Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Montanari - The Killing Room
This is the 7th outing for our Philadelphia Homicide detectives Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano. This time around the 2 detectives are investigating a series of brutal murders taking place in abandoned churches in the city. But at each crime scene the killer is purposefully leaving behind clues as to where the next body will be found; making a pretty exciting game of cat...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by molko

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Losing his way.....
I am afraid to say Richard Montanari is losing his way. He has two really excellent characters in Byrne and Balzano and interesting incidental colleagues but he seems so hell bent on coming up with ever more complicated storylines, he is ruining his books. In this book his side issue with Gabriel Hightower and DeRon Wilson was more interesting than the main storyline but...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by A. F. Prestwich


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Montanari - The Killing Room, 7 Jun 2012
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 7th outing for our Philadelphia Homicide detectives Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano. This time around the 2 detectives are investigating a series of brutal murders taking place in abandoned churches in the city. But at each crime scene the killer is purposefully leaving behind clues as to where the next body will be found; making a pretty exciting game of cat and mouse.

As usual Montanari's writing is superb. His prose is reminiscent of Jonathan Kellerman's and his thrills are unrivaled in the genre. The leading characters are an absolute joy to read and there's a pretty good group of secondary characters that make the whole series more enjoyable. The only thing stopping me giving this book 5 stars is that I feel the story could have been slightly better, but that said it is still a jolly good read and I'd recommend it to pretty much anyone. This one can be read as a standalone but if you'd rather start at the beginning pick up a copy of The Rosary Girls and treat yourself to an absolutely riveting series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Killing Room, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read all Richard Montanari's books and he does not disappoint. Doesn't let up on the suspense. I recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great psycho read, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Montanari played with my head again! I love books that play with your mind without the need for loads of blood an gore. He is a very clever chap. Give him a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Killing Room, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is AMAZING! Could not put it down! Love the whole Richard Montanari books but this is my favourite yet. Can't wait until he brings out the next one. Huge fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Losing his way....., 6 Mar 2012
By 
A. F. Prestwich (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am afraid to say Richard Montanari is losing his way. He has two really excellent characters in Byrne and Balzano and interesting incidental colleagues but he seems so hell bent on coming up with ever more complicated storylines, he is ruining his books. In this book his side issue with Gabriel Hightower and DeRon Wilson was more interesting than the main storyline but even that ended in a ridiculous fashion. I will probably try another of his down the line but in the near future I will be giving him a miss. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Friends return with new scares for you, 20 Feb 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
OK, you're at a loose end and want something to scare the hell out of you whilst being safely tucked up in bed, with a warm duvet and a big glass of something alcoholic. You want a story that could happen in the real world, investigated by full fleshed out characters that have grown through their previous outings and are of course old friends to you. So what are you going to reach for?

Well at the moment, I'd have to recommend Richard Montanari's latest, The Killing Room. It has great characters, the prose is ideal and of course with top notch dialogue backed up with a wonderful pace, it's a book that's hard to put down. (Although let us just say don't leave the bottle nearby as quietening your nerves "medicinally" may well be the type of phrase used that also equates to "I don't feel well, tell the boss I'm sick.") Don't get me wrong, this book has plenty of scare for all but when you add the authors unnerving ability to creep under your skin and to make each sound you hear something else, this may well be the book to make you sleep with the lights on. Great stuff all in and a book for me that puts Richard back up to form. I'll eagerly be awaiting his next outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Killer of a Thriller, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Chris High "Chris H" (Wirral, Merseyside,England) - See all my reviews
This seventh out for Philadelphia Detectives Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano is absolutely everything you would expect from a Richard Montanari novel; terrific tension, superb prose, a credible yet manifestly dark plotline and an enthralling, enrapturing pace all add up to what is sure to be one of the crime novels of the year.
In the heart of Philadelphia's badlands, Homicide Detectives Byrne and Balzano are called out to a particularly chilling crime scene. Once the pillar of the neighbourhood, an abandoned church has become a killing room. At first it looks like a random act of violence. But then a second body is found, and a third. Each crime scene more disturbing than the last, each murder more brutal. And it soon becomes horrifyingly clear that a cold, calculating and terrifyingly precise mind is at work.With very few leads, and a mastermind who always seems to be one step ahead, Byrne and Balzano are faced with challenges they could never have imagined.
An author who has earned from critics and peers such as Tess Gerritsen alike, Montanari has once again nailed exactly what it is that encapsulates the great crime fiction novel. Yet it is the two central protagonists who shine above all else, thanks to the fact that cease being players on a printed page and, instead, evolve into three-dimensional, walking, talking people before the reader's mind's eye with such beauty and clarity it is a delight to witness.
It is the subtlety of the author's touch - even when describing the most hideous or heart-wrenching moments, of which there are many in The Killing Room - that truly mark Richard Montanari down as one of the finest exponents currently working in the genre and, thus, encourages the pages to fly over.
A breath taking read that is guaranteed to have those who read it quivering in anticipation of the duo's next outing.
Chris High
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Montanari on top form again. A real page turner! I am a real fan of the Byrne and Balzano series, can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read, fast paced I couldn't put it down.
Keep writing Byrne and balzano... they a fab team! If you never read any Richard s books start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Killing Room (Byrne and Balzano)
The Killing Room (Byrne and Balzano) by Richard Montanari (Paperback - 28 Mar 2013)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews