Customer Reviews


333 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book.
I ordered this book for my kindle. I had recently seen and enjoyed the movie and was curious for more info. Initially I was wary as I had seen some negative comments about the book being too right wing, too elitist, too religious blah blah! BUT ignore these moaners, they're the types that always pick fault, you know the ones, the faceless types that sit in their bedrooms...
Published 15 months ago by Gary Wilson

versus
47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tale of lost heroes (3.5 stars)
Very hard review this, as I am from the UK and my perspective may differ from those of you in the US.

This is the story of Marcus Luttrell, a US SEAL, his training and his insertion with three others into a Taliban infested area of Afghanistan to track an al-Qaeda leader. The mission goes wrong and his team members a killed in a fierce fire-fight and Luttrell...
Published on 7 Feb. 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boastful, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many pages devoted to explaining just how hard the SEALs are – can't see British or other NATO Special Forces being so gung-ho (or allowed to be!) Predictably doesn't go into the rights and wrongs of the Afghan invasion and there's no understanding of the motivations of those fighting the West there. Overall, disappointing – as was the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real story, real words, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can wait for the movie. Four navy seals fighting for their lives. One is left to tell t h e story. What a story.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... of special forces soldiering that is made all the worse by Luttell's unbearable arrogance, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lone Survivor: The Incredible True Story of Navy SEALs Under Siege (Paperback)
Awfully written account of special forces soldiering that is made all the worse by Luttell's unbearable arrogance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too gung ho, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I dont believe everything in this story, its too far fetched.
Its just too gung ho united state's of America
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly annoying, but worth the read..., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book. The bloke is clearly not a fan of liberals and I have to say I agree with him, but his multiple rants on the subject become tiresome as does his constant reference to God. But with that said, I'm a nothingist so it would irritate me, and shouldn't turn you off of purchasing the book. The final irritant is the self congratulatory undertone of the whole book, but that's a military thing common to nearly every soldier.

It's well put together and gives you a short, interesting insight into SEAL training and the famous 'Hell Week' that they have to go through, before launching into a version of the story a lot of you will have seen on the telly.

Overall I enjoyed it a lot, and happily recommend it. I have a lot of respect for anyone who has experienced combat in the name of protecting our perceived freedoms and whilst this won't make my top ten, I'm happy if the fella makes a bit of money off of my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book - lousy title, 3 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Lone Survivor: The Incredible True Story of Navy SEALs Under Siege (Paperback)
Obviously, the film is helping to boost the profile of this book, but I enjoyed in nonetheless. It is a glimpse - sometimes worrying, other times heart-warming - into the psyche of the men who do the deeds that change the world - usually at the behest of politicians. The attitude they (the troops) adopt is as much the product of those politicians as it is their own needs and beliefs, which is what I found the most striking thing about the book - Luttrell's 'God Bless America' beliefs really mean what...? Who gave them to him? How do they serve him and the rest of his troop? Who really benefits from such unswerving patriotism? I get the feeling the film (I haven't seen it) will not tackle some of the issues prompted by Luttrell's text, which is a shame. As light relief - and another take on a soldier's jingoism - I heartily recommend Rainbow Rising (The Heavy Metal series) by Jack Darrington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boastful arrogance, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
I. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lone Survivor: The Incredible True Story of Navy SEALs Under Siege (Paperback)
The first ¾ of the book is about how the author got into the SEALs. It is all gung-ho, rah-rah, U-S-A-Numbah-One stuff that gets VERY tedious VERY quickly. The author clearly believes he is God's gift to the world and is at great pains to claim that people like him are supermen, with the SEALs being the best-trained, toughest and hardest special forces in the entire universe - since time began. Strange then how they got busted by a 10 year-old goat herd and then wiped out by untrained hill tribesmen within a few hours of the mission! I have absolutely no doubt that the SEALs are great soldiers and elite warriors, but so are 1st SFOD-D, SAS, SBS, Australian SAS, NZ SAS, Sayeret Matkal, Spetsnaz, Kommando Spezialkräfte etc etc etc. Sadly, the author’s main message (and reason for the book) is to repeat ad nauseam just how America is Number 1 and that SEALS are big and strong and unbeatable but that only SEALS can know this because everyone else in the world are oxygen-thieving pansies. It really is that bad. He also engages in some bizarre rant arguing that the rules of war should not apply to people like him and that liberals are the root of all evil and that without them the mighty SEALs would be totally invincible. Luttrell's style is quite alienating and I think he's done the SEALs a great disservice because seriously, people with a brain will laugh at this sort of silliness. I can not imagine for one second any other SF person from any other country other than the USA writing in this style. It is terrible! For a much more humbler account of becoming a SEAL, without all the nauseating arrogance, check out Chad Williams' "SEAL of God". The last bit of Luttrell's book, ironically, shows how the SEALs are, well, normal people capable of making mistakes and are all too human – that’s why they LOST the battle! The “lone survivor” only survived because he was rescued by some Afghans, which kind of makes a mockery of the “I’m the biggest hog on the farm” Texan BS that the author makes as the central theme of the book. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate special ops story?, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of Marcus Luttrell's politics might not be to everyone's taste but the story he has to tell is undeniably awe-inspiring. By a twist of fate that resonates with more than one recent special forces ops-gone wrong the author and the rest of his four man SEAL squad are cut adrift in the middle of an ocean of Taliban insurgents in the mountainous bad lands of eastern Afghanistan. Training and a good dose of luck conspire to deliver him back in to the embrace of US forces but not before his story takes a humbling (you sense for him more than the reader) turn. While his deep south-Republican motivations sometimes sound unpalatable on the page, his bravery and whit are always impressive. And his obvious love for his colleagues is never less than sincere adding to an already very good boys-own yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opener, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book as it was in some respects a love letter to the navy seals, written by a man that has been through some serious, life changing and often harrowing experiences. Extremely brave man, and the book demonstrated that often the human spirit and character will shine, even amongst evil and tyranny, a small group will stand up for what they believe in, and in this case, ultimately saved a soldiers life.

I hope he is receiving the type of post operational care he needs to deal with his PTSD

Well written and sympathetic to the plight of his fallen comrades
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the film, you owe it to yourself to read the book, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, far, far better than the film. Reading the book I couldn't believe they made such a watered down, action Jackson version of this SEAL team's story. Luttrel's all-American patriotism and belief in God does garner the occasional eye roll, but to each their own, and it hardly detracts from the tale he tells - if you weren't a believer before some of this stuff happened to you, you might well be afterwards - so if you like a good war story, just bear in mind this one is told by a Bible Belt American, and it's perceived flaws are an incredibly small price to pay for what is ultimately an enlightening, engaging and often harrowing tale of friendship, heroism and perseverance in the face of insurmountable odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lone Survivor: The Incredible True Story of Navy SEALs Under Siege
Lone Survivor: The Incredible True Story of Navy SEALs Under Siege by Patrick Robinson (Paperback - 16 Jan. 2014)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews