Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes a Certain Kind
This book gives us a sense of the dedication, the work ethic and the extraordinary skills required to become a Seal Team member, it also highlights the constant struggle to remain an intricate part of an Elite group.

It starts with Mr. Wasdin story on how he grew up to become the top sniper in the military's most elite and respected group. His father was a...
Published 24 months ago by Toni Osborne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Not a bad read, fairly interesting and entertaining. Not particular in-depth analyses of situations and very superficial - if that - approaches to the politics and ethics surounding the ops described. Nevertheless, readable. It includes a rather detailed description of the author's training as a sniper by the Marines which to me was a first.
This book provides a...
Published 5 days ago by customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes a Certain Kind, 28 July 2012
This review is from: Seal Team Six: The incredible story of an elite sniper - and the special operations unit that killed Osama Bin Laden (Paperback)
This book gives us a sense of the dedication, the work ethic and the extraordinary skills required to become a Seal Team member, it also highlights the constant struggle to remain an intricate part of an Elite group.

It starts with Mr. Wasdin story on how he grew up to become the top sniper in the military's most elite and respected group. His father was a disciplinarian who was especially hard on him and demanded perfection. This tough sometime cruel upbringing laid the ground work for the extreme tests the rest of his life had in store for him.

In his military training he describes the grueling selection process, Hell Week, boot camp and later on Sniper School where he was thought that the more you train, the less chance you will bleed in war. All through the pages he often describes his childhood memories and the lessons he has learned. In retrospect he has become a well discipline perfectionist who embraces his vocation extremely seriously.

As a Team Six member he took part in Operation Desert Strom and on another mission the team took on a rebellious and out of control village, their objective was to capture or kill Somalia warlord Mohamed Farrah Aidid. It is during this mission we learn how important intense training can affect results. When taken by surprise they still preformed a heroic rescue of downed pilots even though some including Mr. Wasdin received life threatening wounds. He was later awarded the Silver Star for his actions.

Skilled surgeons saved his leg and with extensive rehabilitation he returned to active duty but it soon became clear to him his performance was compromised so he eventually took medical retirement and went back to school to become a Chiropractic Doctor.

This is an exciting book that kept my attention to the last page. Mr. Wasdin tells his memoirs with a deeply poignant perspective and an honest point of view from his painful troubled childhood, his demanding career in the navy right up to his present day life as a Doctor. I read this book after watching TV programs relating to Seal Team training and exploits, the background helped me visualise and understand the black and white text in a more intense manner.

I was pumped reading the words of Mr. Wasdin and I can only imagine what it is like for these Elite Groups: endless training and living life on the edge....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad story, overall, 19 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Seal Team Six: The incredible story of an elite sniper - and the special operations unit that killed Osama Bin Laden (Paperback)
The best parts of this book for me are his description of his harsh upbringing, the Battle for Mogadishu, and ... once he retired from the service.
His background explains why he went into the SEALs. I guess he has to write about the training in detail for those that want it. There are armies that produce effective Special Forces on a less intensive-to-the-point of-psychotic training regimes. Americans seem to believe that only if you suffer extraordinarily, and 'die' multiple times through fanatically intense training regimes will you be able to 'take on the world and win for America'... From Chpt 5 to chpt 13 this is what the book is about. Him becoming (almost in his own words) an arrogant superhero... [The fact that the US has lost every war it has fought since 1945 exc. GW1, seems not to be mentioned by anyone...].
He gets critically wounded in Mogadishu. So he is human after all...
I guess 'gung-ho superhero' is all very well when one is 'young, stupid and full of beans'. But for all their 'special training' they didn't actually achieve anything or 'make a difference'. Somalia is still in anarchy and chaos. The Middle East is approaching that. These guys took out OBL. So what? 10 years on they have still lost in Iraq and Afghan. Superhero types who are ordered about by bungling amateurs called politicians. The more they sweat in peacetime the less they bleed in wartime. Yes. But at the end of the day, did they have any more effect on the overall situation they were in than any other military unit might havbe done? Questionable.
The original SF in WW2 were 'strategic'. They had some effect. But even WW2 was ultimately won by mass armies withg mass firpower and mass airpower. Ordinary soldiers are ultimayely as effective as these guys in the larger picture. GI Joe is every bit as effective as SEAL Team 6 in winning or losing the War, wherever that is. For all their special training, Hell Weeks, and Captain America, Marvel Comics Superhero aura, when you shoot a SEAL in the leg, he bleeds and goes down just the same as a GI Joe.
The Enemy; on p.143 he understands finally; "...I realised its important to understand that our enemies are human." And yet during the Battle for Mogadiahu he writes; "What the hell is wrong with these Somalis? We're here to stop the civil war, so people can get food, and they're kiling us. This is how we're repaid?" There is to my mind a terrible arrogance in this assumption. People create and fight civil wars. Foreign armies cannot stop that. Unless they believe they're somehow superhuman. It seems Somalia brouight him down to earth. Its still in the thrall of anarchy and chaos. In Iraq there was an American officer who got to hate iraqis apparently because they were resisting the American Liberation... It seems that to a lot of Americans being 'human' is simply a tabula rasa upon which to impress 'American values' and make the world 'America'. If these 'humans' don't agree with that, in fact actively oppose it, they should be killed as posing a threat to America. Are they merely culturally different humans, or if they oppose American values, do they become terrorists? GW Bush seemed to make this a defining charachetidtic of the non-American world. Either you're with us and wish to see America own and dominate the world with her values, or you are different, therefore potentially a threat and we wll destroy you. People like the author are caught in the middle of this, trying to be 'humane' while also imposing American values on those who do not necessaerily want them. So he asks the questions, and maybe after his srvice, found some answers through healing?
The best part of the book for me is how he makes a wonderful career for himself as a healer after the military. Did he have to go through all the Hell Weeks and the pointless military adventures, in order to discover the 'healer within'? Maybe he did... The transformation from military man to healer is to my mind the real success story of this book. As the story of a man who goes through military madness only to discover he can help people afterwards to heal, this book is worth 5 stars. As a tale of military derring-do I'd be generous and give it 3stars. So 4 stars seems a good compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading on a deeply interesting topic, 20 July 2011
Prior to purchasing this book, I was skeptical of picking it up. Ever since post-Iraq and Afghanistan invasion, there's been a flood of military related literature into the market. There's been some good accounts, and some pretty bad efforts. When I saw this I thought of the latter category. However after taking a chance and after racing through it, I'm pleasantly surprised and Seal Team Six has entered the realm of some of my favourite reads.

The book is well written. There is little error in grammar and punctuation, and many of the historical facts seem nailed down -- although with the caveat, I haven't done research into them. The type face is well set out and the use of contents make re-reading accessible. Wasdin and Templin's style of writing is engrossing. You want to continue to read and read. The language is broken down well, and newcomers will be welcome to the book. There's even a glossary at the front of the book to assist you in some of the book's more difficult to understand phrases.

As well as first hand information that Wasdin provides, there is also a bibliography to be mentioned. Although it is short, it displays that Wasdin took care to reinforce his points and facts, and secondly that he is encouraging you to read more about the elite fighting force. This is a positive for me.

Wasdin's work ranges from when he was an abused child, up to enlisting in the Navy and then onto the SEALs. From the damaging, dangerous and violent battle of Mogadishu we get to the end where he discusses life outside of the SEALs. It's a truly remarkable story. The punishment he suffered as a child, up to the searing reports on the streets of war-torn Somalia hits you with different emotions and combine to make excellent reading.

There are many other positives in the book. The SEALs demanding training, BUD/S is a hell-like ordeal and reading it makes you want to get up and about. His descriptions of weapons he uses and spending thousands of rounds on the range are informative. The sniper school he attends shows the grueling hard work of the job. I also found little things like SEALs relationship with Delta force interesting, along with the stories of past exploits of SEAL heroes.

However, despite its many good points, it has a couple of faults. The chapter on the Safe House in Mogadishu read like a diary, and break up the tone of the book. Furthermore, the use of past/present gets conflicted. As well as this, the book acts as a baseplate for Wasdin's criticisms of the Clinton administration over their handling of the Somalia mission. Also, his references to God and sometimes the over-patriotic tone of the book can be a little annoying. I've nothing hugely against what he's saying (as an Irish man, I'm inclined to agree with his comments on the Clinton/Somalia disasters), but for me, they distort the book's message. After all, it is an auto-biography, and these are to be expected.

I deeply enjoyed this book, it further reinforces the quality of the US armed forces, and in particular, the efforts and dedication of the Special Forces, a subject I'm enormously interested in. I've tried to recommend this book and will continue to strive to do until someone reads it! I would go so far to admit it could be used among scholarly research for a student wishing to do research on the SEALs, special forces or Operation Gothic Serpent, and the Battle of Mogadishu.

I'm going to give this four stars, despite the fact I loved it, but it isn't absolutley perfect - although it comes close. I find it difficult to give five stars. This is highly recommended, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable but a bit flat in spots, 27 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Seal Team Six: The incredible story of an elite sniper - and the special operations unit that killed Osama Bin Laden (Paperback)
This is as book about life as a sniper. It is not written by a top selling author. It is written by an army sniper. Now retired!

I give it 4 stars because although not professionally written (many of the criticisms are valid) but it was a book that I enjoyed and will pass on to others. It does lack flow, does not build suspense, and does not have the twists and turns we have comes to expect of we'll written novels, and does not have any insight into Bin Laden's capture, but it is enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 20 July 2014
Not a bad read, fairly interesting and entertaining. Not particular in-depth analyses of situations and very superficial - if that - approaches to the politics and ethics surounding the ops described. Nevertheless, readable. It includes a rather detailed description of the author's training as a sniper by the Marines which to me was a first.
This book provides a light read, similar to the "One Perfect Op" by Dennis Chalker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book might appeal to insiders. Very technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Factual,no nonsense account, like the author one imagines.
An inspirational book in many ways.
For a man who has lived at the extremes to find fulfilment in civilian life is also a relief to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Team Six: The incredible story of an elite sniper - and the special operations unit that killed Osama Bin Laden (Paperback)
Probably one of the best books ever written ..awesome absolutely awesome very very detailed and depicting true stories . BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice story which has a lot of twist and turns.
Action packed with suspense during his SEAL team 6 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seal Team Six: The incredible story of an elite sniper - and the special operations unit that killed Osama Bin Laden (Paperback)
An honest, sometimes humorous account of his time as a SEAL. A good book, worth reading, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Brave men doing a sometimes thankless job, but the camaraderie holds them together. Thank you for the insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews