Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious, but fun too
As a Little Hultoner (home of the Happy Mondays), whose mother now uses one of the Hacienda's Alvar Aaalto stools when she does her decorating (see chapter 34), this 'novelisation' has a particular resonance for me and I suspect many others in the 30-45 age group. I found it unputdownable and frequently hilarious. Each chapter is brief so you can rattle through it at a...
Published on 8 April 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This is pretty much the script for the film 24 Hour Party People. I was expecting a bit more depth to the book. If you have seen the film and enjoyed it, there isn't really much else here. Just watch the film again!
Published 23 months ago by Paully Palmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious, but fun too, 8 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
As a Little Hultoner (home of the Happy Mondays), whose mother now uses one of the Hacienda's Alvar Aaalto stools when she does her decorating (see chapter 34), this 'novelisation' has a particular resonance for me and I suspect many others in the 30-45 age group. I found it unputdownable and frequently hilarious. Each chapter is brief so you can rattle through it at a fair old pace. Even though Wilson says its very much an unreliable memoir what does come through is a curious kind of integrity. I say curious because everyone I've met who's worked with Wilson says he's a slippery SOB - but, as the book often illustrates, part of that could be typical Manc deprecation. Anyhow, in spite of all that, well done Wilson, Erasmus, Gretton, New Order et al for doing something for your own city and defying London and the barbarous forces of capitalism. Unfortunately, capitalism caught up with them in the end, as it usually does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madchester Rave On!, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. C. Horner "hierath" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
Self-deprecating humour and a light touch even when dealing with tragic events run through Tony Wilsons semi-fictionalised account of the rise, insane highs, and crashing fall of the Factory Records Empire. As skewed and eccentric as a Happy Mondays lyric, if you weren't there at the time, this memoir will make you wish you were. If you were there, you probably won't remember much of it anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Manchester (Enough Said), 2 May 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "fact275" (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
As a wannabee Manc, New Order fan, I've read almost everything I can get my hands on about Joy Division, New Order, or Factory (Ideal for Living, Unknown Pleasures & Wayward Distractions, Touching from a Distance), but this book goes down as one of the best ever written about the subject. Though the book is presented as a novelisation of the movie of the same name (and features little outtakes where Wilson sets the record straight in scenes), it becomes apparent late on in the book that probably most of what is written happened in some shape or form. The book is written almost as a series of anecdotes, and that's fine because each anecdote is not easily forgotten: Peter Saville's inability to do any project on time; Rob Gretton meeting Mike Pickering as they hide from Manchester United supporters; Rob Gretton trying to beat the pulp out of Wilson for his financial excesses; Shaun Ryder stealing everything in Eddy Grant's Barbados studio to buy crack...
But this book is more about just Factory or its bands. It's about the regeneration of Manchester. In this way, it's a perfect compliment to Dave Haslam's "Manchester: Story of a Pop Cult City." Somehow, through all the bad business acumen, Wilson, Gretton, New Order, and others somehow had enough artistic and aesthetic sense to kick start a complete change in attitude in the city and its people. Though the Hacienda is now gone, like the Big Bang, the cosmic radiation it set off is still there to be felt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic history of Factory from Tony Wilson. At last!, 1 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
I've been dying to read this, and I wasn't disappointed - it's a very funny, infuriating, one-sided, confusing, semi-autobiography. Tony Wilson ran Factory Records and the Hacienda, and seems to spend most of his time popping up on TV annoying people these days. He was a pivotal figure in the Manchester music scene, launching Joy Division, New Order and the Happy Mondays.
24-Hour Party People is partly based on the film of the same name, and it's hard to tell what's fact and what's fiction (but I like that). Wilson's style is very idiosyncratic, but he's always amusing and has some great stories. Amazingly, he's never written his autobiography, and this book is as much about what he calls the real heroes of the story - Ian Curtis, Martin Hannett, Shaun Ryder etc as it is about him. It's a unique insight into music history, and made me wonder just how much he's deliberately left unsaid.
Some beautiful pictures too - nice to see the iconic Factory posters and Kevin Cummins photography again.
An absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After his death, what a shame AND what a triumph . . ., 18 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Sk Motee "Sach Motee" (Manchester,, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
I can assure you that you should own this book if you wish to learn about the relevance and importance of the ownership of culture that Wilson helped Manchester garner. I would however warn you that Wilson was aware of myth building. He has left much out and embellished much left in. I would point out that Mick Middles journalistic style is worth being checking out for the truth (in partic, From Joy Division to New Order), and the most amazing story of Manchester, the U.K's most revolutionary and cultural city. Maybe an annotated version should now be released?
I write this a week after Wilsons shocking death. The last time I felt as affected was at the death of John Peel. You dont realise the wonder of anything/body until it has gone. Truly, Wilson was a man who knew his roots. Loved his roots. Loved his music and his fellow man/c.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and hilarious, 9 Jun 2014
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
I happened to be living in Manchester when the Haçienda opened in 1982. Still have my 'credit card' membership as a matter of fact. It is true that the club was frequently empty in those days. Empty and cold. Saw a few decent bands there though including The Fall. Never was much of a New Order fan but loved Joy Div. Moved away from Manc in 84 so missed the acid house years.
Anyway - to business. This book is great 10/10. It goes off on a lot of weird tangents.... historical facts, literary allusion... that kind of thing. I actually think it's quite deep. The anecdotes are frequently hilarious. I don't really care how much of it is fact v fiction. It's hard to believe that 'successful' people could make this many mistakes.... but the stories about the running of the club are jaw-dropping in their ineptitude. Best to read the Peter Hook book for the complete Haçienda story... but this is a very good book. Top marks to whoever wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
This is pretty much the script for the film 24 Hour Party People. I was expecting a bit more depth to the book. If you have seen the film and enjoyed it, there isn't really much else here. Just watch the film again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars facing wonderful, facing heaven, facing all, 10 Mar 2002
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
i approached this book with some trepidation. a novelisation of a film about factory records? aw, come on. anyway it had a nice cover and i always make a point of judging books by the cover so i bought a copy. and it's fantastic. too sussed to be nostalgia but while readng it those old acr, jd,no, and stockholm monsters tunes were ringing through my ears. the anecdotes are excruciating and hilarious. especially wilsons ill-fated london trip to interview conservative cabinet member george younger. and the one with the pigeons. also the one with rob gretton attacking wilson over the $80,000 suspended board table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The work of a genius., 9 April 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
...This book acts as a counterbalance to the rather splendid film. Which is good because there were some terrible elements to the film (the Ian Curtis suicide,the stupid town crier scene ,the film version of joy division miming to the studio versions & forgetting about new order for the most part after 'Blue Monday'- when it was that band that basically run Factory/Hacienda etc). Plus lots of things were simplified for todays target audience, reared on drivel like 'Human Traffic' & 'Trainspotting'. As with the film, Wilson's "novelisation" of the screeenplay takes a postmodern look at 'Wilson'- which makes this very enjoyable to read. I felt a lot better about the film having read it (the soundtrack is still severely average though- no 'Think About the Future'? Doh!!!). Wilson convincingly tells us about his love for Manchester & his co-partners Alan Erasmus & the late Rob Gretton are presented with affection... The Ian Curtis bits are very good and together with 'Nothing', the sleevenotes to 'Heart & Soul' & 'Touching from a Distance' gives us another of the multiplicity of truths. There is more of the humour surrounding JD here than the photos & records & final act suggest- pity the film couldn't have undercut the serious performance with the bin on head or the Liverpool punk p***ing in a sink. Wilson was integral to Manchester's renaissance-captured for the middle classes in 'Cold Feet' and the development of Madchester... Martin Hannett comes out of this better than the film- though the records he produced were genius (during reading i got out me battered 7" of 'Everything's Gone Green', Durutti's 'LC', 'Heart & Soul', 'Power,Corruption & Lies' & 'Substance'). It's a quick read-but you'll want to read it again (soon). Only a few quibbles- John Cale's production of the 1st Mondays album is looked over- as is The Stone Roses (who Hooky produced). I'd have liked a longer version- mixing up the recording of 'Technique' & 'Yes Please!' is as irritating as in the film. And while 'Getting Away With It' is a great pop song, it's also a pretty obvious rip-off of 'Love My Way' by the Psychedelic Furs. I do buy Barney Sumner as great producer though- 'Thieves Like Us' is the best song ever. So, this is what happens with philosophy & pop collide- we get lots of silly decisions & great mistakes... And Wilson gives a knowing nod to Daniel Miller & Depeche Mode- who were as important as New Order in influencing American-house & techno (derrick may etc.) It's a great book, one that is set to a backdrop of music I love & have grown up with, there are quite a few laugh-out loud moments (the Nazi connotations of ACR's Scout get-up cut down by their drummer-Donald Johnson- being black. Very absurd & silly!!). Good to see the misquote from 'The Face' put right-though I would have liked to have seen the NME-hack who coined the "Ian Curtis died for you" ribbed a little. Yes, Fac424 is a must-purchase & Tony Wilson is on of those great British figures - the missing link between Richard Madeley & Raymond Williams (perhaps). And he should have signed The Smiths!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How much of it is actually true?, 29 April 2005
By 
Mr. A. Brown (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People (Paperback)
The front cover declares "what the sleeve notes never tell you", as if the book blows the cover on the secrets of Factory Records and the Hacienda. Nothing could really be further from the truth.
Here we have Tony Wilson writing a novelisation of the film of the same name, in which he was the main character (played by Steve Coogan). He did not write the film, someone else did. So why write this book? Why does the only man who can tell us real truth choose to write something like this?
Had this book been written to accompany the film, it might have been great. The novel could have read just the same, but in the style of George Macdonald Fraser's "Flashman" books, a series of endnotes pointing out the truths and lies would have worked wonders.
In its present form it is pointless, and it leaves a whole generation of clubbers and dance music fans wondering what really happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 Hour Party People
24 Hour Party People by Tony Wilson (Paperback - 8 Mar 2002)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews