Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who ate all the PIE-thagoras?
It's nice to write this review to the backdrop of news coverage of Britain's new coalition because, just like the new Con-Dem government, 'The Geometry of Pasta' is a collaboration. And while many are still skeptical about how the parliamentary one will work out, I'm pleased to report that chef Jacob Kennedy and graphic designer Caz Hildebrand's book is a cast-iron...
Published on 12 May 2010 by Colin J. Herd

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great for what it was but limited and hoped for ...
Great for what it was but limited and hoped for actual instructions on how to make the pasta shapes. Interesting but not really cook book unless you want sauces galore.
Published 23 days ago by carly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
Wonderful book. The recipes really work and are delicious - best spinach and ricotta ravioli I have had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 11 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
I really like it - the design is a bit marmite but I like it a lot and the recipes work well (but sorry to the chef that's too much salt in the cooking water for me)
Well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 12 April 2011
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
This a an amazingly-well designed and very well written book.
I've tried a couple of the recipes and they tasted brilliant, but in all honesty, I plan on keeping the book away from the kitchen - don't want to get the white covered in bolognese sauce as this is a true collectible.
If you love minimalist design and Italian food, this is the book for you. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pasta Primo, 24 May 2010
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
This is an unusual and cleverly designed book about none other than pasta and the sauces and ingredients that bring it to life. Who knew there could be over 300 shapes of pasta? You won't find all 300 featured, but you will find a hefty amount of pasta dripping with excellent information about it packed into 288 pages.

For those of you looking to move on from Spaghetti Bolognese to something a bit more groovy, this book hits the spot.

Stylish - yes
Original - yes
Pictures - no

...which is the sole reason why I gave the book 4 stars. Although the line drawings are arty and fabulous, I still like to see exactly what a piece of pansotti or maltagliati is supposed to look like. Sometimes it is hard to make the imaginary leap from a line drawing. A full review can be read on the cookbook blog, Culinaria Libris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars At least what I can save are the nice illustrations., 31 Mar. 2015
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
I can't read any further a book about pasta when I find a recipe with ketchup. I am referring to Alfabeto with Ketchup. Authors should be put in jail for the rest of their life. Anyway don't take this review too seriously. At least what I can save are the nice illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best designed book I have ever seen, 12 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
Do not be fooled when buying this book it is not so much as a cook book but more a book on the science of cooking pasta and what pasta goes with what sauce. I am not saying this book has no recipes it has recipes usually a couple of recipes per type of pasta, having only tried a few recipes I cannot give you an in depth review of each however I can say that the recipes I have tried are more aimed at the family cook rather than the cook who intends to impress everyone with his gourmet style cooking.

the book is laid out in such a way that you can pick it up and flick to a page and delve into a slight history of that pasta and information on it, on top of this it is definitely one of the best presented books I have set my eyes upon and is a book every cook should own regardless of skill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Geometry of Pasta, 30 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
It is disappointing that there are not more illustrations of the pasta shapes. I was hoping for more extensive scientific/mathematical explanations of why the pasta does what it does with the sauces. However, the recipes, which I was not expecting, are a bonus and I am hoping that by giving the book as a present to my husband he will be encouraged to cook for me. Don't buy this book for anybody who doesn't cook; as a reading experience, unless you apply it to practical action, it is a bit of swizz. (For younger readers swizz=contraction of swizzle=slang for swindle or cheat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Geometry of pasta, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
i use the book almost as a compendium of pasta. it certainly frustrates my supplier on the specific description of pasta i want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overrated !!! Over hyped !!!, 16 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Pasta (Hardcover)
I would return this book for a refund if it had not been so cheap (the cost of postage back to amazon would be a large percentage of the price). 1) It purports to go through and show you all the different shapes of pasta. It does list about 100, but these are inexplicably illustrated in very dark and heavy ink prints - in most illustrations it is impossible to get a real idea of what the pasta actually looks like, not a 3D in any case. Why not use pictures of actual pasta?? Maybe too expensive to add colour printed pictures or do the entire book in a glossy paper. 2) Very limited and quite standard recipes. (not just the sauces or fillings but also just standard pasta dough - what about flavoured/coloured doughs - e.g. spinach - or wine pasta (substitute half the eggs with white wine))

I own a bit over 300 cookbooks now and this one I would rank very close to the bottom. There are many more pure pasta cookbooks that are much better (e.g. The Essential Pasta Cookbook - it only illustrates 50 pastas (I counted), but they are clear colour photographs so you can actually see what the pasta looks like). Even Italian cookbooks not focused on pasta do a better job and definitely give you better recipes.

The fact that this book is touted by celebrity chefs must be down to personal contacts of the authors or the talents of a good PR at the publishers.

So if you want to add a cheap cookbook with free delivery to your collection, by all means, but if you have more than a handfull of cookbooks, you probably will not be using it all that much.

I don't write a lot of reviews, but was so disappointed by this that I was moved to submit one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Geometry of Pasta
The Geometry of Pasta by Caz Hildebrand (Hardcover - 7 May 2010)
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews