Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
As always Tony Hill discovers the truth like only he can!!!! Val McDermid at her very best. Cant wait for the next one
Published 3 months ago by Jillybear

versus
43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) A very good book and a mediocre one crushed together
This is a book of two halves: half is excellent as we follow the emotional fall-out of the past which has left Carol Jordan and Tony Hill both severely traumatised and alienated from each other and from the police force. In this part of the book, McDermid shows herself to be a sensitive, emotionally-intelligent writer with a fine streak of darkness running through her...
Published 9 months ago by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) A very good book and a mediocre one crushed together, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a book of two halves: half is excellent as we follow the emotional fall-out of the past which has left Carol Jordan and Tony Hill both severely traumatised and alienated from each other and from the police force. In this part of the book, McDermid shows herself to be a sensitive, emotionally-intelligent writer with a fine streak of darkness running through her fictional world.

The other half is a run-of-the-mill psychopathic, misogynist serial-killer plot where, once again, we are shown a man who hates women and wants to re-make them into Stepford wives. The gratuitous sexual violence is sickening, and the plotting feels half-baked: it's obvious from the start who the perpetrator is because the clues are clumsily dropped and, apart from a single red-herring, there's no-one else it could be. The `investigation' is also all a bit pat, and leaves loose ends (the fingerprint on the phone?).

So this is like a very good book and a mediocre `me-too' one crushed together. I can't work out why McDermid falls back into the generic and derivative when she is clearly capable of so much better: a sop to her long-time fans? publisher pressure? who knows. But the contrast between the two halves demonstrate that she is a far better novelist than this book overall shows.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always Tony Hill discovers the truth like only he can!!!! Val McDermid at her very best. Cant wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars luke warm, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i could not wait to buy this book,but after reading it i felt rather let down.i found it to be rather boring to say the least.I could not wait to finish the book not because it was fab but to read another book,why i hear you say did you finish it.well the answer is easy,i did not won,t to waste 8.99 when buying the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying instalment for all Tony and Carol fans, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this latest instalment in the Tony Hill series. The aftermath of the devastating events which rocked the lives of pretty much all the key members of Carol's murder squad at the end of the last book are well handled here, although you do have to suspend disbelief a little at Carol's unbending hostility towards Tony. Having said that, the interplay between the main characters is very good, as always, and McDermid's easy prose leads you effortlessly through what is quite a lengthy novel. As other reviewers have mentioned, the key plot is somewhat cliched and you almost feel it is taking second place to the personal trials and tribulations of the regular protagonists. As a result of this, you are really only going to get the best out of this book if you have read the ones that come before it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Winning Crime Thriller, 1 Nov 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DCI Carol Jordan has given in her badge and been replaced with ambitious DCI Fielding. Her 'bagman', also a central character of the novel, is DS Paula MacIntyre from the Major Incident Team. Profile psychologist Tony Hill has become detached from detective work since the Jacko Vance killings of Carol's brother and his wife. Carol blames Tony who accepts his error of judgement. Grief and guilt have driven them apart. Val McDermid describes their individual feelings and predicaments beautifully, reflecting on aspects of their longstanding relationship. A serial killer is now on the loose. His victims bear a remarkable resemblance to Carol Jordan. His sadistic torture of his abducted women does not make for comfortable reading. After a friend of Paula's goes missing, Paula uses her initiative to investigate, crossing her new boss who is blinkered to recognising the obvious and following the suspicions of her colleagues that point to the likely killer who stands out early into the novel. Instead she takes a hard line backed up by forensic evidence that implicates the most unlikely suspect killer.

Earlier, Paula has called on Tony Hill for his help that has ramifications that draw Carol Jordan back into the mess that has occurred to try and unravel the misdirected murder inquiry. This is a thrilling page-turner of a novel. Paula McIntyre is easily warmed to as a character who is a committed professional also struggling with her personal life as opposed to DCI Fielding who is not one for admitting mistakes. The saga of Carol Jordan and Tony Hill may have taken a side step to the psychopathic murderer but their plight seemed better written and of more interest than the horrific crimes he committed. Where Val McDermid takes them from here is another matter. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel as with most of this author's works.
Hardback Review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 18 July 2014
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
Like quite a few of the other reviews I found that the book ended very suddenly and with an incredible clearing up of the crime.....even for fiction it was stretching it that anyone could track down a single individual in less than 24 hrs & unmask them as a killer. I haven't read a Val McDermid for a while & I got this one on audiobook for the car while I'm commuting. It was entertaining & passed the hours but definitely stretches credibility & leaves loose threads. Maybe Val is planning a follow up now that she's got the team back together...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hurrah, 12 Mar 2014
By 
P. C. Langman "dracoustic" (sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
..and I havn't read any other reviews.

Last book , Vanishing Point, was the occasional dud but McDermid is back on more familiar ground...perhaps even too familiar given that you probably need to have read the other Tony Hill books to follow the (sub) plot.

It has its flaws (some leaden dialogue, a narrow cast of whodunnit, I'm on page 300.and reckon I know) and not for the first time so far the lesbian count is higher than the body one.

But I don't care..because last night it was 3am before I put the book down and I shall finish it tonight.

Readable page-turning is all I want from a crime thriller..and on form no-one does it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) (Paperback)
great gripping reading. Can't put it down, read it in a couple of days, then read it again slowly. Keep writing them please Val!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four star, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read as usual!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ulterior motive?, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of McDermid and the characters of Tony and Carol. This novel wasn't the best example of Val' s work but still a good read. But is it just me or do I get the hint that McDermid did not like the character of Alex Fielding who was created first for the TV adaptation? The character of Fielding in the book was not at all flattering and ends up with her career down the pan yet in the TV series Fielding and Tony become good friends and she is a more than able replacement for Carol. I suspect McDermid was not consulted on the introduction of Fielding on screen and took her revenge out on the character in this book. Not a criticism I just found it intriguing and quite amusing. What is a criticism is that once again the plot revolves round a serial killer brutally torturing and murdering women. I'm not targeting McDermid alone in this, I'm just growing a bit tired of it as a plot and particularly the gruesome and vivid description of the women's treatment. The genre including the Tony/Carol series needs shaking up and refreshing. That said I will look forward to the next visit to Bradfield just hopefully with a revitalised plotline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross and Burn (Tony Hill)
Cross and Burn (Tony Hill) by Val McDermid (Paperback - 27 Feb 2014)
6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews