Customer Reviews


341 Reviews
5 star:
 (262)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying instalment for all Tony and Carol fans
I really enjoyed this latest instalment in the Tony Hill series. The aftermath of the devastating events which rocked the lives of pretty much all the key members of Carol's murder squad at the end of the last book are well handled here, although you do have to suspend disbelief a little at Carol's unbending hostility towards Tony. Having said that, the interplay between...
Published 10 months ago by Katherine Pathak

versus
48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) A very good book and a mediocre one crushed together
This is a book of two halves: half is excellent as we follow the emotional fall-out of the past which has left Carol Jordan and Tony Hill both severely traumatised and alienated from each other and from the police force. In this part of the book, McDermid shows herself to be a sensitive, emotionally-intelligent writer with a fine streak of darkness running through her...
Published 19 months ago by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) A very good book and a mediocre one crushed together, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a book of two halves: half is excellent as we follow the emotional fall-out of the past which has left Carol Jordan and Tony Hill both severely traumatised and alienated from each other and from the police force. In this part of the book, McDermid shows herself to be a sensitive, emotionally-intelligent writer with a fine streak of darkness running through her fictional world.

The other half is a run-of-the-mill psychopathic, misogynist serial-killer plot where, once again, we are shown a man who hates women and wants to re-make them into Stepford wives. The gratuitous sexual violence is sickening, and the plotting feels half-baked: it's obvious from the start who the perpetrator is because the clues are clumsily dropped and, apart from a single red-herring, there's no-one else it could be. The `investigation' is also all a bit pat, and leaves loose ends (the fingerprint on the phone?).

So this is like a very good book and a mediocre `me-too' one crushed together. I can't work out why McDermid falls back into the generic and derivative when she is clearly capable of so much better: a sop to her long-time fans? publisher pressure? who knows. But the contrast between the two halves demonstrate that she is a far better novelist than this book overall shows.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good try, but not quite there I'm afraid, 27 Aug. 2014
By 
davidT "Omnivore" (Hildesheim, Germany) - See all my reviews
This is a review of the audio version. I say that, because although the story was gripping, the narration was quite disconcerting. I couldn't tell if a character was supposed to be Scottish, Geordie or South African. A good try, but not quite there I'm afraid, so a star is lost just for the medium.
As regards the story - terrific almost all the way through, with great detailed character descriptions of the new people involved.
Just...I had sympathy for Paula's new DCI. You get clothing from a murder victim with an identifiable bloodstain, plus a mobile phone from a further victim carrying a fingerprint from the same person, and of course you haul them in, even if he's Tony Hill, consultant psychologist. Except that Tony Hill's girls (and they are all girls) cry 'No,that can't be true'and solve the case off their own bat, leaving egg on the DCI's face. Success or failure, I can't imagine any of them would have much of a future in any UK police force.
Apart from that - gruesome, but that's what we expect from Val McDermid. Chilling as well, which takes a lot more art - the details which emerge as to the culprit's upbringing and his father's marital arrangements leave you wondering about what happened to other characters apart from the main ones. As I said, it is a gripping story, but I felt that from the point where suspicion fell on the real culprit to the end, all the usual denouements involved in the tracing/following/capture were compressed into too small a space, as if the author felt taht enough pages had been written, so she should bring it to a close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying instalment for all Tony and Carol fans, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this latest instalment in the Tony Hill series. The aftermath of the devastating events which rocked the lives of pretty much all the key members of Carol's murder squad at the end of the last book are well handled here, although you do have to suspend disbelief a little at Carol's unbending hostility towards Tony. Having said that, the interplay between the main characters is very good, as always, and McDermid's easy prose leads you effortlessly through what is quite a lengthy novel. As other reviewers have mentioned, the key plot is somewhat cliched and you almost feel it is taking second place to the personal trials and tribulations of the regular protagonists. As a result of this, you are really only going to get the best out of this book if you have read the ones that come before it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish crime writer crosses the right bridge and burns some old ones..., 20 Nov. 2013
By 
janebbooks (Jacksonville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Northern England has become a very scary place in several bestselling British crime writers' contemporary novels based on true events. David Peace's quartet which began with Nineteen Seventy Four (Red Riding Quartet, Book One) tells of police corruption set against a backdrop of the Yorkshire Ripper murders that occurred between 1975 and 1980. Scottish crime writer Val McDermid explores the area...one she knows well... in her series of novels loosely grouped together as A WIRE IN THE BLOOD featuring hardboiled DCI Carol Jordan and eccentric psychological profiler Tony Hill. She bases her most infamous villain Jacko Vance on real-life Sir James Wilson Vincent Saville, an English television personality and charity fundraiser. A year after his death, Jimmy Saville was exposed as one of Britain's most prolific pedophiles and molester of underage girls; McDermid had interviewed Saville in 1977.

CROSS AND BURN is the eighth installment of the excellent Carol Jordan/Tony Hill series. At the end of the last disappointing installment The Retribution, this electrifying detective duo had severed both their personal and professional relationship. They are trying to pick up the pieces of their lives destroyed by Vance who had wreaked havoc after escaping from prison. Carol Jordan has resigned from the crack squad at Bradfield's Major Incident Team that she led and is gutting the restored barn where her brother Michael was slaughtered. Tony Hill is living on a houseboat after Vance burns the estate he inherited from his father that he had hoped to share with Carol.

This installment is narrated in part by Paula McIntyre, a former member of Jordan's MIT squad, now promoted to Detective Sergeant who becomes the chief interviewer for a recent case assigned to a new boss, DCI Alex Fielding. Two women, blonde hair, blue eyes, have been savagely beaten and murdered. Same haircut, similar height and build, professional women "who go to work suited up"...dead ringers for ex- DCI Carol Jordan. Paula enlists the help of her friend and profiler, Tony Hill, to find the killer. And looks up her old boss when DCI Fielding arrests a suspect whose DNA is found on the clothing of the first victim.

As Anthony "Tony" Valentine Hill languishes in jail as a major suspect, Paula searches for Carol Jordan. Will Jordan stop burning the bridges of their former relationship and come to Hill's aid?

A late night call to the best criminal defense attorney in Northern England and a Deep Throat meeting in a deserted city-centre car park begins an exciting search for the real killer using "old fashioned coppering with new fashioned methods." Several other members of Jordan's former squad are enlisted to help. And the fans of one Val McDermid are left with 130 pages of pure reading joy!

Welcome back...queen of crime Val McDermid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, as usual, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
With Carol Jordan's crack team being disbanded, Cross and Burn predominantly follows the newly promoted Paula as she, and her new DCI, investigate the disappearance of a number of Bradfield women. However, it doesn't take long before the investigation takes a turn which pulls both Carol and Tony Hill back into fulfilling their old roles

This is the eighth book in the Tony Hill series and can be enjoyed as a stand alone BUT it does contain spoilers for previous books. To really enjoy the series and the character development it's probably better to read through from the beginning, starting with The Mermaids Singjng.

As I've come to expect from Val McDermid, this is a pacey thriller with a fair amount of violence and believable characters, who you come to care about. The short chapters are also a bonus if you're a bedtime reader of someone who has to read on the hop.

Highly recommended, as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always Tony Hill discovers the truth like only he can!!!! Val McDermid at her very best. Cant wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I was very disappointed with this latest 'Tony Hill' book, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
TRENDYWENDY (GREATER LONDON UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with this latest 'Tony Hill' book. I feel that the author is running out of steam in this particular series. It seemed to have been written in a hurry rushing towards the inevitable end. I don't think that there was ever any doubt that Tony and Carol would come together again to carry on their peculiar platonic relationship. It will be interesting to see how the author finally ends this series - which must happen fairly soon I would think - regarding Tony and Carol. An impotent man and a woman approaching the end of her child-bearing years - how will this pan out? This will be the only reason I will read the next book in the series as the recent books do not match up to the early editions. What can match 'The Mermaids Singing? I think the answer is 'nothing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book 8 - another page turner, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just enough of the previous history of the characters to give context for new readers. But suggest any new reader should start at book one.
There is more emphasis on the interpersonal relationships particularly between Hill and Jordan but this doesn't detract from the speed of the book.
As with some of her other books there are sequences which are too convenient for the plot and appear to be a shorthand to cull of a few hundred words which short changes the reader, that said it is still a 5 star read.
The Tony Hill series provides excellent, if violent misogynous serial murder plots, and this book is no different but it does expand on the personalities of the characters involved with good effect.
Waiting for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cross and Burn review, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
I don't normally like the Tony Hill/Carol Jordan books as I find them very grisly. Even though there are terrifying descriptions in "Cross and Burn", it's a terrific mystery that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. Generally, I prefer the Lindsay Gordon and Kate Brannigan books, but this Tony Hill book is a superb read. Both Tony and Carol are now out of the jobs they loved and striving to find new reasons for living after personal and professional losses. The psychological material about regrets and human progress is as compelling as the murder mystery plot. Please, Val McDermid, you have to follow this one up very quickly as I am desperate to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars slowburner, 17 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
After the disappointment of The Retribution (which just seemed to be going through the motions and failed to build any real suspense apart from the nicely worked ending with Tony's mum), I could not see where the author was going with this, especially after I had identified the murderer fairly early on. I thought she had run out of ideas and reached the end of the road. But then, when my expectations were down, with a fine twist the story suddenly sparked into life and the last third marked a convincing return to form as Ms. McDermid enjoyed destroying DCI Fielding, a character created by the TV series (and maybe not with her approval!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross and Burn (Tony Hill)
Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) by Val McDermid (Paperback - 27 Feb. 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews