Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a perfect Christmas read xXx
My favourite book of 2011 was easily Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan. The storyline left you all warm and fuzzy inside and the characters seemed to play on your mind for weeks after finishing the book so imagine my delight when sorting out our Christmas book when I am told Jenny Colgan is releasing a Christmas book and not just any Christmas book but back with...
Published 18 months ago by realovesbooks

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Christmas read...
I love nothing more than a good Christmas book and try to cram as many in as possible! I do own 'Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe' but haven't got round to reading it - I really don't like to read books out of order but decided to start this as it was a Christmassy read. At the start of the book there is a little description of the previous book, which gets you up to...
Published 16 months ago by C. Rucroft


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A nice sequel, 11 Nov 2012
By 
W. May (PORTSMOUTH, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoyed the first book, you'll like this follow up. I won't go into the storyline in case you haven't read the first one - but this one us just as easy a read. I can't help thinking there might be a third book in there somewhere. It leaves you wanting to find out what happens next. The recipes are a great bonus....will be giving some of them a go, as an avid baker of cupcakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic read!!, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Hardcover)
I am an avid fan of Jenny Colgan, and her latest book does not disappoint. After meeting up with Issy and Austin in "Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe" this new read carries on with the storyline, and where their lives take them. I absolutely must try the recipes in this book, and please please we need a third book in this series! We can't leave Issy and Austin in New York, what about Pearl and the Ben/Doti love triangle?? You will not be disappointed if you buy this book, but you will need "Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe" as well, and totally immerse yourself in Issy's cupcakey, baking world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lazydays reading., 10 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. A. M. Hall "easydays" (Preston Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe is a comfortable read for lazy days in front of the fire. The characters are now like old friends having met them before in the previous Cupcake Cafe books.Jenny Colgan brings her characters to life with a humorous touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas come early...., 10 Nov 2012
Christmas at the cupcake cafe was just brilliant, you never really know what you are getting with a follow on book... Well defiantly a brilliant follow on, twists and turns that you would never expect and sweet romance and not forgetting cake recipes throughout that work... A must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect read, more please!!, 6 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Hardcover)
I must admit to worrying that this wouldn't match up to the first Cupcake Cafe book but it just goes to show how wrong I can be! All my favourite characters were back and as lovable as ever (even Caroline!) and I adore little Louis.

The story didn't falter once and I didn't want it to end, plus the recipes sound amazing and I can't wait to make them. It's funny, heartwarming and makes you want a cake!

Please do another Jenny, long live the Cupcake Cafe :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel but also great standalone read, 5 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Hardcover)
As a fan of Jenny Colgan, I preordered this book and counted the days until its arrival and I was not disappointed. This book captures what baking is all about, and the delicious recipes, which I intend to make are easy to follow and contain the kind of advice that you'd get if you were baking with a friend. And that's kind of what the main character Issy feels like - if she was real, I'd certainly want to be her friend. Revisiting all the characters from Meet Me At The Cupcake Café, you get to see that happy ever afters take work, love and dedication. You get caught up in the worldwind that is life for Pearl, Austin, the awesomely cute Darny and Louis and the somehow loveable Caroline, and you get a Christmas recipe list ready and waiting for you to bake and impress all your friends and family with. I laughed and cried in equal measures in this book - quite unashamedly on the bus - and when it was finished, I felt as though I'd waved off an old friend with no idea when I'd see them again.

Now I'm on a countdown for Jenny's next book... The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris... out 14 March *taps foot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Warm, cosy read although not as much of Cupcake Cafe as hoped., 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Hardcover)
I liked this book, but for me there wasn't enough of a focus on the Cupcake Cafe as in the first book. The scenes set in the cafe with Pearl, Louis and Caroline gave me a warm cosy feeling inside- the haven of the Christmassy cafe contrasting with the snow and blizzards outside. When the action headed to New York, I felt the same as Izzy, lost, alienated and desperate to get back to the warmth and familiarity of the Cupcake Cafe. The separated lovers angle seemed a tad cliched at times... particularly at Christmas. It was obvious that this long distance relationship would be resolved and tied up with a pretty bow on top, just a question of how and when.

There are some wonderful descriptions in this book, both of London and of New York. It is worth reading this book alone for the images evoked of the Cupcake Cafe at Christmas and the strong festivity within the book, present wrapping, decorating etc, you really do get a true sense of a countdown to Christmas.Just for me too much of the action was told from Austin's point of view in New York,I just wanted less of this and more of the Cupcake Cafe. The separated lovers angle seems to have been hugely overdone, plus I didn't feel the ending was in keeping with Izzy's character and her principles.

A heartwarming read and looking forward to more action from the Cupcake Cafe. Perfect for the festive period, just for me a few small niggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy please!, 2 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. S. Lenton "steveytodd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Hardcover)
I absolutely loved this book - what a terrific sequel! It ticks all the boxes, gives you a lovely warm, nourishing Christmas feeling and has lots of laugh out loud bits - the restaurant scene alone is worth delving into this (iced) gem for.

There are some beautifully poignant moments and observations of life that bring a tear to the eye too.

Makes you want to visit a Christmassy Cafe with a toy train and free Father Christmas beards.

Can we have a third book and a film please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it but not as much as Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Hardcover)
The story picks up a year on from where things finished in Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe although this is a follow up you with Issy's cafe going from strength to strength as is her relationship with boyfriend Austin with whom she's now living. But just when she's thinking that maybe just maybe everything is good in her life, things are about to change.

Austin's job is under threat so when he's headhunted for a job in the US he decides to take them up on the offer to go out their for a scouting visit and it's clear to see that they would do anything to get him to accept their job offer including paying for business class tickets for Issy and his younger brother Darny to come over for a weekend.

But Issy is torn as she doesn't want to leave behind her beloved Cafe and her lovely selection of friends and customers who are very much a part of her life so it's with a heavy heart that she finally agrees to go when her staff, Pearl and Caroline, say they can manage to run things on their own. However the trip also has its uses as it will also give her the chance to catch up with someone who she hasn't seen for a while so maybe it'd be worth going after all.

As the title suggests this book is set at Christmastime and just like you'd find in real-life you find those that are huge fans of everything Christmas and embrace the season to its fullest, Issy, and those that are a little Bah Humbug and need to be pushed to get into the spirit of things, Pearl and Caroline.

Although the cafe is still very much a pivotal part of the story, this books focuses more on the characters rather than the cafe itself and what's happened in their lives since we last met them. Issy is just as sweet and endearing as she was in the previous book and wanted the best for everyone she encounters, even if it means putting others before herself. I love the fact that the three main characters, Issy, Pearl and Caroline, are so completely different that you wouldn't expect them to gel and yet it's clear to see that they all really care about each other. So will they all get their happy ever after ending?

Despite this being a follow up book you could read it on its own as a standalone story although it does help to have read Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe first to get to know the main characters and all their quirks. Although I did enjoy seeing how things how progressed for Issy & co I can't say that I loved it as much as I did Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe which was in my top 5 books that I really enjoyed reading last year.

One of the things that I enjoyed about both books is the recipes for the fantastic cakes but sadly I'm not much of a baker so haven't got the talents to even attempt them but fortunately for me I know someone who is....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say - I couldn't put the book down. Was good to welcome all the characters back :) please let there be a 3rd book on Issy and Austin and how things go with their we adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf383f30)

This product

Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe
Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan (Hardcover - 25 Oct 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews