Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, atmospheric thriller
This is no standard crime fiction . . . this is a mighty novel, beautifully and masterfully written. I won't outline the story. Suffice to say that, yet again, Michael Robotham's storytelling is pure genius. Each twist and turn strikes perfectly. I defy you not to become utterly immersed in the world of Joe O'Loughlin, Vincent Ruiz et al as once again Robotham shows off...
Published on 3 Feb. 2008 by Admiral6004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good solid read
A good solid but highly forgetable book which never manages to scale the heights. It earns itself an acceptable three stars. There was nothing in it which set itself aside from other similar authors and which stops it garnering an increase in my vote. Certainly not a bad read though.
Published on 14 Mar. 2010 by R. Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, atmospheric thriller, 3 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Shatter (Hardcover)
This is no standard crime fiction . . . this is a mighty novel, beautifully and masterfully written. I won't outline the story. Suffice to say that, yet again, Michael Robotham's storytelling is pure genius. Each twist and turn strikes perfectly. I defy you not to become utterly immersed in the world of Joe O'Loughlin, Vincent Ruiz et al as once again Robotham shows off his extraordinary talents. I've loved his previous novels, but in my view Shatter confirms his place in the very top flight. This is thriller writing of the very highest order, by the genre's most meteoric new star. In fact I'd go further: this deeply involving story about the connection between killer and hunter might just be the best book you'll read this year. Richard and Judy, take note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A frightening psychological thriller that I just couldn't put down., 24 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Shatter (Hardcover)
Christine Wheeler stands on the edge of the Clifton Suspension bridge,naked except for a pair of red high heeled shoes, talking into a mobile phone. In front of police and passers- by Chrstine jumps to her death into the fast running river below.

Professor Joseph O'Loughlin a psychologist requested by the police to talk her down is one of the witnesses to her plunge into the river. But Christine's daughter is convinced that she was murdered. Haunted by his failure to talk her down and struggling to understand why she would do something like this Jo tries to discover what happened.

But this will not be the first death by this means. As Joe strives to uncover how the killer can drive a woman to these measures, he gets too close to the killer and then the killer invades his life.

An unusual hero Joe O'Loughlin is battling his own demons, which impact on his life and those around him - is he maybe destroying his own life? unable to come to terms with his own mortality.

A frightening psychological thriller that I just couldn't put down.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good psychological thriller, 1 Feb. 2008
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shatter (Hardcover)
The book's title is the description of the sound made by a mind that has been broken, and Robotham brings the full horror of that to bear in his latest novel. What are the buttons that can be pushed to mentally destroy a person and what kind of monster is capable of doing it? If he is capable of understanding this, clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin just might be able to get closer to the answer of why a killer has driven a number of women to their deaths.

The first victim is a naked woman in red heels who jumps from the Clifton Suspension Bridge despite the best efforts of the professor, who has recently moved to the area with his wife and two daughters. Unable to understand what could have motivated the woman to apparently kill herself, Joe suspects that someone may have driven her to her death - the voice on the other end of a mobile phone she was holding at the time. The police are sceptical about Joe's theory, so he calls in an old friend - former Chief Inspector Vincent Ruiz, now retired.

It's a bit of a cliché, but inevitably the question of "we're not so different" comes up between the killer who manipulates minds and the psychologist who tries to analyse and in some respects control them. To compound the cliché, Robotham is not so different either, as he once again he finds a very real fear that any reader will identify with and manipulates it to create a tense and dramatic situation, one heightened by the vulnerability of his characters through Joe's Parkinson's Disease and in his domestic situation with his wife. If in this respect, the serial killer investigation makes Shatter more of a conventional thriller than Robotham's previous books, it's nonetheless just as effective and involving and the consequences are no less serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN OUTSTANDING THRILLER!!!!!, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Greggorio! (Amazing Australia) - See all my reviews
I find it simultaneously mystifying but equally reassuring whenever I read an author’s debut novel to find a sense of calmness, confidence and assuredness in the story telling. So it is with Michael Robotham's first novel, SHATTER, published way back in 2009. After we are introduced to the presumed hero of the story, Professor Joseph O'Loughlin, teaching clinical psychology at the university of Bath. The man is living with parkinson's disease and after we meet his family early in the story, the reader witnesses a young lady committing suicide by jumping off a bridge – completely nude – in the city of Bristol. Once we have been introduced to the remaining players of the tale, the story flies along at breakneck speed and the reading never slows you down. There is a level of sophistication in each of the character’s thought processes and conversations that will impress you the most; even the so-called ‘minor’ characters have a level of depth that is most realistic and unusual. Early on, some of the good guys (local constabulary) are appearing to be nothing but belligerent bullies – but that may change as we progress through the book. I certainly hope so.

A scattering of clues are given to the reader by Mr Robotham and chapter four provides the first grisly look at the book's bad guy. He sounds like a seriously deranged, damaged and very dangerous psychopath. Just the thing for our Professor to know how to deal with.

The book really comes alive in the reader's bands in chapter eleven, however, when we meet old friend and former police detective Mr Vincent Ruiz. Together with other characters that have been introduced up to now, the plot is now suddenly extremely well balanced with a good range and balance of supporting cast for the star of the show. Ruiz alone adds a final layer of credence to the whole concept of the investigation and to the readability of the story and makes it therefore that much more believable.

So i think i have said enough of the plot. This book is outstanding. It is a world class whodunit come thriller which has the potential to blow the reader out of the water as we join the hunt for the killer. Given the capabilities of the author of this fine work, it pays to leave your own imagination at the door when you sit down to read SHATTER, unless you want to give yourself a nervous breakdown, when you begin to worry about what might happen to the characters that populate this mini universe. It is a fine addition to anyone's crime library as it is a highly recommended and outstanding purchase.

A highly deserved four stars from me.

BFN Greggorio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 25 Jun. 2008
By 
K. Davies "Lagavulinlad" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shatter (Hardcover)
This is quite simply the best thriller I have read in a very long time, the pace is breathtaking, from the very first chapter I found it impossible to put down. Its the kind of book that even when you are not reading it you are thinking about the plot, and cant wait to pick it up again. I lent this to my wife who is not a thriller fan, and she read it in the shortest time, and we spent some time talking about the characters and events in the book. This is what reading a book should be about.
The villain is one of the most scary guys I have ever come across, You just know if he ever looks your way then you've pretty much had it. But his evil is not a physical threat, but a psychological one, he could destroy your life without even getting close.
This does make you wonder about Mr Robothams state of mind, to come up with something this devilish is a bit of a worry.
I have read every one of his books, and loved them all, but this is a class of its own. simply superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the ingredients you need, 9 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Shatter (Paperback)
I have read all of Robotham's books and am happy to report that he maintains his high standards with each new one.

This is a psychological thriller featuring psychologist Joe O'Loughlin and, to some extent, former detective Ruiz. Both have appeared in previous novels. A manipulative, disgruntled and highly skilled soldier is throwing up extreme challenges which then become highly personal for Joe.

The plot is sound and has you frantically turning the pages as the tension builds; the writing and thoughts are rich, as usual, and there is an immediate alignment with Joe as he grapples with the multiple issues he faces. Importantly, Robotham succeeds in using a protagonist who is both fallible and physically impaired, showing that you don't need a Jack Reacher to make a novel work.

This was once again great stuff - a well-written story built around a plot with some depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 20 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Shatter (Hardcover)
Awesome! A great huge chunky book that kept me awake into the early hours, and nearly made me miss my stop on the train home!!

Joseph O'Loughlin is very human and fragile in his own way. It's not just your standard psychological thriller (although it is brilliant in that respect alone!), it resonates on all levels as you come to care about the characters. Joseph, trying so hard to hold his increasingly fragmented family together, the tragic runaway Darcy, Vincent always on the edge of things and DI Cray, so hard, yet so vulnerable in her own way. And the perp. Well, you need to read it! But be prepared to cut back on your sleep when you do....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a writer!, 12 May 2013
By 
love reading "marsy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shatter (Joe O'loughlin 3) (Paperback)
This was my first book by Michael Robothom. My son had recommended him to me and I'd just never got round to reading one. It certainly wont be my last; I'm now going to buy everything he has written.
Quite simply, this is perhaps one of the best written thrillers I've read. It lacked the cringyness (is that a word?), which is a feature of the genre. The style of writing was sparse and unpretentious. The plot was riveting. And the characterisation was flawless with a very real and credible protagonist.
I really couldn't put this book down, it is a real well-written page turner. Excellent and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Slow Burner Then it Flames, 23 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shatter (Paperback)
When I began reading this book it didn't grip me so I put it down feeling disappointed as I had read all the high rated reviews in here. I picked it up again later and then couldn't put it down until I finished reading it. I needed to know why and how and who: needed to know more about Joe and his Mr Parkinson.

The characterisation of the key players grew well and I had pictures in my mind as to how they looked, felt and acted. I shall certainly read another of his books. He's a good crime writer with a different angle. Hope he writes more and of course this would make a good TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shattering Stuff, 13 Feb. 2008
By 
Chris High "Chris H" (Wirral, Merseyside,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shatter (Hardcover)
Michael Robotham's fourth outing for his Clinical Psychologist, Joe O'Loughlin, Shatter, is without doubt and from first to last, a book to cherish.
Fast paced and rich descriptions make the reader feel as though they are in the same room as the characters which, to be fair, is both good and bad. Good that it is so real. Bad if you want to get to sleep without checking the wardrobe and locks just one last time.
A naked woman in red high-heeled shoes is perched on the edge of Clifton Suspension Bridge with her back pressed to the safety fence, weeping into a mobile phone while Joseph O'Loughlin stand only feet away, desperately trying to talk her down. She whispers, `you don't understand,' and jumps.
Later, Joe has a visitor - the woman's teenage daughter, a runaway from boarding school. She refuses to believe that her mother would have jumped off the bridge. Not only would she not commit suicide, she is terrified of heights. Joe wants to believe her, but what would drive a woman to such a desperate act?
The biggest standout of the book is the dialogue which throughout is free, warm and easy, giving a naturalness to the protagonists that they instantly welcoming. These are people you would turn to in a crisis and would like to spend time with. The story, too, is a cut above the norm, with a villain who is at once both thoroughly detestable and, strangely, enigmatic, despite his going so far off the rails he's become a bus.
As a first read of Robotham's work, this does not need the previous two novels in the series to fill in any blanks, though without question they, on this evidence, are also must reads, as the author whips the reader along at break-neck pace to places they would rather not be on almost every page. Shatter is truly exhilarating stuff and can easily rank alongside anything Thomas Harris or Mark Billingham is putting out right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shatter (Joe O'loughlin 3)
Shatter (Joe O'loughlin 3) by Michael Robotham (Paperback - 28 Mar. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews