Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely give it a go
The first thing I loved about this book was the way it was presented - with a gorgeous, azure blue cover, very subtle design and I was also pleased at getting my money's worth at the reaching-400 pages length.
This book is not like 50 Shades of Grey, but definitely addresses themes of that same book. It takes some intelligence to read and despite some reviewers...
Published 14 months ago by Alexis

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unlike any erotic book I've ever read . . .
This is unlike any erotic book I've ever read. It's an intelligent look at sex from an assertive protagonist's POV, with people's sexual needs and appetites being dissected and analysed. It's an impressive debut from Sasha Grey, who writes with an easy confidence, and the story behind The Juliette Society is fascinating, initially making the book seem very...
Published 14 months ago by BestChickLit.com


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely give it a go, 12 May 2013
This review is from: The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy) (Paperback)
The first thing I loved about this book was the way it was presented - with a gorgeous, azure blue cover, very subtle design and I was also pleased at getting my money's worth at the reaching-400 pages length.
This book is not like 50 Shades of Grey, but definitely addresses themes of that same book. It takes some intelligence to read and despite some reviewers blasting Grey for her "cocky" name dropping of film writers and literary texts throughout, it adds a level of depth to the character.
I really won't give much away because it's a thoroughly fascinating book and you really need to read it for yourself, but Grey is a surprisingly decent writer. Of course, she won't be the best, but the key thing that I noticed about this book is how it goes the opposite way from the submissive character shown so often in books like this (namely of course 50 Shades), but instead explores a protagonist who is more assertive in what she wants. Some may argue that this leaves readers feeling disconnected and without anything to relate to, since the popularity of submissive characters seems pretty prominent at the moment, but personally this adds to the brooding sexual awakening that Catherine eventually discovers, making it a really good book to read.
You can obviously see that the author's brought her own experiences into this, and I think that's what makes it unique. It doesn't tentatively dip its toe into the BDSM scene - it dives straight in. There's no silly romance either, just a raw story with good developments (although a flimsy, unbelievable opening)and a well-described journey of the main character's sexual awakening. I didn't like 50 Shades because of how weak and complaining the girl is throughout; she rarely does much apart from fall apart at the sight of a good looking guy. Here, Catherine has natural fantasies that frequently pop out throughout the book with a commendable level of shamelessness; Grey's description of her internal conflict is talented and I do think on second reading that you might be able to see yourself in her a bit.
Of course, like any debut writer, there are many faults, but I'm giving this 5 star because it's new and a fast-paced, exciting read.
It's a very good try, and it'd look nice on your shelf too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unlike any erotic book I've ever read . . ., 20 May 2013
This is unlike any erotic book I've ever read. It's an intelligent look at sex from an assertive protagonist's POV, with people's sexual needs and appetites being dissected and analysed. It's an impressive debut from Sasha Grey, who writes with an easy confidence, and the story behind The Juliette Society is fascinating, initially making the book seem very intriguing.

However, there are a lot of dream-like/fantasy scenarios that result in the lead character going off on tangents on the physiologies of sex. These speeches come off as a little preachy, rather than just the character's opinion, and are boring. The sex scenes are middle of the road, I've read tamer ones and I've read raunchier, but they are erotic and well written. This is the perfect read for someone who fancies a bit of intelligent sauce.

Reviewed by Charlotte Foreman on behalf of BestChickLit.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok read, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good plot towards end of book, but takes a while to get there, so glad I did not give up before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars where's the story?!, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I get this book is all about the sex, but some sort of story would have been nice. Really disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was hoping for more., 2 Jun 2013
With Grey's experience I was really hoping for more from this novel. She definitely brought in elements of her adventures and intimate knowledge but unfortunately it didn't translate into a good read.

I felt the character's constant relation to film was Grey trying to prove she isn't dumb, I normally like having a protagonist express her interests and hobbies as it makes them more believable but in this case it was just boring and a bit 'I get the point, you've done your research.'

It definitely felt like a first novel - constant repeating of sentences phased slightly differently to fill out word count. The dream sequences felt like filler. The main character was different in that she wasn't the usual erotica pushover, but she didn't come across very relatable and I just couldn't get to like her. There were some well-written descriptions but sometimes they went too far and I forgot what was actually happening which interrupted the flow of the novel.

It'll be interesting to see if Grey continues and grows as there's definitely potential but, for me, TJS was quite boring and felt like a chore to finish in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All Sex - No Story, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy) (Paperback)
How many ways can you describe the same thing. This book is marketed as a follow-up to 50 Shades but it lacks a robust story. If you want to read 400 pages of pporn then this may float your boat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "I coulda' been a contender!", 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy) (Paperback)
I wish there was a half star rating system, because I'd put this at exactly half way. Not dire, but not fantastic either; numerous plus points, but equally as many negative ones. The premise is interesting, as is the cerebral style, and the filmic and literary references. I'm actually a fan of the disjointed, train-of-thought type of narrative, and I also found the lead character's semi-existential musings on certain things (both sexual and otherwise) fresh and interesting.

The oft-repeated "plot is subservient to character" feels very apropos for a story that concerns the workings of the main character's mind, than what actually happens in the plot. I can, however, see why this might prove frustrating for readers who are seeking a plot of some substance; because not a hell of a lot actually happens at all. The plot itself certainly gets bogged down pondering and exploring the 'minor' details - which seems deliberate, as if Grey is trying her utmost to stir readers' own inner film and literature critics - and if that's not your bag (and perhaps even if it is) then it has a tendency to drag.

The execution, however, and the sex and fantasy sex scenes themselves, are what really let this story down. For all the criticism the main character levels at porn, the erotica reads exactly like it; and for a book that's been hailed as thinking people's erotica, it feels horribly like false advertising. My biggest qualm, however, has to be Grey's idiosyncratic turn of phrase. Her particular fondness for inserting periods/full stops and new paragraphs where there should be none is all well and good, and even effective, in small doses; however when it's nearly 400 pages it quickly turns from pleasingly quirky and snappy to something that reads like a poorly rendered free verse poem.

It's an ambitious attempt, but ultimately it never surpasses 'just okay' for me; and I wonder, were it authored by anyone other than a celebrity, whether it would have found publication at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy), 1 July 2014
By 
This review is from: The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy) (Paperback)
Sailed through this naughty book, well written and has a great story. Well worth a read. i recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wierdly compelling, 4 Jun 2014
I found this book to be a mixed bag, but I've given it four stars for the fact that I was still thinking about it long after I had finished reading.
It is NOTHING like Fifty Shades, and to my mind that's a good thing. Fifty Shades is NOT erotica, it's traditional romance with explicit scenes. True erotica tells us something about human sexuality, and The Juliette Society does indeed do that. However it's not necessarily comfortable reading. Sasha spends way too much time talking about come and spit and crotch sniffing to be arousing for me. Nevertheless, one thing struck me about the sex scenes - they're real. No soft lighting, no sweet nothings. Sasha Grey was a hardcore porn star and it shows in her complete ease and confidence with writing erotic material. I did find the constant film references and theorising a bit pretentious, but enjoyable nonetheless. So much more could have been done with the very subdued plotline however. It all goes a bit Da Vinci Code in the end and too much is left hanging. Don't read this if you're a Fifty Shades fan and are looking for something similar. Read it if you like female erotica writers such as Anais Nin, Pauline Reage and Suzanne Portnoy. If you liked the films 'Eyes Wide Shut' and 'Belle du Jour'. If you're a film studies student, or if group kinkiness floats your boat...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good., 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy) (Paperback)
Got it for the wife. It's a bit crap to be honest. Thought Sascha would have more writing talent, I was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy)
The Juliette Society (The Juliette Society Trilogy) by Sasha Grey (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews