Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius
You have to work in an office to really appreciate Scott Adams, if you do then the cartoons here will mean something to you as the stupidity of office life is reflected with brilliant accuracy. Every one is a gem and no wonder it is a rare office that does not have a fair few Dilbert cartoons stuck up on the noticeboards.
The only thing that holds this back from...
Published on 25 Nov 2003 by Nick Brett

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to the clever comedy?
I read this book after reading a Dilbert compilation from ten years earlier, and my, what a difference. Gone are the clever twists at the end of each cartoon, and instead there is just a single level point made - in many cases these just give a feeling of "what?" It's almost like these are written by a different author - is that possible - the strips are being farmed...
Published on 27 Mar 2009 by G. M. Phillips


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 25 Nov 2003
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You have to work in an office to really appreciate Scott Adams, if you do then the cartoons here will mean something to you as the stupidity of office life is reflected with brilliant accuracy. Every one is a gem and no wonder it is a rare office that does not have a fair few Dilbert cartoons stuck up on the noticeboards.
The only thing that holds this back from getting 5 stars is that it is not new stuff but an updated collection, and that a non office based audience may not appreciate this as much.
Having said that, Mr Adams is a genius and we are not worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dilbert book, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Alice M. Kinsella (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dilbert: Thriving on Vague Objectives (Paperback)
This was bought as a present for a friend who loves it alot. It was in very good condition and arrived as said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Dilbert: Words you don't want to hear during your annual appraisal, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant! Just what you've come to expect from the master of office politics. What more can I say. Another for my top shelf of best reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on!, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: Dilbert: Thriving on Vague Objectives (Paperback)
As usual Scott Adams takes Dilbert's world an makes many relevant statements aoubt modern objective setting. If you enjoy these and laugh at them then perhaps you'll spot it happening negatively in your organisation and step in to do it right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 29 April 2004
By 
J. Maher (Rochdale , Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book came across Dilbert when doing a management module for my Unicourse in a OB textbook! Fantastic and enlighting insight into the stupid corporate world!
Simply Genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to the clever comedy?, 27 Mar 2009
By 
G. M. Phillips "goldhart" (In a deep dark cave) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book after reading a Dilbert compilation from ten years earlier, and my, what a difference. Gone are the clever twists at the end of each cartoon, and instead there is just a single level point made - in many cases these just give a feeling of "what?" It's almost like these are written by a different author - is that possible - the strips are being farmed out to other writers without the inherent wit of Scott Adams? I can recall in one of the books, Scott Adams revealed his principles of comedy writing - that any joke ought to have two items, cuteness, meanness, etc - but the strips in this book don't meet that criteria, there's just a single mildly amusing event, no cutting point. The Sunday strips which are longer are still pretty good, but the daily ones suffer from a severe quality problem. My advice is to buy the earlier books, before about 1998, because by this time - I think the book dates from 2004 - the comedy value has severely dropped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great1, 6 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. A. D. Lackie "Adam" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You like Dilbert ?
Why are you reading this review ?
Just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dilbert: Things You Don't Want to Hear During Your Annual..., 19 Jan 2004
Very good, hilarious...
Collection of Dilbert comic strips..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dilbert: Thriving on Vague Objectives
Dilbert: Thriving on Vague Objectives by Scott Adams (Paperback - 2 Dec 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews