Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next to Die
Two brothers one a Criminal Defence Lawyer who has a reputation for 'getting them off', the other a Police Officer whose job is to put them away....their worlds collide when events from the past are brought up and linked to the present.

I loved this book. It did take a few chapters to get into but as it progressed I found myself absorbed in this well written...
Published 18 months ago by Big Bertha

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
Having read all of Neil Whites previous novels I was really looking forward to diving into this one. However I was very disappointed as I didn't warm to the character s the same and I felt it was very obvious what was going to happen and I couldn't believe how naive the lawyer was and how long it took the police to discover what was happening. I would still read more...
Published 15 months ago by Nicola Ramsden


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next to Die, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
Two brothers one a Criminal Defence Lawyer who has a reputation for 'getting them off', the other a Police Officer whose job is to put them away....their worlds collide when events from the past are brought up and linked to the present.

I loved this book. It did take a few chapters to get into but as it progressed I found myself absorbed in this well written thriller that had a serial killer on the loose and the two brothers racing against time to find him.

An atmospheric thriller, the author writes in a descriptive manner that brings to life the stark, dismal areas that this book is set in. The scene setting, characterisation and tension is almost perfect and the storyline moves along at a good pace....right to the nail-biting, tension filled ending. Told from the perspective of both brothers with snippets from the killer thrown in that make your skin crawl, this book keeps moving and there's a particularly brilliant chapter where the killer is portrayed playing the 'game' with their victim.....no sleep for me that night!

A great read and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book. Twists and turns,great characters and a fantastic story line. A must read. I would definitely recommend this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
A great read as,always . I have enjoyed every Neil White book and look forward to the next t one. Great story that keeps you going to the end .characters are very true to life ,the sort of people you can imagine going about their business
Would recommend this book to anyone who likes,a,good crime story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of the seat stuff!, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
Neil White 's books are always a treat to read & this is no exception. Racing towards a thrilling finale in an abandoned railway station this was a real can't turn the page quick enough read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant thriller, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
Next to Die is Neil White at his best. I really enjoyed his latest thriller. Similar style to Mo Hayder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
Having read all of Neil Whites previous novels I was really looking forward to diving into this one. However I was very disappointed as I didn't warm to the character s the same and I felt it was very obvious what was going to happen and I couldn't believe how naive the lawyer was and how long it took the police to discover what was happening. I would still read more Neil White books but I have to say I couldn't wait to finish this one as I lost interest halfway through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
Love this author and the characters in this book and the story had so many twists and turns didn't no where the book would go to next hope not last one with these characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I wonder why....., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
I wonder why.....
‘Next To Die’ (2013) by Neil White is a very effective thriller. It is centred on two brothers haunted by the murder of their teenage sister fifteen years before. Joe Parker is a Defence lawyer and initially I noted the how the treatment resembled John Grisham’s books although set in Manchester and not Mississippi. Sam Parker is a policeman dealing with fraud but anxious to join the Murder Squad. Both are drawn into the murder case against Ronnie Bagley whose wife and child have disappeared. Is he linked to the recent disappearances of four girls? To help solve this case Sam is drafted into the Murder Squad initially in order to interview a convicted serial killer, Ben Grant, and here I was reminded of the saga of Hannibal Lecter by Thomas Harris. Is Grant manipulative like Darryl Cullum in the film ‘Copycat’ (1995) or is somebody avenging his own incarceration or is he just a blind alley? Don’t make up your mind too soon. What about Ronnie – or that creepy outsider, his landlord?
After setting the scene in the first half, the book really takes off. The reader’s already glimpsed the killer the action and already been introduced to several suitable victims. Now’s the time to find out who’s next to die – but I won’t spoil it by supplying any more information.
Criticisms? The climax in or near Mayfield Station, Manchester, is disjointed and far too long – with long speeches! As I saw it, the principal questions for any reader were who were the villains and why were they doing it. The ‘who’ I’d sorted out in the first half but the ‘why’ eluded me, even after the explanations provided by the characters. I suppose I must fall back on the good old stock answer that some individuals are just plain EVIL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite yet, 20 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Next to Die (Paperback)
Joe is criminal defence lawyer in Manchester, one or two levels above `seedy'. His brother Sam is a detective. Fifteen or so years before their adolescent sister Ellie was abducted, raped and murdered. Bagley is accused of murdering his girlfriend Carrie and their daughter, though there are no bodies. Bagley switches solicitors because he wants Joe to defend him. Joe has him released on bail.

NEXT TO DIE is not a first rate gritty crime thriller, but it is certainly very near the top of the second rate. It's cleverly enough constructed, the writing is good enough and the scenario sufficiently original. There are more than enough flaws but at the same time, it remains rock solid and `good enough'. It's constructed in true Chandler style with three scenarios woven into one.

There are number of faults, but only one is `serious'. The prose style is completely flat - `Val McDermid' - with no stylistic gambits whatsoever; the corollary of this is that the book is free from stylistic disasters, which is refreshing. The pacing is slightly erratic. The biggest fault I see with most thrillers is the author trying to set up a series in book one, with cumbersome intrusions of back story. White manages to set himself up well without it getting in the way at all.

The only problem is that there is too much thriller and not enough mystery. By about chapter 50 of 75 or so, there is nothing left but running around and shouting. There are no red herrings at all, no surprises, no false trails and no extraneous characters. It's far to straight and takes on something of the feel or a slasher, with no slashing going on. This means that the book is effectively `finished' with a third left to go. It really is all over bar the shouting at that point and I'm not really interested in shouting.

There is no doubt that thriller writers learn their craft by writing, perhaps more than any other class of writer. There will certainly be more from White, and it will certainly be better, but NEXT TO DIE is more than good enough for me to want more from the author, but maybe this is just not quite `there' enough yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next to Die (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Once you start every page keeps you on the edge of your seat. Have to finish the book before you go to sleep, otherwise you might miss something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Next to Die
Next to Die by Neil White (Paperback - 16 Jan. 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews