Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and furious
I've read all the victor novels so far this is good but not as good as the first.
Victor is hard and professional his rules his way just like Jack reacher or Joe pike difference is he knows he's a moving target and that to stay alive he has to be sharper than the rest.
In this one he shows a sheen of vulnerability a minor kink in his armour but he does the job...
Published 3 months ago by R Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but still good
I've just finished reading this book.And as other has pointed out,its not quite as good as the first one.
I get the impression the author hopes to get a movie deal,with this book.
Victor is now in London,doing protective duty.Protecting a 20th something girl from assassination attempts, from an unknown enemy.
But here is where it gets a bit stupid,and I...
Published 4 days ago by Thomas Roed


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and furious, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all the victor novels so far this is good but not as good as the first.
Victor is hard and professional his rules his way just like Jack reacher or Joe pike difference is he knows he's a moving target and that to stay alive he has to be sharper than the rest.
In this one he shows a sheen of vulnerability a minor kink in his armour but he does the job and walks away
I look forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This for me is the best of the three Tom Wood books I have read. Well written, a page turner and one that kept me awake half of several nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but still good, 22 Dec 2014
By 
Thomas Roed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Off Dead: (Victor the Assassin 4) (Paperback)
I've just finished reading this book.And as other has pointed out,its not quite as good as the first one.
I get the impression the author hopes to get a movie deal,with this book.
Victor is now in London,doing protective duty.Protecting a 20th something girl from assassination attempts, from an unknown enemy.
But here is where it gets a bit stupid,and I start to feel the author is trying really hard for a movie deal.
Victor lives and strives on being anonymous, a face in the crowd , a nobody, A ghost. Yet he chose to remain on the run in London with the girl,instead of fleeing out of the city or out of the country.The very same London, which is one of the most heavy CCTV controlled cities in in he world,there is basically a camera on every street corner.
Add a couple of shootout with some thugs in the middle of a crowded hotel,and you are half way on a: run of the mill hollywood script.
I also find it a bit annoying that the author constantly choose to remind you of how good Victor is.Yet victoor does stupid easily avoidable mistakes.And thereby gets in all sorts of bad predicaments,just so the author can prolong the storyline.
But its still good book,by all means,and really hard to put down.I just wish he would go back to the style of the 3 previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant read, 29 Nov 2014
By 
E. Morris (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Off Dead: (Victor the Assassin 4) (Paperback)
Tom wood can't write fast enough for me! THis arrived this morning and I opened it to read the first chapter whilst I was waiting for the oven to heat up and then ended up reading it in one sitting! So fast and exciting, literally couldnt put it down! Another brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2014 has been a brilliant year for thrillers, 9 Dec 2014
This review is from: Better Off Dead: (Victor the Assassin 4) (Paperback)
2014 has been a brilliant year for thrillers, with many great books to read. For me, one of those stories most awaited was the latest in the Victor the Assassin series from the pen of Tom Wood. The first three novels hit the jackpot and I had high hopes that this rich vein of form would continue.
I wasn't disappointed. What Wood provides is a cracking tale, full of action sequences that twist the plot this was and that. The characters are great too, with the enemy being truly nasty. Where the writer excels is in the description and detail of Victor's actions as he attempts to avoid getting caught. The storyline is good and the pace of the plot allows tension to grow, making it a joy to read.
If you enjoy Lee Child's Jack Reacher novels, you will relish these stories. Wood just gets better and better. Well Done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5 star adventure, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book's only worth 5 stars if you can't put it down; you take it to bed and/or toilet and/or to the shops hoping to read a chunk while you're waiting at the checkout. I promise you I've done all of those and a few more I won't talk about.

This is Tom Wood's fourth full length book about Victor the seemingly unkillable assassin. It's pacy and violent. Very. Tom Wood takes you into the mind of the world's best assassin while he deals with a rather different project (no spoilers).

There are plenty of nasty people entwined in the ultimate survival test for Victor.

Make yourself a large pot of tea, turn your phone off, and settle down undisturbed for one hell of a ride. Don't count on sleeping much.

Bravo Tom Wood, when's the next book out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bland for a thriller....., 7 Dec 2014
By 
A. F. Prestwich (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Off Dead: (Victor the Assassin 4) (Paperback)
I read Tom Wood's first and enjoyed it, not so keen on the second and thought I would try "Better Off Dead" and I am not sure where he is going with the character Victor. He is devoid of personality, obviously friendless and is one of those heroes that seems to walk through everything which is not ideal for a thriller which in this case fails to thrill. You like to see some vulnerability but no matter what he faces or numbers, he just walks through them with what appears to be a blank expression. It was OK because you become curious as to why the girl is being pursued but I found it a bland book although Wood can write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read looking forward to the next one, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very similar to the previous books. Victor is a great character. As ever the intense battle scenes are enjoyable to read. Love the four Nordic assassins thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer, 31 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do enjoy this series.makes a first rate bond.easy to read and cinematic,quite addictive.look forward to more adventurous to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting from start to finish, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A non stop action thriller set in London. Another great outing for Victor. Looking forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Better Off Dead: (Victor the Assassin 4)
Better Off Dead: (Victor the Assassin 4) by Tom Wood (Paperback - 20 Nov 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews