Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the new investor
You can read all of the other "How to Invest" books on the market, but if you're new to the investment world, they might confuse you. The Motley Fool, though, will give you a great start in a fun, less serious tone...and one that can make investing profitable and enjoyable.
After reading several "Internet Investment guides" I was beginning to...
Published on 18 Aug. 2000

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother if you have access to the website
I love the Fool site and all that it stands for, but to be honest, I don't reckon that it is worth getting this book if you have access to the website and are able to give it a good browse. There was nothing in the book that hadn't been covered on the site already. If I were to recommend one of the fool books, I'd say it would be worth it to rather go straight on to the...
Published on 25 Sept. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the new investor, 18 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
You can read all of the other "How to Invest" books on the market, but if you're new to the investment world, they might confuse you. The Motley Fool, though, will give you a great start in a fun, less serious tone...and one that can make investing profitable and enjoyable.
After reading several "Internet Investment guides" I was beginning to think that you either have to be exceptionally boring, or overly technical to write anything about investing and the internet. I was glad to find The Motley Fool Oline Investment Guide. It is fresh and interesting, even humorous at times.
I enjoyed the book and have put several of the ideas into practice. It's an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, 23 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
I bought a copy of the boom at the weekend (not from Amazon, so I paid full price). The content is amazing!
I am new to investing, and also relatively new to the internet, and wanted a good UK based guide rather than the US ones that seem to be about.
The book is informative, clear and concise. It takes away the 'mystique' of surfing the net for information, and gives plenty of helpful tips,advice and knowledgeable comments. It is hard to single out one particular chapter as there is something for everyone.
The loadsalinks in the appendix is worth buying the book for - despite the fact that this is also updated and listed on the Fool website too, indeed the book should be bought because they also have loadsalinks on their website for free! But the book is so much more than just a list of links (this takes up about 2 pages out of 200).
I would recommend this book wholeheartedly to both newcomers investing and to the internet, and I am sure it would also be great for old experienced investors trying to discover about this new medium.
The book really is great - thanks to the Motley Fool, and thanks to TMFNigel for sharing this knowledge with us all.
Oh - did I say it is funny too? Well it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fools Guide - number 1 in my book!, 10 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
Previously knowing nothing about investments, the stock market, the internet or anything else to do with financial matters and investing (or even just saving money efficiently) I found the Fools guide to online investing brilliant.
Everything is explained in easy language. I spent a whole weekend reading The Motley Fool - both the book and the website - wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, snappy and brilliant!, 11 April 2000
By 
banzaisi (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
The Motley Fool does it again, with yet another book that demystifies the world of investment for us normal people. This time, its on the subject of Internet investing, although the general "art" or "science" of investing is also covered briefly.
The book is well-written and funny, which makes it stand out from other investment books which are often used as an aid to insomnia.
A great book, for the experienced and beginning investor alike. If you enjoyed this, then the "Motley Fool UK Investment Guide" is also one to look out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother if you have access to the website, 25 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
I love the Fool site and all that it stands for, but to be honest, I don't reckon that it is worth getting this book if you have access to the website and are able to give it a good browse. There was nothing in the book that hadn't been covered on the site already. If I were to recommend one of the fool books, I'd say it would be worth it to rather go straight on to the Motley Fool UK Investment Guide. Yes, this is also partly a repeat of what is on the site, but I feel that it covers everything in more detail, is less of a 'primer for the website', and it feels less like a straight-forward print-out of the web pages in book format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for newbie internet investors, 11 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
I bought the book about three months ago at Heathrow Airport (sorry Amazon), and have now eventually got around to reading it, I should have done it earlier as I would probably have saved myself a lot of time trying to find out how to use the internet to research company information.
The book is small and neat and covers everything that a new investor and new internet user really needs, without resorting to too much jargon.
My only critisism would be that it could have covered some subjects in more depth, but then what can you expect for £5.99 you cant really ask for much more!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a most down to earth guide for us poor Fools, 19 Jun. 2000
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
This book has helped me channel my investment planning and to better judge how and where my investments are going to go. It is laid out in an easy read format, the only quibble being it was not bigger, and the subjects covered are extensive I found. So overall I would recommend it for on-line novices like myself, also the other M F books kismetc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real fools guide to Internet Investing, 4 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
All I ever wanted to know about Internet Investing In one small easy to follow pocket book well done TMFNigel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational & Fun, 6 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
The Fool's Guide to Online Investing is a great book covering everything you should know about Online Investing (apart from the comments about IFAs) and a great follow up to The Fool's Guide to Investment Clubs.
From a foolish Independent Financial Adviser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for new internet users, 15 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing (Paperback)
This book guides you through all of the aspects that you need to consider when starting to use the internet to help with your investing. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing
Motley Fool : The Fool's Guide to Online Investing by David Berger (Paperback - 21 Jan. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews