Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The vintage teacup club Vanessa Greene
I bought this book because I needed a 'chick lit fix' and I wasn't disappointed, in fact I finished it in two sittings.it was on a par with more well known authors,the characters were believable & their experiences relevant to real life if not a little bit too good to be true- but hey who doesn't need a little escapism from time to time?
A great read for a weekend...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The vintage teacup club
A nice easy read with a few giggles along the way. Renewed my love of delicate teacups and handmade bunting
Published 17 months ago by Pinkcat 0475


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The vintage teacup club Vanessa Greene, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because I needed a 'chick lit fix' and I wasn't disappointed, in fact I finished it in two sittings.it was on a par with more well known authors,the characters were believable & their experiences relevant to real life if not a little bit too good to be true- but hey who doesn't need a little escapism from time to time?
A great read for a weekend away or a rainy day -I couldn't put it down.
This is my first ever review !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely read, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Vintage Teacup Club (Paperback)
My daughter bought me this book and I raced through it in two sittings - the characters are lovely, and felt so real to me. It would make a lovely rainy Sunday read or a present for a sister, mum or daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Tea Club, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Anglers Rest (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Teacup Club (Paperback)
Two women meet at a stall and are looking to buy the same vintage tea set. From that moment it is the formation of a friendship between them and, a third woman who is friends of one of the women.

Jenny is an excited bride to be, but hearing from her estranged mother affects Jenny more than she thought.

Maggie is a divorcee and has made a fresh start, only to find that the relationship she left in the past becomes part of her future and she finds her dreams and disappointments might change.....and perhaps for the better.

Alison is married with two daughters and apparently has it all, but appearances are not necessarily what they seem.

Through the book we explore the relationships, loves and fears of three women and their relationships. Not to mention the relationship the three of them build, all from the chance meeting at a car boot sale over a tea cup!

I loved this book, it had a charm about it, that could almost certainly be real and I wonder whether it was?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `Step by step we'd let each other in, and now it was hard to imagine that we hadn't always been there for each other.', 16 Oct 2012
By 
L. H. Healy "Books are life, beauty and truth." (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vintage Teacup Club (Paperback)
This lovely debut novel combines the lives of three different women as they meet by chance and form firm friendships. Jenny is our first person narrator; she is browsing at a car boot sale in Charlesworth, an old market town in Sussex, and we share her delight when she happens upon precisely the items she has been searching for, a vintage teaset. Just at that moment, two other women swoop in who are equally as interested in the very same items. The three women decide to share the teaset, each making use of it in turn for their own special purposes, and from this unique beginning, their stories unfold.

Jenny is looking forward to her forthcoming marriage to Dan. As her plans move forwards, she is thrown by the sudden unexpected contact from a woman who has played no part in her life for many years, and she worries that her happiness could be damaged. Maggie is a strong, independent career woman, forging ahead after the disappointment of her failed marriage and Alison appears at first sight to be a happily married woman with two daughters, but things are never as straightforward as they might seem, for any of them.

One of the aspects I liked about the main characters in this novel is that the women are not all the same age, and they have different experiences of life. This brings an interesting dimension to their relationships with each other, across the generations. It was lovely to read how such a strong, supportive bond develops between the friends, and this friendship that forms isn't affected by this difference in their ages, for example when they share exciting news with each other; `A twenty-year age gap made no difference to our levels of girlish excitement.'

A favourite part of the narrative for me involves the history of the teaset and culminates with a perceptive comment which is made about life and love, how `As you get older you see that what you thought were little things, why they were really the big things all along.'

This is a sparkling debut novel. I really enjoyed reading it. It is an easy, engaging read with likeable characters, between whom a lovely, believable and supportive friendship grows. The characters develop and the women support and encourage each other to follow their dreams and be successful and happy. When times are tough and romance, family or careers are getting them down, they are there for each other to share the pain, and they celebrate this: `To new friends, a port in the storm.' Vanessa Greene paints a lovely portrait of female friendship across the generations. I would definitely look out for and look forward to the next novel by this author. I love the beautiful, attractive and very fitting cover design.

All that really remains to be said is for the prospective reader to settle back with a good cuppa (preferably in a pretty tea cup) and read all about these ladies and their ups and downs revolving around vintage teacups!

4.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The vintage teacup club, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice easy read with a few giggles along the way. Renewed my love of delicate teacups and handmade bunting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was lovely to read and one of those you cant put down - its not a literary classic but it is a glass of wine cuddled on the sofa type of book and infact tackled some up to date "Sex in the City" type issues about relationships between couples but also the tricky differences between girlfriends as circumstances change.
Well worth the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED THIS BOOK, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say is "What a charming book!". I read the book on my kindle but the cover displayed on Amazon was delightful and elegant and reflected the contents accurately.

Three women want to buy a particular Victorian tea set from the car boot sale, but instead of two of them being disappointed, they agree on a solution that benefits all of them. The women are different ages and live completely different lives. The story opens a window to each of their lives and it's not long before these women form a bond - not only with each other, but with the reader too. I loved all three of them.

I read this book when I was very busy and dipped in and out of it easily. The characters became familiar so quickly that I didn't ever have to turn back the pages to remind me about anything. I knew them.

I really loved this book. Each chapter flowed easily and I couldn't wait to read the next. It provided comfort and refreshment - just like a cup of tea!

I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants a good, easy read. Only one problem - I'd love another book following the next chapter of their lives. Please Vanessa?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just my cup of tea!, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew this book would be right up my street - being unable to resist anything vintage and loving a great story with lots of ups and downs, dramas and happy endings! And it was all those good things. Loved it.

You really feel you know the characters almost straight away, they could be friends in your own life and you just want to pour them a cuppa and listen to their troubles. At the end (but don't worry I won't spoil it!) I got that nice warm glow and even wiped away a bit of a tear. it's very easy to get lost in this book and I think that's due to the writer being one of those natural storytellers.

Gorgeous cover too. My mum couldn't wait for me to finish it so she could start reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and delightful book! xxx, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Vintage Teacup Club (Paperback)
I was very much looking forward to reading this, as not only did it sound fascinating, but as you all know, I LOVE debut novels! I absolutely love discovering new authors, so after a few recommendations to read this book (thank you!) I settled down on an afternoon to start this.

This is a beautifully written novel that combines the lives of three women after they all fall in love with the same vintage tea set. In the end, they decide to share it, and this forms a friendship between them. The novel then follows the lives of Jenny, Maggie and Alison, as they take turns using the tea set, exploring careers, relationships and the importance of friendship.

I LOVED The Vintage Teacup Club! I could not put it down and I enjoyed opening the pages and becoming lost in the story for hours at a time. I finished the book in a few sittings, it was such a wonderful story that flowed so easily and before I knew it I was half-way through the book!

The three main characters were fantastically written! I especially loved that the women were different from each other, they had separate goals, were at different points in their lives and had many different experiences of life. The contrasts worked beautifully and added a lot of different layers and depth tot the relationships they formed with each other. I loved how the bond between the three women grew and strengthened as time went on.

The descriptions in the book are great, I could picture the scenes clearly in my mind and the narrative made the story very enjoyable and easy to read. I especially loved the idea of the vintage tea set and after finishing this book, I'm very keen to purchase s a set for myself!

The Vintage Teacup Club is a delightful, book that will warm your heart. It is a beautiful story exploring the wonders of friendship and family. This book is perfect for sitting down and reading with a cup of tea (and imagining that you're drinking from a vintage tea set rather than your usual cup)! A very enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars huge disappointment, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Teacup Club (Paperback)
Very tedious. Could not be bothered by the mundane chatter of the syrupy sweet characters.Only read a few chapters and that was enough...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vintage Teacup Club
The Vintage Teacup Club by Vanessa Greene (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews