Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dolls house
I gave this book five stars as it was an excellent read. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a mixture of crime and psychology.
Published 12 months ago by katymay

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Macabra and sexually violent....
My word, this really is NOT my kind of book and can't say that I would have enjoyed if I had persevered with it. Dealing with gay life-styles and the sexual implications there-of and the whole S&M experience being explored and high-lighted was not my idea of a good read. Sorry if I could have given it a zero I would have. Thank you
Published 2 days ago by ***Jesus Loves YOU!***


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dolls house, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this book five stars as it was an excellent read. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a mixture of crime and psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagerly awaited, 23 Nov 2013
By 
J. H. Smith "Shushygirl69" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll's House (Brennan and Esposito) (Paperback)
And not disappointed. Can't get enough of Tania Carver!!! Brennen and Esposito are back to full strength, out to catch the criminals. Nice little twist with a change of location. A fan must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not put this book down, well written and well thought out storyline. A fantastic read, looking forward to read her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dolls house, 9 Dec 2013
Omg not what I was expecting, was so not going to read after the first murder but I just couldn't turn my kindle off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new location but the same problems, 4 July 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following the previous novels where the activities of serial killers came a little too close to Marina and Phil (and baby Josephina) for comfort they relocate to Birmingham. Marina gets a job in the university and Phil joins the murder team in the local police force. Soon Phil is immersed in a gruesome and strange murder investigation with a team he is having to learn to trust and strange things have happened to Marina. Very shortly afterwards it becomes apparent that both of them are personally involved in what is happening and that lives may be at risk if they do not solve the mystery quickly.

As is usual in this series of books the mystery is convoluted and nothing is quite as it seems. The pace is quick and the new characters are realistic and interesting. The story is nowhere near as gruesome as the publicity may make you believe although it is true that this is not a cosy murder and there are some very nasty perversions at the heart of the plot.

I was dismayed that yet again the investigator and their family was at threat in this book. Will the author(s) ever give Phil and Marina a break ? I was also concerned that again the story revolves around Marina not sharing something with other people - you would have thought that she would have learned better after her experience in the last book or also because she is a psychologist who should really know why she is hiding things and rise above it.

All in all, however, this is a gripping read with plenty of action and a clever puzzle at the heart of the book. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully Gruesome, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hooked from page 1 - a delightfully gruesome writing that didn't disappoint! Tania Carver never fails to draw her readers into the depths of humanity. Roll on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a tea party you want to be invited to!, 12 Nov 2013
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Doll's House is the fifth in the Brennan and Esposito series. After the shock ending of the last book Marina Esposito is now working at the university in Birmingham and DI Phil Brennan has joined the police there. A new start with baby Josephine... what could go wrong?

Well... Phil quickly gets involved in the most strange of murder investigations after a woman is found dead, strangely she is dressed as a doll and sat as if she was drinking a cup of tea at a doll's tea party.

Tania Carver raises the tension swiftly and it never lets up throughout the book. With a dual narrative giving the reader insight into the killer's mind this book is nothing short of shocking. Although this isn't the first time dual narrative has been used in a crime novel in this book it soon becomes apparent that everything may not be quite as it first seems. The reader can work alongside the police trying to guess the motive of this most gruesome of murders.

Living in a new location both Brennan and Esposito have new colleagues to meet and new bonds to make, for Phil this isn't going to be straightforward with a certain level of resentment surrounding his new role. Marina is also finding her feet with her university colleagues when strange things begin to happen.

As with the previous books in this series the author doesn't hold back on gore, this is not reading for the faint-hearted, however if you are feeling brave this is a really good read and I for one am looking forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very traffic, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is best one yet , it's very dark she is very good at delving deep into the dark side of humanity .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll's House (Brennan and Esposito) (Paperback)
I have read all of Tania Carver's books to date and have not been let down with this. She has a way of building up tension and although I had an inkling of what the outcome might be I was, nevertheless, engrossed and amazed at the ending. I can really recommend this creepy, but well written, book. Cannot wait for the next.. For anyone who has not read 'Cage of Bones' I can really recommend it - gripping to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doll's House, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"The Doll's House" is another great read from Tania Carver. The action has switched to Birmingham now, and there are new characters to meet, but they were well fleshed out. It had all the plot twists and turns the reader has come to expect from Carver. A thrilling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doll's House (Brennan and Esposito)
The Doll's House (Brennan and Esposito) by Tania Carver (Paperback - 12 Sep 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews