Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable story xxx
The Secret Daughter has been sat on my shelf waiting to be read for a little while, so I was very pleased to be able to have the time to sit down and open it.

The Secret Daughter is told from the viewpoints of both Martha, an American heiress, and Phyllis, who becomes Martha's lady's maid. I really enjoyed this book! It took me a few chapters to get into it as...
Published 18 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars secret daughter
A poor effort..would not recommend it doubtful if I would read further books by this auother.. may suit other readers?
Published 17 months ago by R. Mcallister


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable story xxx, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Secret Daughter (Paperback)
The Secret Daughter has been sat on my shelf waiting to be read for a little while, so I was very pleased to be able to have the time to sit down and open it.

The Secret Daughter is told from the viewpoints of both Martha, an American heiress, and Phyllis, who becomes Martha's lady's maid. I really enjoyed this book! It took me a few chapters to get into it as I was learning who was who and placing the scenes, but I was quickly swept up in the story. The book covers twenty years, leading up to the sail and eventual sink of the Titanic.

This book is perfect for readers who love historical fiction or take an interest in stories which are set in the past. Personally I am a huge fan of historical novels, I find them fascinating and I really admire the research which goes into them - Catherine King has done a lot of research and it shows as the descriptions, the backgrounds and the settings are brilliant. Whilst I was reading I genuinely felt as though I had been transported back in time, in my mind I could see everything happening around me and the descriptions enhanced my enjoyment of the book.

I won't say too much so as not to spoil it for any readers, but it is a thoroughly enjoyable story which flows beautifully and after finishing the last page, I was so pleased that I read this book. I will definitely be looking out for more of Caherine's novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this author and once again was not disappointed by this book. Read her books if you've not done so before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars secret daughter, 14 April 2013
By 
R. Mcallister "MACRON 102" (DUNFERMLINE,FIFE,SCOTLAND.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A poor effort..would not recommend it doubtful if I would read further books by this auother.. may suit other readers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit ridiculous, 11 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: The Secret Daughter (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book until about halfway through. I can't go into detail without spoiling it for people but the situation with the baby is totally out of keeping with the attitudes of the time. I picked up the book because I thought it would be about the Titanic but it is barely mentioned until the end and then we don't get on board the ship with the characters. Instead we hear about their fate second-hand. Overall this book started well but was a disappointment in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a slow starter, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Secret Daughter (Paperback)
This is a book in two parts which spans two decade leading up to events shortly after the sinking of the Titanic, and is told from the points of view of two women who are polar opposites; Phyllis, a young woman in service, and Martha, an American heiress.

The first part of the book concentrates purely on Phyllis who we see going into service, as a nanny looking after Lord Melton's children, when Earl Redfern recommends her for the position following the death of her father. But Phyllis' dream has always been to get a coveted position as a lady's maid and when things start to go awry she eventually decides to leave service and ends up working in a London hotel.

Meanwhile across the sea in America, Martha's father is trying to claw his way to the top so is eager to see his only daughter marry into a lofted position in society. When he meets a recently widowed member of the English aristocracy, Lord Melton, he sees this as the perfect opportunity for his dreams to be fulfilled and so the courtship begins despite Martha not being in love with Lord Melton.

The paths of the two women eventually cross when Martha comes to England and stays at the hotel Phyllis is working at, she's asked to be her lady's maid during her stay and eventually agrees to leave the hotel and return into service to become Martha's full-time lady's maid when she leaves to get married. But to Martha Phyllis is more than a lady's maid, she's a confidante and at times the boundaries of their relationship become blurred when Phyllis is forced to conceal a secret.

I have to confess I found this story a little slow to begin with but once the pace picked up I soon got into the flow of it. There's plenty of characters to get your head around, some you'll love and others you'll hate, but fortunately the nice ones outweigh the bad. Overall if you like historical fiction with an upstairs/downstairs storyline then I'm sure you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite writers, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Catherine Kings Novels. Great story
Can recommend this story to friends& good purchase for kindle!(
Good buy for kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Viviane, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the book. But the end was too fast. The whole book is built up to know what the end is going to be. And then you tell the end over a few pages. You could have written much more when they went on the titanic and when Martha told her dad. Also when Melton did find out about his wife's maid. I think the end was rushed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Sep 2013
By 
A. Mejia - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Daughter (Paperback)
Very good, keeps you hooked just like many other books by this author. Highly recommend it if you like her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok but disappointing, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Anna Wilkinson (skegness united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the 2nd Catherine King book I have read. Since I enjoyed the first one, I thought I would enjoy this. At the start it's very Downton Abbey, with a young girl, Phyllis, going into service in the Big House. There are lots of descriptions of servant life (again very Downton Abbey)and if you like that sort of thing, which I do, it's very enjoyable. However, the young girl, Phyllis, does not have a great deal of personality and seems to exist as a means of showing the realities of servant life. People are not described in great detail: for instance I have no idea what age the butler, mr Haddon, was or whether he was short, tall, fat or thin. The story then meanders a little until the 2nd half, when it starts following an American heiress in the USA, desperate to find a titled husband. Her path eventually crosses with that of Phyllis and then ensues a bizarre, totally unrealistic situation involving a baby. It also goes very quickly, with all the difficult bits dealt with very briefly. I'm afraid the book lost me here. There is a love interest also, which to me seemed very contrived.
There are one or two proofing errors and the idiom lapses into modern too often. In fact it jars. I don't deny it is well researched and I'm sure a lot of people will love it. I suppose it just depends on your taste. I don't think I'll bother with another Catherine King novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the follow on to the Secret Passion.
It was nice to get the conclusion to the story.
I liked it to the extent I kept picking it up in a few spare minutes.
Anyone who likes stories set in the past may enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Daughter
The Secret Daughter by Catherine King (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews