Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a perfect Christmas read xXx
My favourite book of 2011 was easily Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan. The storyline left you all warm and fuzzy inside and the characters seemed to play on your mind for weeks after finishing the book so imagine my delight when sorting out our Christmas book when I am told Jenny Colgan is releasing a Christmas book and not just any Christmas book but back with...
Published on 25 Oct. 2012 by realovesbooks

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Christmas read...
I love nothing more than a good Christmas book and try to cram as many in as possible! I do own 'Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe' but haven't got round to reading it - I really don't like to read books out of order but decided to start this as it was a Christmassy read. At the start of the book there is a little description of the previous book, which gets you up to...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by C. Rucroft


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a perfect Christmas read xXx, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
My favourite book of 2011 was easily Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan. The storyline left you all warm and fuzzy inside and the characters seemed to play on your mind for weeks after finishing the book so imagine my delight when sorting out our Christmas book when I am told Jenny Colgan is releasing a Christmas book and not just any Christmas book but back with our characters who we know and love!

Issy Randall, proud owner of The Cupcake Cafe, is in love and couldn't be happier. Her new business is thriving and she is surrounded by close friends, even if her cupcake colleagues Pearl and Caroline don't seem quite as upbeat about the upcoming season of snow and merriment. But when her boyfriend Austin is scouted for a possible move to New York, Issy is forced to face up to the prospect of a long-distance romance. And when the Christmas rush at the cafe - with its increased demand for her delectable creations - begins to take its toll, Issy has to decide what she holds most dear. This December, Issy will have to rely on all her reserves of courage, good nature and cinnamon, to make sure everyone has a merry Christmas, one way or another . . .

This is the first sequel Jenny Colgan has released and what a hit this is going to be. Meeting back with all of our favourite characters it doesn't take long to fall into step with their lives a year on. Even if you didn't get to read the authors previous book you will still be able to read this as a standalone book as at the beginning of the book the author gives us a brief summary of the first book so don't hesitate and pick this one up ( and the first one whilst you are at it ;-)

This book is oozing with festivity with decorations, present buying and wrapping and that lovely Christmas dinner for all to enjoy this will definitely get you in the Christmas spirit. The storyline focuses more on the characters lives and relationships now rather than the cafe but don't threat we are still treated to many mouth watering recipes throughout the book! I loved that the book was a mystery right the way through never quite knowing how things will pan out.

I was hoping for a different ending for Pearl but that is just me being a hopeless romantic. I do wonder if this is the last we will see of these characters I personally feel as though there are still a few things not tied up so I am hoping that we may have a book 3 looming!

The cover of this book is beautiful and festive with its wintery blue colour theme which seems to be very popular this year and has an added touch of Christmas objects around the border but yet the book still has the signature Jenny Colgan look to it.

Looking for something warm and cosy to wrap up and read this Christmas then Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delicious, 8 Jan. 2013
After reading meet me at the cupcake cafe, Christmas at the cupcake Cafe was a complete MUST read, and I was not disappointed. I LOVE The Cupcake Cafe, and if Caroline finds herself a new rich man, I'd work there in a stir of a mixer :) Would Love love love a follow up, in 2014 or so .. Valentines at the Cupcake Cafe ... just image the recipies .. x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Christmas read..., 9 Dec. 2012
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I love nothing more than a good Christmas book and try to cram as many in as possible! I do own 'Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe' but haven't got round to reading it - I really don't like to read books out of order but decided to start this as it was a Christmassy read. At the start of the book there is a little description of the previous book, which gets you up to speed.

The story follows Issy and her friends as she prepares to celebrate Christmas. She owns the cupcake cafe and is relatively happy with her life, having met Austin and his brother Darney. That is until Austin goes to New York... There is a nice balance between all the characters lives - Pearl and her little boy, Louis, Caroline and her divorce.

This book just really lacked something for me. I found it rushed at times and there wasn't as much of the cupcake cafe as I would have liked. It didn't give me the Christmassy feeling I expect from a Christmas book.

The recipes were of no interest to me as I cannot stand buttercream, but I did read them. Colgan came across as quite bossy in them - do this, don't do this. It just annoyed me. I do agree with another reviewer that these would have been better at the back of the book as they were distracting and they broke up the flow of the story.

All in all, not bad but I have read better Christmas books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Christmassy story with recipes for you to try!, 26 Oct. 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Paperback)
I love Jenny Colgan's novels, and I especially loved Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe, which is the book before this one. But don't panic if you haven't read it, as Christmas At The Cupcake Cafe can be read as a standalone, and what is even better is that Jenny herself has written an authors note at the beginning which lists the important characters and sums up their current situation/what went on in the last book. So if you haven't yet had the chance to read the first book, or like me, you are always grateful of a little reminder, then have no fear because Jenny brings you right up to speed so that you start the story knowing exactly what is going on with each character. Brilliant!

I thoroughly enjoyed this one from Jenny Colgan - It is Christmassy, it is fun, it is festive, and it makes you fall in love with baking all over again. I loved that throughout the book, there are many recipes provided, such as gingerbread, mince pies, cookies and cupcakes. I'm going to be honest, I did feel very hungry throughout (it might be wise to make sure you perhaps have a chocolate bar to read this with!), and as well as looking forward to re-reading such a fabulous book, I am also very excited about trying out all of these recipes and getting stuck in with some baking!

I really liked the main characters in the book, I easily warmed to them, and I honestly can't fault a single character - they were all very well developed throughout the story and I felt as though I knew them as well as if they were my best friends. I liked that as readers we saw things from the perspectives of each character, and I loved how no character was the same. For example, the three wonderful ladies at the Cupcake Cafe - They were all so different with their own worries and contrasting personalities, but put together in a Cafe, made the best of friends. I LOVED the character of Issy especially, she really stood out for me even more so in this book, and I very much enjoyed my time with her. Louis, Pearl's son, was absolutely adorable and his parts always put a smile on my face.

This is one of my favourite books that I have read recently, and it has been raining here so I've spent my time inside curled up with Christmas At The Cupcake Cafe, and it has definitely brightened my week! It left me with a warm glowing feeling, and since reading it I have not stopped talking about it! Christmas At The Cupcake Cafe is the perfect treat for readers, it is comforting, it is exciting and it is filled with Christmassy goodness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness, Joyful and Magical, 22 July 2014
"Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe" is the first sequel to be writen by Jenny Colgan, it is set about a year after her story called "Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe."
The story follows a young girl named Issy Randall, who is the owner and baker at the cupcake cafe. The cafe is based in London, which Issy runs with her best friends; Pearl and Caroline. Issy also has a boyfriend called Austin who is looking after his younger brother after their parents passed away.
In Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe, Issy is excited about the upcoming season, that is Christmas.
Issy's Gramps is one of the best bakers and she loved to cook with him when she was little, which lead her on to opening Cupcake Cafe. Pearl also works at the cupcake cafe and has a son called Louis, who she raises on her own but Louis father does drop by from time to time to spend time with him. Caroline was married but now is divorcing her husband whilst still working in the cupcake cafe.
Issy's Boyfriend Austin is the local bank manager who has a little brother called Darny. He has had to raise his brother after there parents died.
This Christmas at the cupcake cafe is going to experience a lot of new and exciting things. there will be laughter, happiness, fulliment and most of all cupcakes.
If I had to sum this story up in three words they would be Happiness, Joyful and Magical.
When reading this story I found myself getting into the christmas spirit (even though it is only November) as it is everything you want in a book. It is one of the best christmas books I have read and will definitely read it again.
What made the story even better was the recipes that were included in the book, I will be definitely be making the recipes to enjoy over the christmas season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmassy and festive, 30 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Paperback)
This book has been waiting patiently to be read by me for some months, as I couldn't really face to read a book with a title "Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe" sometime in summer. But this time has arrived and I finally found a little time to squeeze it between books that I have for review.

It was really great to say hello to Issy, Pearl, Caroline and the whole Cupcake Cafe company again. Good to see that the Cafe stands firmly on its legs and is doing good and that now it is actually private lives of all the characters that make more troubles.
Austin is being head - hunted to New York and offered a job there, while Issy has her Cafe and Austin's brother, moody Darney to take care of. Pearl is again struggling to make the both end meets Caroline is still in the process of divorcing the bastard, Helena is under her daughter's thumb and all of them are going to learn their lessons: what is really most important in life.

Issy is again a warm and funny character, full of Christmas cheer and her recipes are just great. I am myself a big cupcakes and baking fan and I really plan to try some of the delicious food that she serves. The recipes are really a fantastic bonus. But back to Issy, she's so sweet and cute that one could eat her but there is a way in this sweetness: she's also likeable, normal and she put all others before her and I'd like to have her as a friend, really, and not only because she can fantastically bake and is the owner of one of the most wonderful cafes in the world. It's just an extra.
And while I really liked the story of Issy and Austin, I couldn't be more delighted to find much more Pearl and Caroline in the book, especially Caroline, she is ridiculous, I know, but nevertheless she is also funny in this coldness, actually she is soft like a lamb's fur under the mask of cold, hard - minded woman. Helena, the sparkly and direct wonderful and funny Helena, has turned into baby - bore and mozilla - mother and I must admit, I don't know how Issy could cope with her. I have a little baby of my own but really never have I bored my friends with stories about her developing. Only if they wanted.

I have read many books that take place in New York but I think none of them has made want to go there as much as this one. all is described in a soft, subtle way and I just long to go and see this all with my own eyes. There were not many descriptions of the city but those what we got was enough for me. So next to Portofino - New York, here I come.

The end doesn't belong to my favourite ones, it was too rushed to me, I have expected and hoped for another one but well, perhaps it is time for another Issy and Cupcake Cafe's adventure? It is a perfect sequel but can also be read as a stand - alone novel, so those of you who hasn't read "Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe" should not miss anything, although I must admit that it was much more enjoyable to be able to see how the characters are doing after reading the first book. In my opinion not every book deserves a sequel, as it is trendy lately, especially in writing short stories, but here I was really glad to see the memorable characters.

Altogether, it was a warm, enjoyable Christmas read. It's comforting and it leaves you hungry and wanting a cupcake immediately. It has left me in a festive spirit. It's infused with humour and actually has all that chick - lit fans expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Warm Christmas Read, 10 Dec. 2013
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Paperback)
For those who have already read Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe, this is a welcome back to a cast of characters who feel like old friends. For new readers, it's a chance to meet them all for the first time, and the story stands alone well as Jenny Colgan has helpfully included a brief introduction to set the scene.

A year ago Issy launched her new venture; The Cupcake Cafe. The cafe is successful and has become a firm favourite in the neighbourhood. Issy has found a guy who she thinks might be the one. Austin works in a bank and looks after his younger brother Darny, it's not the career that he dreamt of but when their parents were killed in a car accident, Austin was determined that he would raise Darny. All seems well until Austin finds himself in New York and overwhelmed by the offer of a possible career move. A move that would see him earn much more money and would allow Darny to attend a school that really understands and develops him.

Issy has a huge decision to make. Her friends and supporters all live in England. Pearl and her young son Louis who struggle on a daily basis to pay the bills. Caroline, the materialistic soon-to-be divorcee and Helena with her new family. How would Issy cope without them? How would the cafe cope without Issy?

Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe is a funny and poignant story that will warm the heart and inject a hefty dose of Christmas spirit into the reader's life. Jenny Colgan's characters bounce from the page as they grow and develop throughout the story. Packed with juicy recipes, decorations and snow, this is the perfect Christmas read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I want to see more of them:-), 11 Feb. 2013
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hate to admit this but only picked up my very first Jenny Colgan book towards the end of last year (yes I know it's ridiculous) but that book was The Cupcake Café. I devoured it and was thrilled when I realised there was a follow up book that had just been released. I eagerly picked up this one, Christmas at The Cupcake Café, and couldn't wait to see where Issy was in her world.

For those that maybe haven't read the first one, fear not this can still be read as a stand-alone. However, it was so much more enjoyable being able to go back and see how all the characters were getting on. Issy took the plunge in book one and started up her very own Cupcake Café. We now go back to the café to find Issy, along with her two workers Pearl and Caroline running the café in their usual no-nonsense way. Issy is in love with her boyfriend Austin who works at a local bank, and things seem to be going smoothly for her. That is until Austin is called away on business to New York.

The distance between them is the start of things going very wrong for Issy and pretty soon it seems that nothing is the same as before and she has no control over things. The one major difference between this book and the last although I still wanted to know about Issy, I was also really keen to see more of Pearl and Caroline. Although Issy is the main character, Jenny Colgan has done a stellar job of making the reader really engage with all the characters. Austin's younger brother Darney, Issy's mother, Doti the Postman, they all caught on with me and I just wanted to keep reading about all of them.

This book didn't have nearly as much impact with me as the first (not sure why), but this certainly isn't to say I didn't enjoy it. I really enjoyed it and as usual it took me only two days to read it. The one thing I love is that these characters are memorable; I would really love to see the return of not just Issy but the other characters too. The story itself was good, but like I said just didn't have as much impact as the first. There is the addition of recipes all the way through the book which is a really nice touch, although it did make me quite hungry more often than not. Having finished it I am eagerly planning on getting stuck to other Jenny Colgan books. Another really good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mouth watering read., 4 Jan. 2013
This review was originally published on [...]

This is one of those books that makes your mouth water as you read it. If you are a real foodie and a sucker for something sweet, then you will struggle not to eat as you read this book. Your taste buds are hijacked as each chapter gives you a tried and tested recipe to try before you even take a step into the Cupcake Café where you can almost smell the intoxicating aromas of the baking ingredients used to make the Cupcake Café so special.

This book is the second book set in the Cupcake Café following on from the extremely successful Meet Me At The Cupcake Café. Not once while reading it did I feel like I had missed out on not reading the first book. Right before the story begins, the author gives us a run down of what happened in the previous book, thankfully dismissing the need for a hefty amount of back story in the novel which I hate. So well done to the author for recapping the previous book separately - it was definitely something I would like to see in more series.

This book is set over the month of December and Issy has to make an important decision. The love of life, Austin has been offered a life changing job in New York and would be an utter fool to turn it down, especially as his future in the UK banking industry had begun to look dubious due to the recession. Yet Issy cannot work out what she wants to do. She loves her café like a child and the thought of giving it up, really causes her a lot of pain. You feel her grief and find yourself wanting to step in and run the café for her. Issy has to learn to trust the people around her and accept change and the story follows her journey to dealing with these things. The story is told from alternating viewpoints from all the adult characters and you get to see how each one thinks and feels about the oncoming festivities and the changes occurring around them.

The book travels between London and New York which I thoroughly loved. New York at Christmas is one of my ideal destinations and just reading about it made me want to go so much. One day I intend to experience this magical city during the season of goodwill for myself.

This book was a lovely companion to the festive season. It was romantic yet real. You get to see how tough Christmas can be for families during the recession and how people come together to make everyone enjoy Christmas. Definitely a feel good novel for the festive season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packs a punch like a Christmas Pudding!, 20 Dec. 2012
Issy, proud owner of the Cupcake Cafe, a quaint little cupcake shop in Stoke Newton (a district of London), couldn't be happier. Her relationship with banker entrepreneur, Austin, is blossoming; business at the cafe was booming and Christmas was around the corner.

When Austin is offered a job at a bank in New York and invites Issy and his eleven-year-old brother, Drany, to fly to New York in the hopes that Issy will fall in love with the city and consider moving to New York, the bubbles on Issy's cappuccino begins to burst. Will Issy face the possibility of a long distance relationship? Will she lose Austin to the glory of the Big Apple and a little waitress at a New York Cafe who sells awful cupcakes laden with oil and chemicals? Can Issy leave her home, her dream job that she started at the Cupcake cafe, and friends behind to start life with Austin in the Big Apple? I'll leave it to the reader to find out.

I really enjoyed this festive book. To me, Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe, is a Christmas pudding of a book......rich, dense and full of fruity flavour which burst in your mouth, flooding your taste buds with the flavours of Christmas. The characters are well-rounded and come to life. I enjoyed the scene where Pearl, one of Issy's employees is left to mind the fort at the Cupcake Cafe and train a new employee, Maya, who cant get the hang of the coffee machine, leaving unsatisfied customers waiting for their Java fix. Worse, Pearl explodes the mixer, which drips strawberry cake mix all over the walls and ceiling. I particularly liked the twist at the end where both Issy and Austin fly in opposite directions across the pond to be with each other. The book also includes tips and recipes and an excerpt from Jenny's new book, The Loveliest Chocolate shop in Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe
Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan (Paperback - 10 Oct. 2013)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews