Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should come with a health warning!!
Fantastic book, recently read 'Under the Paw' so had high expectations. Tom Cox didn't disappoint with his collection of laugh out loud, sad and sometimes quite bizarre tales of The Bear and gang. Unfortunately did choke on a biscuit whilst reading the book (due to laughing my head off) so I would advise the you don't accompany this book with small snacks :)
Published 10 months ago by N Poulter

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as enjoyable as anticipated
I love cats and usually enjoy these type of books but this one wasn't for me. Whilst a lot of this was funny I just found the humour wore a bit thin after a while and it didn't seem to be going anywhere so much so that I didn't finish the end. It was the first book I've read by this author so maybe as a sequel it works better.
Published 6 months ago by Jen Smith


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should come with a health warning!!, 18 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
Fantastic book, recently read 'Under the Paw' so had high expectations. Tom Cox didn't disappoint with his collection of laugh out loud, sad and sometimes quite bizarre tales of The Bear and gang. Unfortunately did choke on a biscuit whilst reading the book (due to laughing my head off) so I would advise the you don't accompany this book with small snacks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bear steals the show yet again!, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been eagerly anticipating the next installment from the witty Tom Cox and it was even better than I could have hoped for. It was heartwarming and beautifully written with the same mix of cat stories and one upmanship from Tom's dad, the toad was brilliant!
Another fantastic read and The Bear continues to be the real star of the book.
Good to read a happy book with a though provoking ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purrfect, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
This is a brillant book. For those who have only followed The Bear on Twitter (@MYSADCAT)it's a facinating insight into the Cox cat-hold. For those who have already read about Ralph, Shipley, Janet & The Bear the story continues apace..
Tom Cox has produced a rollercoaster of a story that is finely crafted and endlessly amusing. It's the first book I've had to read in two minute snatches as I keep putting it down to laugh :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great book, and not just for cat lovers., 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
Incredibly funny, wistful and emotional, Tom Cox's third book about his relationship with his cats more than lives up to the previous two. It's written beautifully, you feel very much a part of the story and - like all other great books - feel a bit bereft when it's over. As well as updates on the feline members of his household, and Tom himself of course, we also hear more about his really very funny parents, the other animals that inhabit his thoughts, and the wonderfully vibrant characters he meets on the way (or who happen to just knock on his door anyway). If you're in two minds about buying this book, don't be. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, 15 Oct 2013
Excellent book that is a follow on from Under the Paw and Talk to the Tail. Beautifully written with a very funny writing style. You learn more about Tom`s cats including new addition "I`m so very busy" Roscoe. Strongly recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liking cats does not equal Crazy Cat Lady!, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Linners (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
I loved this book. There were parts that made me cry, parts that made me cackle, parts that made me nod in sage agreement and parts that consoled. Thank you Tom Cox!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow The Bear, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
Another lovely cat-filled book from Tom Cox, and this is the best yet! Only received it yesterday, but couldn't put it down and finished it this morning. Beautifully written, and featuring a cast of gorgeous cats-with-character led by The Bear, I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and funny true story, 25 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
The thing I like about Tom Cox's cat books is that as he is a former journalist and professional writer, his books are well written in that chatty magazine article sort of way.

Most cat books are not - the sheer numbers of badly-written sentimental sob story cat books is appalling. Tom Cox (who needs no ghost writer as others do) writes well and knows not to vomit schmaltz in the face of the reader or to knit some awful pity party to roll around in (SO MANY cat books do this, as if their purpose is to make an overemotional and feeble readership cry).

There are some great kids books and adult fiction too, the best of which recently IMHO is A Cat Called Dog.

But this is my favourite author of non-fiction about cats - with tales which are funny and touching. Perfect easy reading for a bit of indulgent cat fun and games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific read!, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Christina Kotowski (Alameda, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
I loved the two previous books about The Bear and imported "The Good, The Bad and the Furry" from Amazon UK because physical copies of the book are not available in the United States (yet!). The book arrived yesterday and I devoured it in one sitting. Highly recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited follow up, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World's Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends (Paperback)
Having read Tom's previous cat books, I've been eagerly awaiting the next instalment in his life with four feline overlords. TGTBATF did not disappoint - full of wonderful stories which made me laugh and cry in equal measure. Tom is a great comedic writer, with a light deft touch...he deserves all the success in the world with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews