Customer Reviews


955 Reviews
5 star:
 (511)
4 star:
 (257)
3 star:
 (113)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and enjoyable story
This book was first brought to my attention by a member of the Kindlers Club book club. I doubt I would have read the book had it not been selected as the December read.

The book tells the stories of a host of characters in Kabul, Afghanistan. The link amongst them all is the coffeehouse of the title. This is definitely a book focusing on the lives of women...
Published 19 months ago by Jonnyboy (Jonathan)

versus
69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
To compare this with The Kite Runner or a Hundred Thousand Splendid Suns is like comparing Barbara Cartland with Shakespeare. I bought the book because I found those other 2 books moving and well written, this let down in all aspects. I found the characters one dimensional and the few good points of the book were lost in a schmaltzy overlay that didn't engage me.
Published 8 months ago by seal


‹ Previous | 145 46 4796 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee at its best, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking read didn't want to put it down,
The people became alive very well written and thought out
Laughed and cried all way through can recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRING., 29 Jan 2014
Loved this book. The resilience of these Afghan women,the obstacles they face,how brave are. Wonderful my admiration for them and all who stand by them is huge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great insight into Afghanistan, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was unexpectedly good and gave insight into the appalling life many women have in Afghanistan I knew it was bad but it is worse than that and I am sure the real horrors were to a certain extent hidden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good insight into Afghanistan?, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While the story is a bit corner, the book does seem to give a good insight into life in Afghanistan both from a Western and a local viewpoint. Worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first Deborah Rodriguez book I have read and it is incredible. The characters really come alive and the book gives you a real in site into the lives of women in Afghanistan. Each woman has her own strengths be it organisational , kindness, hands on, or the ability to help with the worries and health of other individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was like sitting on a time bomb - expecting something to happen with every page. Perhaps a tad cliched but enjoyable non the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The little coffee shop of kabul, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An iwell written and different story. I found it interesting,especially as Kabul has been in the news so much recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and humbling, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was quite shocked about the reality of how life really is in AFghanistan. Yet these brave women fight on everyday in the hope things might improve. The story was fascinating funny and sad making this book hard to put down. Wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read but. to a classic, 28 Jan 2014
By 
B. M. Kearney "celticman" (Dumfries, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is an easy enough read but is quite light. Although it deals with issues about Afghanistan, there is too much reference to American things and people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of those books that I found easy to read. Maybe a little bit light weight in places and a bit of a Mills and Boon happy ending but otherwise an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 145 46 4796 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul
The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul by Deborah Rodriguez (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews