Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect read for Christmas
The Holiday Season is not all joy and celebration because in the year 2058 a woman is found murdered and left with a figurine showing "partridge in a pear tree" (The Twelve Days of Christmas). Lieutenant Eve Dallas is quickly summoned to the scene and becomes the primary investigator in the case. The killer's modus operandi is to knock at the victim's door dressed up in a...
Published on 14 Feb 2005 by Sebastian Fernandez

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT perfect ...
"Holiday in Death" is the seventh book in J.D. Robb's "In Death" series, and not one I would recommend for someone who just wants to give the series a try. If that is your case, please make yourself a favour, and read the first book in the series, "Naked in death". That book is excellent, and will give you such a good introduction to the main characters that you will...
Published on 3 Jan 2005 by M. B. Alcat


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect read for Christmas, 14 Feb 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holiday In Death: 7 (Paperback)
The Holiday Season is not all joy and celebration because in the year 2058 a woman is found murdered and left with a figurine showing "partridge in a pear tree" (The Twelve Days of Christmas). Lieutenant Eve Dallas is quickly summoned to the scene and becomes the primary investigator in the case. The killer's modus operandi is to knock at the victim's door dressed up in a Santa's costume and kill them after getting access to their house. Eve quickly finds a connection to a dating agency called Personally Yours that will lead to some very interesting developments.
Confirmation comes when a second victim is found; she has two turtle doves in her hair and has also requested the services of Personally Yours. And as the investigation progresses, we find Charles Monroe, a character who we met in the first book in the series, "Naked in Death", and who has also been using the services of the dating agency even though he is a licensed companion. I think Robb made an excellent decision in reintroducing Charles in the series, since he brings no small amount of smart comments and interesting personal interactions with Eve and Peabody.
Peabody, Eve's aide, is having the time of her life, because the search for the killer is taking the duo around town where they have a chance to visit shops and mingle in the crowd of holiday shoppers. Eve, on the other hand, hates the experience and besides being worried about finding a dangerous killer, has to deal with her personal issues regarding Christmas. She even has to figure out what to buy for her friends and husband, the billionaire Roarke. Finding a present for a man that has everything is no small task!
This series is moving ahead full steam, with interesting cases and characters that are becoming more complex and fascinating. I think the latter aspect is what I enjoy most about this series, since Robb spends a fair amount of time on the relationship between Eve and Roarke, Eve and Peabody, etc. For those of you that have not read other books in this series, I am fully confident that this book stands on its own, but you will be missing a considerable part of the appeal found in these books due to the relationships among the main characters. My recommendation is that you start with the first book in the series, and I guarantee that you will be hooked after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT perfect ..., 3 Jan 2005
This review is from: Holiday In Death: 7 (Paperback)
"Holiday in Death" is the seventh book in J.D. Robb's "In Death" series, and not one I would recommend for someone who just wants to give the series a try. If that is your case, please make yourself a favour, and read the first book in the series, "Naked in death". That book is excellent, and will give you such a good introduction to the main characters that you will enjoy the rest of the books in the series much more :)
Now, if you are still reading this review I must suppose that you already have read that book, and so you know what the "In death" series is about: a very good cop (Eve), her unlikely husband (Roarke), and the crimes they somehow end up solving together. Of course, by summing up the series in such succinct manner I leave aside a lot of the details that make the series so good but then, if I want to be concise I have to sacrifice something: nothing is perfect :)
"Holiday in death" definitely isn't perfect either. The plot is pretty simple: it is almost Christmas time, and Lieutenant Eve Dallas not only has to buy presents for her loved ones (she hates shopping!!!), but also to deal with a killer who dresses up as Santa Claus, rings the doorbell of his victims and kills them. The only link between the victims is a dating service, and so Eve decides some undercover work is in order to catch the killer, before he continues with his "special" way of celebrating Christmas. Officers Peabody and Mc Nabb will be the undercover agents, and also the protagonists of a secondary storyline that the fans of the series have been waiting for some time :)
I certainly cannot say that this is my favourite book in the series. Despite that, and strangely enough, I DO RECOMMEND IT. Why?. Well, because it has more than average "entertainment value", if you like to mix suspense, a bit of romance and an interesting futuristic spin. I want to point out, though, that the crime scenes that all the books in the series have are specially horrific in "Holiday in death", so please don't read it if you can't stand gory scenes. I don't like them, and that is the reason why I gave this book 3 stars instead of at least 4, but that's your decision to make, after weighing the pros and cons of giving "Holiday in death" a try...
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER WINNER FROM J.D. ROBB!!!, 17 Dec 1998
By A Customer
I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! The "...in Death" series is fantastic! I've read every single one. I could DIE for a man like Roarke, and Eve is a woman after my own heart! I always love a woman character who can fight for herself! No weak women please! Holiday in Death is just another exciting, suspensful, humorous, fun-filled book in a series of books. LT Eve Dallas and her mysterious, rich husband, Roarke, are at it again when a serial killer decides to turn the 12 Days of Christmas into the 12 Days of Death. The secondary characters Peabody and McNabb are finally about to let all of that sexual tension loosed. It had to happen sometime, what else is all that arguing about!! This is a must read if you like thrillers and romance. J.D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts) is a master story-teller. She never lets the reader down. I can't wait for Conspiracey in Death, only a few months to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, attention grabbing, looking for the next one, 31 July 1999
By A Customer
I have read Nora Roberts for years but this is the first as J D Robb, but not the last. I've never been a fan of thrillers but I am now, as long as they are by Robb. Don't miss the chance to visit the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT perfect, 23 Dec 2004
This review is from: Holiday In Death: 7 (Paperback)
"Holiday in Death" is the seventh book in J.D. Robb's "In Death" series, and not one I would recommend for someone who just wants to give the series a try. If that is your case, please make yourself a favour, and read the first book in the series, "Naked in death". That book is excellent, and will give you such a good introduction to the main characters that you will enjoy the rest of the books in the series much more :)
Now, if you are still reading this review I must suppose that you already have read that book, and so you know what the "In death" series is about: a very good cop (Eve), her unlikely husband (Roarke), and the crimes they somehow end up solving together. Of course, by summing up the series in such succinct manner I leave aside a lot of the details that make the series so good but then, if I want to be concise I have to sacrifice something: nothing is perfect :)
"Holiday in death" definitely isn't perfect either. The plot is pretty simple: it is almost Christmas time, and Lieutenant Eve Dallas not only has to buy presents for her loved ones (she hates shopping!!!), but also to deal with a killer who dresses up as Santa Claus, rings the doorbell of his victims and kills them. The only link between the victims is a dating service, and so Eve decides some undercover work is in order to catch the killer, before he continues with his "special" way of celebrating Christmas. Officers Peabody and Mc Nabb will be the undercover agents, and also the protagonists of a secondary storyline that the fans of the series have been waiting for some time :)
I certainly cannot say that this is my favourite book in the series. Despite that, and strangely enough, I DO RECOMMEND IT. Why?. Well, because it has more than average "entertainment value", if you like to mix suspense, a bit of romance and an interesting futuristic spin. I want to point out, though, that the crime scenes that all the books in the series have are specially horrific in "Holiday in death", so please don't read it if you can't stand gory scenes. I don't like them, and that is the reason why I gave this book 3 stars instead of at least 4, but that's your decision to make, after weighing the pros and cons of giving "Holiday in death" a try...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite page-turner, 7 July 1998
By A Customer
I devoured this book while dining alone at a Benningan's Restaurant to the point I almost skipped their to-die-for Death by Chocolate...One of the best so far in the series. It's a welcome change to see the increased focus on Peabody, though I could've done without Mavis. I also enjoyed how, even with futuristic technology, the search for the perfect date continued...Buy it and you won't be disappointed.
Probably the best part I like about this series is the fact that you need not read the previous ones to enjoy the current release. Each is capable of standing alone, though, like any other series, previous reading adds impact to the various undercurrents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Great GREAT BOOK, 1 July 1999
By A Customer
How can an author write 7 fantastic books in order. All other authors usually throw one in that's not all that hot. But Ms. Robb is right on the money on ALL these books. I started Conspiracy in Death this morning. I saw that one got 35 5* ratings, so it's got to be another great one. I hate to see this series end. I hope she keeps it going. One thing that surprises me though is that Dallas is not pregnant yet. It's certainly not from trying. Well, I have to end because I have to go read #8 of this series. Be sure to pick up a copy of this one. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J.D. Robb is at the top of her game, 20 April 1998
By A Customer
With 2058 coming to an end, the holiday season is in full sing even though a serial killer is on the loose. Getting into the spirit of Christmas, the killer uses the carol "The Twelve Days of Christmas" as his theme. He has left behind with his victims a partridge in a pear tree, two turtle doves, etc. He dresses up as Santa in order to obtain easy access to his victim's home.
Just returning to duty after recovering from injuries sustained on her last case, New York police lieutenant Eve Dallas is heading up the investigation. The perpetrator strikes a bit too close to home for the compassionate cop as it reminds her of the atrocities her father did to her. As the murder count rises and her case going nowhere, Eve goes all out, including outside the law, to bring down the culprit.
J.D. Robb pens another exciting futurist thriller that will make her many fans feel as if Christmas has arrived in summer. Although the romance is an intricate part of the story line, the primary thrust centers on the identity of the killer, especially with the array of viable suspects. The glimpses into the heroine's past help the reader understand her motives, adding a brilliant personal touch to the story. Ms. Robb continues to scribe one of the best series on the market today.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday In Death: 7 (Paperback)
I love Holiday in Death but then I love all the books of the in Death series. They are easy to read and hold your attention until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great instalment in the In Death series, 3 July 2012
By 
The Demon Librarian (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Holiday in Death (Paperback)
This time there's a killer on the loose with a thing for Christmas. Murder victim one is found with a partridge in a pear tree icon. Does that mean there are 11 more victims to go?

These books are so good. It amazes me how the quality never dips. The cast of characters steadily grew throughout the first three books, and now you just grow to love each character that much more with each book.

Roarke and Eve are in a good place, but Eve still struggles with things other people, other women, might find easy, and the Christmas holiday period brings some of these issues to the fore.

"The wanting of you never stops." His fingers skimmed over her hips; the trousers pooled at her feet. "The loving of you never peaks. There's always more." Undone, she leaned against him, her face buried in his hair. "Nothing's the same for me since you."

The mystery was good, the crimes disturbing, and the chase exhilarating. I'm heading on to Midnight in Death which is a novella that apparently picks up seconds after this one ends.

4 Stars! ''''
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holiday In Death: 7
Holiday In Death: 7 by J. D. Robb (Paperback - 2 May 2013)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews