abuse, and laughing with tears of joy until our bones ache.

Those poor illiberal sods who are unlucky not to be a member of this bawdy band of brothers, will look down upon us scornfully for giggling when we say "I'm off to't bog, mi back teeth are drownin'" or indulging in belching and farting competitions. We must pity them, for they shall never know the unspeakable rapture of the pure uncensored joy of laughing 'til your face hurts just by saying or reading a naughty word or phrase.

If people don't join in and just sit their tutting and looking at you with disdain and bemusement whilst you're rolling around thumping the floor in contorted laughter just from saying the word "Spangle"; just remember that they can never know your joy, and must be pitied. Those of them who call you names, are just jealous.

I bought this book when I was feeling depressed... rather than reach for a jar of pills, I reached for this book and was weeping with laughter within 8 seconds.

My wife doesn't understand - but whose does?!

This book is to be enjoyed like a cigerette behind the bike sheds... I'll be sending in my additions as soon as I can... and I can't wait for the next edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, brilliantly executed, 9 May 2006
By 
M. Appleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
For those who don't read Viz, the Profanisaurus is a recent bolt-on suppliment committed to bringing its readers the very latest in cutting-edge curses. The Profanisaurus Rex is a compilation of these suppliments.

I don't know what made me laugh more: the swears themselves, or the beatifully eloquent OED-style prose used to define them. This book is like a sculpture of some diseased internal organ fashioned out of rose-petals (yes, the content may offend) and it's all the better for it.

Don't take it too seriously (the authors certainly haven't!) and laugh until you have breathing and continence difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I didn't find this funny, 10 Jan 2006
By 
Paul Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
I'm sure it's a sign that I'm not growing up and I really should be by now, but I can't help but find this hilarious. Compiled from the pages of Viz, this is the ultimate collection of swear words and phrases, many of which you never knew existed.
Now I can't use my real dictionary without first having looked up one or two rude words, so this really is like strawberries to an elephant. It is extremely well put together with some of the explanations just genius with them using mis-quoted celebrities and extremely funny takes on old novels such as the Jeeves & Wooster series.
If you are easily offended you obviously should not bother with this, but if you don't take offense, but still would not normally bother with Viz style humour I would urge you to re-consider. A lot of it is very clever.
One fun thing to do with it is find someone who's e-mail system filters for swear words, then pass an entertaining hour firing e-mails at the system with words and phrases from this book. An excellent way to pass time (and annoy your friends!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For grown up kids..., 27 May 2012
By 
Emmster "the book wurme" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
Juvenile? yes. Vulgar? yes. Crude? certainly. Sexist? nope. Funny? oh god yes....and, in places, utterly, utterly hilarious.

Anyone who was once a twittering teenage virgin will be able to find at least a handful of entries to amuse them. Anyone who appreciates smutty, sexual humour won't be disappointed.

This isn't a book you'll read from cover to cover, like the other Viz material. You'll dip into it now and again, searching for that killer entry to send you into immediate fits of laughter and leave you chuckling for the rest of the day. I've worked in two offices where this was a reference text (in amongst the IT manuals), to be pulled out every now and again for a "reading from the good book".

Lookup "the jesters toes"and "the director's cut" as starters for 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 18 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary (Hardcover)
I bought this for my daughters partner and he says it is one of the best presents he has ever had. (Poor lad)
We have had loads and loads of laughs at some of the profaniy quotes.
This is not for the faint hearted and you do need to be very open minded to read this adult book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7623780)

This product

Roger's Profanisaurus Rex: From the Pages of "Viz", the Ultimate Swearing Dictionary
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews